We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #6 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The restaurant is outstanding!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

During a recent ladies weekend at a timeshare resort, we decided to have dinner at the Hob Knob Inn. I can't say enough how much we enjoyed the evening. First off, the staff was friendly and more than accommodating. The signature drinks were fabulous and the meal was the best I've had in months. The scallops wrapped in bacon were delightful and the filet cooked to perfection. The ambiance is cozy Vermont. I will definitely return the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFamilyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    46
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
79
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I would really love to say that this place deserves four-stars because it is managed by a very nice family. The restaurant is nice and the service is pretty good. It is a very well managed property. However, the rooms are outdated and are missing some basic amenities. There is no way this can be attributed to being "rustic". For the money they charge (top season surcharge is accounted for), not really a great value for your dollar. A huge plus is that they are very dog friendly, but make sure you book in advance and call to confirm.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room with a wood burning stove. No matter what room you stay in, check your brak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JarvNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Hob Knob was some what economical but it did lack amenities. There was no refridgerator or microwave or iron and ironing board in the room. and the two chairs were older and uncomfortable. It is located back from the road and was quiet and had beautiful grounds. The breakfast that was offered was adequate, but did not offer much variety.... oatmeal, small amount of fruit, cold cereal, toast and small muffins. The owners were nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I attended the Antique Car Show in Stowe last weekend and the town was full of excitement, lots of people, and hundreds of old cars everywhere! We chose the Hob Knob Inn because it is not far from the show grounds and the town center, and it is on a hill surrounded by nature, and away from the very busy Mountain Road. Our bed was comfortable; the large room was clean; and the outdoor (unheated) pool was refreshing. A simple continental breakfast is included in the price. Barbara and Kate are terrific hostesses, who make you feel welcome!

Room Tip: Room #12 has the air conditioner from the room next door attached to the building in such a way that...
See more room tips
Green Features: Happy that this Inn separates trash so items are recycled. We all need to think about our impact on Mother Nature.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinG720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late July. Very attracted to the fact we were located up the hill (about 300 feet)from Route 108( the main road leading to Stowe). Barbara and Kate do an excellent job running the family motel. Not a Comfort Inn or name brand motel- and we like it that way. Clean rooms and bedding all in order.
We stayed on the ground level( we arrived on 2 motorcycles) of the 2 level building( this faced two cute ponds with ducks and a bullfrog I heard in the morning. just awesome!
They have a restaurant on site but only offer suppers on Thurs, Fri and Saturday. I hear it's fabulous. Sorry we could not sample this time.
Free continental breakfast( better than most places) just added to the good value here.

We'll be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowheelfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holliston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The next time you get to Stowe, Vermont do yourself (and family) a favor.....treat yourself to a visit to the the Hob Knob Inn & Restaurant situated minutes from downtown Stowe on Rt 108 - the Mountain Road. You won't be disappointed. The Inn is situated on beautifully landscaped property. The rooms are spacious and clean. We've stayed in both the suite and different rooms - all are immaculate and very comfortable. A delightful continental breakfast is served daily and for an additional $5.00 you can have either pancakes or eggs w/bacon. How can you beat that? Speaking of food you have to partake of the dinner menu. We get to Stowe 3 - 4 times a year and ALWAYS make sure to book a dinner reservation. Yum!! Even though they are only open for dinner Thursday - Saturday (for now) it is well worth scheduling your itinerary to enable you to book a dinner reservation. Barbara (and Rick) are exceptional chefs and the food that comes out of Barbara's kitchen is an absolute delight. If you are lucky you'll be there on a night when Barbara serves her superb roasted zucinni soup (our favorite) although all of her other soups are equally delicious. While everything on the menu is fantastic, including their no calorie (don't I wish) desserts, my favorite item is a little special dish Barbara whips up for me and I'm sure with a little coaxing she will do the same for you. It's the 10 oz filet with blue cheeze melted on it covered with sauted mushrooms and onions. Believe me it's to die for! When you do go you will meet the Hob Knob's 'ambassodor' - Kate. She is without a doubt the nicest and most accommodating person one could hope to know. I think 'customer service' is her middle name. And does she have a memory - I don't have to ask for a cocktail. She brings my 'favorite' made just the way I like it whenever we dine there. Going there is like going to visit close friends. That's how they make you feel. For those of you who have stayed or dined there you know what I mean. For those of you who haven't and are looking for a great place to stay and or eat in Stowe with reasonable prices do yourself a favor and check them out. I know you'll thank me.

Room Tip: there isn't a 'bad' room but we love the suite
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn practices a very 'green' policy overall
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Loved this place! The ladies were lovely, kind and helpful!! My son got very ill (from eating at the Cactus Cafe) when we were there and they were awesome! Brought up gingerale towels etc!!! The rustic charm is awesome, huge rooms....just fabulous. I was sad that i was not able to try dinner as I heard it is great!!!! Breakfast was yummy, you must try the homemade raisin bread toasted with butter...... delish!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate L, Owner at Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed breakfast. The raisin bread is mom’s new recipe and it is so nice to hear feedback. We hope that next time you get a chance to join us for dinner. We are open Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights seating from 5:30-8:00pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Property: Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hob Knob is a family owned and operated inn, bar & lounge. Built in 1937 as the first ski lodge in Stowe, the Hob Knob is now completely restored. All of our guestrooms and facilities have been recently renovated for a comfortable home like feel in an original ski lodge. Each nights stay includes a free continental breakfast in our lounge.With 20 spacious guestrooms on 10 acres of land, a walking trail, pool, hot tub, restaurant and bar, 2 ponds and a plethora of wildlife the Hob Knob is the perfect Stowe getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing