We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't honor my internet booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Ranked #6 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't honor my internet booking”
Reviewed 12 April 2009

.
Based on Tripadvisor reviews and the great rate they offered I booked a 6 night stay via their internet site. I charged it to my Visa and got a confirmation. Later the phone rang and it was a staff person at the Hob Knob Inn calling to say that the posted price was wrong and that they weren't going to honor my reservation! Even though I had a confirmation! Nor did they offer me any kind of discount off of the new greatly inflated price.
So much for truth in advertising:(

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yougoigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    51
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
54
81
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
AmyWinkel
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2009

From the moment we walked in the door it felt like home. The owners (Barbara and Bob) were so warm and welcoming. Our room was beautiful and it was really clean. Breakfast was included and it was great. Pancakes, eggs, muffins,…etc. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyWinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2008

Hob Knob Inn was a fabulous place to stay. Clean, Free Wi-Fi, Good atmosphere and friendly owners! They also have a complimentary hot breakfast and a great restaurant! I would stay here again and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Momo5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Can't comment on what this place is like during ski season as we were there in August for one night. We stayed in the lodge - I think they call it - the other building just above the main building. A good, clean hotel room. That's about it. There is no "inn-like" charm in the room, if that's what you're thinking. The breakfast in the morning was satisfactory. Nothing objectionable, except the WiFi was not great in the room we were in. Can't get too enthusiastic about this place. Again maybe the atmosphere is better at peak - i.e. winter - season.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank syncopation1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomasebowen
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This inn is one of the oldest and original inns in Stowe, Vermont. The hosts are wonderful people and very accomodating. We checked in late and they left a key for us in a place that we could find it and not bother them. The room was SPOTLESS and very roomy! Excellent beds, pillows and linens.
Breakfast was served and included in the rate. It is nice to have a home cooked breakfast! Barb, our hostess was very friendly and made us feel at home. It feels like a bed and breakfast, but set up more like a motor inn, meaning you do not share their living quarters. Barbara was great at giving us information about local Stowe attractions. They do serve dinner, but we ate at a restaurant in town. Check out was a breeze and we hated to leave this wonderful inn and town. The property is away from the hustle and bustle of Stowe and set back a bit from the road, so it was peaceful and quiet and the grounds were beautiful!

  • Liked — Our hosts and the clean rooms!
  • Disliked — No problems with this stay!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thomasebowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hob Knob Inn Labor Day Weekend 2007 and it wasn't anything spectacular. The highlight was a warm breakfast every morning. The rooms were clean and were comparable to a Days Inn. I booked this inn due to reviews on Travel Advisor and I think it was overrated.

  • Liked — Warm breakfast available every morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, quiche, etc)
  • Disliked — Rooms you only want to sleep in.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbles80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2008

I have been visiting the Hob Knob Inn on a regular basis for almost 4 years now. Bob and Barbara are wonderful and Stoli (their pup) is the cutest. There is never enough time to soak in the beautiful views that the property and surrounding area provide and the local fishing is unbelievable. The food is great, Barbara is one of the best cooks I know. The rooms are spacious and always clean, if there is anything you need just ask Bob and Barbara they are very accomodating. Did I mention the beautiful property - I am planning to have my wedding there later this year.

  • Liked — Great Place to Relax
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tacbs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.7 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
1.2 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
4.6 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,051 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge

Property: Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge
Address: 2364 Mountain Rd, PO Box 3363, Stowe, VT 05672-3363
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hob Knob is a family owned and operated inn, bar & lounge. Built in 1937 as the first ski lodge in Stowe, the Hob Knob is now completely restored. All of our guestrooms and facilities have been recently renovated for a comfortable home like feel in an original ski lodge. Each nights stay includes a free continental breakfast in our lounge.With 20 spacious guestrooms on 10 acres of land, a walking trail, pool, hot tub, restaurant and bar, 2 ponds and a plethora of wildlife the Hob Knob is the perfect Stowe getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hob Knob Hotel Stowe
Hob Knob Inn, Bar & Lounge Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing