We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #7 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
thomasebowen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill”
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This inn is one of the oldest and original inns in Stowe, Vermont. The hosts are wonderful people and very accomodating. We checked in late and they left a key for us in a place that we could find it and not bother them. The room was SPOTLESS and very roomy! Excellent beds, pillows and linens.
Breakfast was served and included in the rate. It is nice to have a home cooked breakfast! Barb, our hostess was very friendly and made us feel at home. It feels like a bed and breakfast, but set up more like a motor inn, meaning you do not share their living quarters. Barbara was great at giving us information about local Stowe attractions. They do serve dinner, but we ate at a restaurant in town. Check out was a breeze and we hated to leave this wonderful inn and town. The property is away from the hustle and bustle of Stowe and set back a bit from the road, so it was peaceful and quiet and the grounds were beautiful!

  • Liked — Our hosts and the clean rooms!
  • Disliked — No problems with this stay!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thomasebowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    52
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
55
82
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hob Knob Inn Labor Day Weekend 2007 and it wasn't anything spectacular. The highlight was a warm breakfast every morning. The rooms were clean and were comparable to a Days Inn. I booked this inn due to reviews on Travel Advisor and I think it was overrated.

  • Liked — Warm breakfast available every morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, quiche, etc)
  • Disliked — Rooms you only want to sleep in.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2008

I have been visiting the Hob Knob Inn on a regular basis for almost 4 years now. Bob and Barbara are wonderful and Stoli (their pup) is the cutest. There is never enough time to soak in the beautiful views that the property and surrounding area provide and the local fishing is unbelievable. The food is great, Barbara is one of the best cooks I know. The rooms are spacious and always clean, if there is anything you need just ask Bob and Barbara they are very accomodating. Did I mention the beautiful property - I am planning to have my wedding there later this year.

  • Liked — Great Place to Relax
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tacbs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, NH
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We loved our stay at the Hob Knob Inn this past weekend. The inn keepers are very welcoming. Upon arrival they checked us right in. They were very helpful in suggesting things to do in the area. There is a path directly across the street that you will love. It follows the river and is like something out of a Robert Frost poem. We had a nice walk with our new baby there. If you ride bikes you can use it for that too. Our room was clean and had fantastic views. If you are lucky (like we were) you might see the family of deer that live on the property. After checking in we went for a quick swim in the pool. Actually we saw the deer behind the pool.

On the second night there we went to the restaurant. The service was outstanding. We were greeted at the door and brought into the dining room. The room has an outstanding view and you almost feel as though you are eating outside. A high chair was given to us for our little one. We had salads and steaks for dinner. Let me tell you that the steak I ordered was cooked perfectly. The twice baked potatoe I ordered as a side was really good. I highly recommend it. I am sad that we had no room for desert.

I almost forgot, don't miss breakfast. We did the first morning and regret it. It was cooked to order and all of the bread was homemade.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — It rained on Sunday.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NH_FISHING_GUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2008

The Hob Knob Inn surpassed my highest expectation for a mountain inn. My room was warm, cozy, and exquisitely clean. I booked my room at Hob Knob mainly because of their inviting website, great rates, and pet friendly service; however, what I left with was my home-away-from-home in Stowe, VT. After a week's stay, I felt as though I was leaving old friends. The hosts, and owners, Bob and Barbara have established Hob Knob with genuine care and it goes well beyond illustration.

As a guest of Hob Knob, you'll enjoy a delicious homemade breakfast prepared personally by Barbara (the best baked eggs I've ever eaten!) Diner at Hob Knob is a must! I have dined in several establishments at Stowe - all were very good; however, my best meal was at Hob Knob. The quality of the food was top shelf, and it was prepared impeccably. Barbara hand selects the best of everything.

The Hob Knob Inn was the first Inn established at Mt. Mansfield. It is incredibly close to the mountain. If you want to experience Stowe as it was intended, you've got to do it as a Hob Knobber.

If you are price shopping, note this inn honors AAA prices and provides four star service.

Hob Knobber For Life,

Faith - Baltimore, MD

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank faithc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We travel with two kids who are in their teens, and have stayed at many inns/b&bs, from the Cape to Maine and beyond. We tend to meet wonderful, welcoming people and enjoy those extra amenities that come with the added cost.

A few weeks ago, we stayed at the Hob Knob Inn and were, I'm sorry to say, very disappointed. There was no feeling of welcome from the owners, though they were present enough to provide it. The breakfasts came with the room, but the portions were far less than generous. Like they were going through the motions. There was no "would you like some more of..." or "are you enjoying your stay?" It was clean and well-heated, like a glorified motel. End of story.

It was also a bit tacky. The bathroom features post card ads, set on the vanity, that pitch the small sample shampoo and hand cream they provide.

For the cost, there have got to be better places to stay in this quaint and fun ski community.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank brady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2008

This was our third annual trip to Stowe, VT. We're always seeking pet-friendly lodging with nice accommodations. The Hob Knob exceeded our expectations with the Inn accommodations. In addition to being pet-friendly the cleaning staff were more than obliged to be kind to our four-legged family member, and even gave him a treat (with permission). The rooms are impeccable.

The Innkeepers, Bob, Barbara and Kate are sure to make you feel at home (can't forget Stohli and Mia their rescue dogs). The Hob Knob serves breakfast each morning (included in your stay at the Inn). The breakfast is outstanding and there is always something yummy (even for folks who don't eat eggs). The food is fresh and very well prepared in the morning. Your service is prompt and the coffee is delicious and hot!

Moving on to the most significant memory of our stay. We decided to have dinner at the Hob Knob the last evening of our stay. We dined at many other venues during our weeklong stay (eating out every night). No other meal compared to the meal we were about to enjoy. Barbara, a true epicurean prepared each plate delicately and perfectly. A fabulous wine list started the dinner off. We then proceeded with the smoked trout mousse and homemade bread toast points appetizer (OUTSTANDING!). We then enjoyed our salads: fresh mixed local greens with lime cilantro vinaigrette. My main course was a 10 oz. steak and twice baked potato. I remind you all items are freshly prepared and piping hot. The steak was incredible, the best I've had (cured just right). Better than Ruth Chris'. My boyfriend had the ahi tuna...he wore a big smile while savoring his every bite. The twice-baked potato was moist and flavorful, and the seasonings in our meals did not overpower the true flavor of the food, there was no need to cover the essence of our meal. No need for salt and peppershakers at the table (you won't miss it - I promise).

The Hob Knob takes limited reservations and is unique in that it wishes to only serve a limited number of dinner guests. This dining experience for me was one of the most intimate and savory I've ever had. You truly feel like a celebrity with world-class service.

  • Liked — The InnKeepers, meals, and accommodations.
  • Disliked — We didn't get to stay longer.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaryJaneGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
1.9 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Property: Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1937 as the first lodge for skiers in Stowe, VT the Hob Knob has always been a family owned and operated business. Since 2003, upon arrival my family has had the pleasure of greeting our guests who have traveled from around the world to our award-winning town of Stowe. At the Hob Knob Inn, we strive to be comfy, cozy and clean. Our 20 guestrooms have an inviting, home-like feel and each nights stay includes our continental breakfast that is served in our intimate and informal lounge. Our 10 lush acres located on the Mountain Road offer views of Mt. Mansfield, two ponds and outdoor hot tub. Enjoy a drink in our lounge and some comfort food from our kitchen Thursday through Sunday. Bring the family, play some games and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing