We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointing do not recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I'm baffled by the positive reviews. Basically, it's an overpriced motel, and not a very clean one. No water pressure, heater didn't work (lows at night were in the 40's), my sheets were stained, and the blanket was old. The breakfast consisted of toast that tasted of freezer burn, old fruit salad, butter and grape jam (and only grape jam). The "own terrace" is a small cement slab on the parking lot.
The pictures they post have NOTHING to do with reality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honore200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. While not the most up to date, this is the perfect location for all things Stowe. Clean and comfortable. Because of the snow - 36 inches in 36 hours - we chose to eat at the Inn on Saturday evening. We were pleasantly surprised! My filet was cooked to perfection and the chocolate dessert was amazing. (Our waitress later told us her mother owned the bakery that made it!) Barbara, Kate and Sam were welcoming and fun. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We've stayed at a few places in Stowe and this is by far the best experience we've had. While the rooms are not the most modern, they are well kept and provide a comfortable stay and an at home feeling. If you're looking for a clean comfortable room after a long day skiing/exploring Stowe, there isn't a better value out there. What this hotel lacks in modern amenities, is more than made up for by its close proximity to the Mountain and, more importantly, the extremely nice and more than accommodating group of owners/staff. They truly care about the happiness of their guests and treat each and every one as if they are family. The on site restaurant that is open for dinner is absolutely delicious. Anytime we go to Stowe, we will definitely be staying at Hob Knob!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksilver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights from Feb. 13th to Feb. 16th inclusive. We booked their Suite quite far in advance and were very happy with the Room. It has a full kitchen, large living room area with gas fireplace, good size bedroom with king bed & lots of storage area, bathroom with whirlpool tub and a separate powder room. The unit is heated using the Gas fireplace which has a blower and the room was always warm. A continental breakfast is offered which we tried one morning but found to be lacking ( not enough food ), so we made our own in the room. They have Wifi but for some reasom my netbook wouldn't connect properly in our room. It would connect in the lobby of the Inn which led me to believe the signal is not very strong. This was disappointing as we like to Skype. It was quite warm for February but we cross country skiied at Trapp Family Lodge in spite of the weather. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Suite was very good. All the amenities to suit - see review.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I wish I could say nothing but good things about the Hob Knob because all of the staff we met were gracious and kind and I hope my critiism will inspire an effort to do a little better. We spent two nights in mid February at the peak of the high season and I appreciate that the rooms at the Hob Knob are much less than at many of the other resorts but many small details at the Hob Knob that individually would be easy to overlook but in there totality left us dissatified.

The walkway to our deluxe room with fireplace was not shovelled but a narrow twisting path lead to our room. A musty smell overwelmed us on entry.The heating system was in fact the gas fireplace that lit up the room at all hours day and night making sleep difficult. The soap provided was tthe smallest sliver of soap imaginable. The only other toiletry was a tiny capsule of shampoo. No conditioner here. The toilet didn't work. The telephone in our friends room didn't work. The television must have been 30 years old. The room is in desparate need of updating.

The Hob Knob is very well located with a beautiful property and we had a great view from our room. The Hob Knob has so much potential as a great place to stay for adventurers visiting Stowe looking for basic accommodation, at a good rate, in a great location. I hope management can make this happen.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

The family had a very enjoyable weekend at the Hob Knob Inn. The rooms are very comfortable, cozy, and homey. Dinner in the restaurant is delicious, and the best part is how close the inn is to the ski mountains. Great skiing, great food, great people, and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our family and I ( agroup of 11 ) had the best time possible at The Hob Knob. With a group so large you would think someone would have been uncomfortable . But no , they all slept great , loved the grounds , even the hot tub ( in 5degree weather) and ate to their hearts content. A huge thanks to the the friendly staff

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £76 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1937 as the first lodge for skiers in Stowe, VT the Hob Knob has always been a family owned and operated business. Since 2003, upon arrival my family has had the pleasure of greeting our guests who have traveled from around the world to our award-winning town of Stowe. At the Hob Knob Inn, we strive to be comfy, cozy and clean. Our 20 guestrooms have an inviting, home-like feel and each nights stay includes our continental breakfast that is served in our intimate and informal lounge. Our 10 lush acres located on the Mountain Road offer views of Mt. Mansfield, two ponds and outdoor hot tub. Enjoy a drink in our lounge and some comfort food from our kitchen Thursday through Sunday. Bring the family, play some games and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing