We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountainside Resort At Stowe
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked as a time-share through RCI A great deal is made of the stairs at the resort, so being in our 70's and having lots of luggage, travelling for a long while, I made a point of calling the resort and ensuring we could have a room with the minimum number of stairs, which was about 27 before booking.
The day before we were due to arrive I called and said we had an 8 hour journey and would be arriving late. They said no problem and left the key in a drop box with all our information.
When we found our accommodation to our horror instead of being on the first floor we were on the third, with so many stairs I didn't count.
Fortunately we always take the most important stuff in with us first, so we had toiletries, the few supplies we had purchased, milk, bread, etc. and nightwear and a change of clothes. I say fortunately because by the time we got in the unit darkness was falling.
The first problem was the gas fire, which made a loud hissing noise as if it was on but not lit. You can't be too careful with gas so we called the emergency number and left a message for someone to call so that we could ask about it.
My husband then went down to the car to get some light bags.. no way could we carry 50lb. suitcases up those stairs, and by the time he got back it was pitch dark, and no lights had come on on the stairs. Another guest who had a torch helped him up the stairs with one bag, and even offered to get our suitcases for us, but that would not have been fair, we could manage without them.
The emergency lady turned up, and all that was the matter with the fire that it was set to allow too much air into the fire. She said as long as we could see the pilot light was on it would be ok, and turned it down so that it was quieter, instructions would help maybe.
My husband was wondering whether to go down and bring some other luggage up... we had 2 cases, 3 carry on bags, and sundry other bags of things. I said no way could he go down those stairs again in the pitch dark, so effectively we were confined to the apartment and could not even go out and get something to eat.
I rang the office as soon as I could the next morning to ask why, when I had booked a first floor apartment had we been put in a third floor one, and why the lights didn't work. The apartments that are time-share don't have a washing machine and for numerous apartments I found two coin operated washers and dryers in a sort of grubby dark shed affair below the swimming pool. When I mentioned this, as a placatory gesture they placed us in one of the apartments they rent, which was not as nice as a timeshare apartment, but at least had a washing machine. After 2 weeks on the road we had a lot of washing to do. This apartment was nice, had a nice patio, although only looked at other buildings. The only problem was the carpet was dirty, and if you walked round in socks or barefeet they soon became black and sticky. I mentioned this on the way out and she told me the carpet had not long been cleaned, so my only thought is that the cleaning had bought the dirt to the top of the carpet and it had not been removed properly.
The property itself was nicely maintained. The apartment was furnished ok. The maintenance people moved everything from the first apartment for us. The pool was nice and had the carpet been clean to be fair we would not have a complaint about the apartment. It had a huge patio outside with chairs, table etc. and we enjoyed breakfasts and an evening cocktail on the patio
The area was quiet, not too far from town, although not walking distance. The pool when we looked was deserted, which would be nice if we had felt like using it. Really we just felt quite unhappy here, and in the end, although we had arrived a day late (with notification) we also left a day early, having another time-share booked where we had planned to arrive a day late, and were now going to arrive on time.
I say never again because I just would not trust them to give us the apartment we booked. Having said this it would not be a bad place to stay if you can do stairs easily, and if the lights stay on at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BruceinVT, General Manager at Mountainside Resort At Stowe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

We are sorry to learn that these guests did not have a pleasant experience at our resort. One of our staff apparently placed the guests in a unit with more stairs than promised, and that was our fault and should not have happened. The problem with the lights was corrected the next morning - a sensor malfunctioned and they worked fine up to that point.

When the guests contacted us the next morning, we were glad to move them to a rental unit that had a washer and dryer to meet their needs. The carpet in the unit had recently been professionally cleaned and perhaps the residue had not been properly removed. We would have been happy to address this issue if the guests brought it to our attention before their departure.

We tried our best to satisfy the expectations of the guests and are sorry that our efforts were not successful in providing them an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

At first site (yes...all those stairs!!) the 53 stairs to our second floor condo seemed like it might be a problem, since we brought our bicycles and preferred to keep them in our unit. It actually was good exercise.

We were pleasantly surprised to see that our 2 bedroom 2 bth unit had a very large balcony over looking the mountains, (plenty of room for our bikes) plus, it had 2 lounge chairs and a table with 6 chairs for meals.
The inside of the unit is a bit tired, (we were told they are planning renovations starting fall 2013). the furniture gently worn and a bit dated, but clean, maintained and comfortable. A flat screen TV, free WIFI connection and a electric free-standing fireplace (which we did not use during our August week) a dining table with 6 chairs, sofa and two swivel chairs in the living room.

One bedroom had twin beds with ample room/closet entable and a dresser. The primary bedroom only had a double bed (full size) which took up most of the room, asmaller flat screen TV was on a small dresser and one end table. The room did have a closet that provided enough room to hang clothes. Their was a small bathroom with a tub/shower off that room, tiny but clean (also needed some updating).

The kitchen was fully serviceable with a full size refrig. dishwasher, oven, microwave coffee maker, toaster and blender. Overall pretty well stocked for a vacation unit.

This is not a 5 star resort, nor does it try to be. It is functional and well maintained. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. You can exchange your towels mid week, and free coffee and tea is available in the welcome center. Deanna is awesome and gave us a few tips on places to eat (as the locals do). If you don't love being outdoors Vermont is not for you!!

We rode our bikes on the bike trail, took short car trips to Burlington, Montpellier, Smugglers Notch and other small VT towns. We visited local breweries and winneries, hiked one of many trails (for all different skill levels) and just enjoyed the laid back lifestyle of being a Vermontier!!

You are in a great location, close to downtown Stowe. The restaurants are really good. The farmers market on Sunday morning is a fun place to browse and has a nice selection of local products and good eats.

Room Tip: ***If you have problems with walking and hills, this resort may not be for you. Some units appear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfjchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Firstly:the steps! Yes, there were a lot! 89 stairs to our unit. For us, that wasn't a problem; once we were up, the view was amazing and we had a huge private deck. But, if stairs are an issue, you should ask about your assigned unit. We had a 2 bedroom. The kitchen was basic but had most of what we needed. The bedrooms and bathrooms were small but met our needs. The furniture was plain, but again was fine for what we wanted. The staff were great, the pool was good (although we were disappointed it closed early, 9pm) and the location was good. The unit was clean and the Wednesday towel exchange was easy. Free wifi was slow during peak hours. All in all, a most acceptable stay.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This unit was a great place to stay. Whole upper level to ourselves. Lots of room to spread out, and a gorgeous view from the front door of the mountains. The bedrooms were good sizes, and the kitchen had everything that you could even want to use. There even was a slow cooker!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherylek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Where to start to review this wonderful home from home (we rented from an owner via Tripadvisor). Stunning location & fabulous views. A quiet resort in a quiet area of Stowe. Beautifully decorated, comfortably furnished, well equipped, everything you could need; so many thoughtful touches. We so appreciated the air con and the WiFi. As it was, sadly, far too hot to do the walks and cycles we had planned we lazed away the days on the deck under the umbrella and staggered as far as the excellent local eateries in the evenings. It was useful to be able to get basic provisions for breakfast etc at the Edelweiss Country store and we enjoyed shopping at the nearby Sunday Farmers market. The clean pool was a godsend in an effort to keep cool. There is so much to do and see in the area none of us wanted to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatterboxLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

It was not what I expected, but it was not horrible. What I liked was the location, easy access to many activities in the sorrounding areas. Our room was clean, but the bedroom was very small. There were literally only two feet on each side between the bed and the walls. The bed was full size (or queen at the most.) The bathroom fit only one person at a time. The balcony was nice and spacious. The kitchen was small, but ok, and the living room was fine. Customer service was good. The air conditioning unit is located in then livingroom. It's a little problematic when you have a very hot day (over 90 degrees) because the bedroom is not as cool as the livingroom due to haing no cooling system in the livingroom. At least there was only one day of 90 or over. It was not pleasant. The toilet kept clogging and overflowing although we were careful not to put a lot of paper in it. Decoration was dated. TV cable worked intermittently, and I have problems playing DVDs at times. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tochi4ever2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The room decor may have been dated, but our room was clean and the beds comfortable. The property was easy to find and conveniently located to all of Stowe's attractions. The kids enjoyed the pool when it was raining and there was nothing else to do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#3 of 24 in Stowe
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Resort At Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Resort At Stowe

Address: 31 Mountainside Dr, Stowe, VT 05672-5394
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Stowe
Price Range: £113 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Resort At Stowe 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the picturesque New England village of Stowe, Vermont, Mountainside Resort offers a comfortable and reasonably priced year round lodging experience for couples, families, and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountainside Resort At Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Mountainside Resort At Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing