We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theatre in the Woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountainside Resort At Stowe
Easton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Theatre in the Woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2007

We spent a luxurious week at the Theatre in the Woods, Mountainside Resort in Stowe, Vermont. Loved it!!! Easy access to excellent restaurants and quaint shops - the views are breathtaking and the sightseeing out of this world!

The condo owner has so many touches (personal decor; board games; books; videos) that it feels like home immediately. The gourmet kitchen is a delight, and the bathrooms are state of the art.

The beds are so comfortable, and the owner herself absolutely enjoys having guests - she sends email to welcome you and to check on your stay - we travel a lot and have never had a more enjoyable vacation!

I highly recommend this rental - and am looking forward to checking out its sister site in the Tropics, the newest addition!!!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandMissKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    34
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
62
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

Four of us ( 2 parents and 2 30 yr old sons) stayed in a 3-bedroom condo in Unit G for 4 nights last week and were very pleased. Quite clean and everything (including gas fireplace) worked perfectly.

With 3 of us over 6', we felt the whole place was a bit small but we were out most of the time and didn't mind cozy breakfasts and occasional TV and reading sessions together in the living/dining room .

We did not use any of the pool/exercise/laundry facilities.

Everything in the Stowe area is convenient to this and most other accommodations. My wife had a massage at the Topnotch Resort (5 minutes away) and I walked thru the facility, which is a totally different place: Fancy reception/gathering area with afternoon tea, some shops, two pools, big deal spa, high end bar and separate restaurant. And accommodations at a 50% higher price.

Mountainside is part of Vacation Resorts International, about which we know nothing, but
(---)
might be worth checking for a start on a vacation plan.

  • Liked — clean, quiet, private
  • Disliked — small
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Garlic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2006

Back in September we initiated a search for a family vacation in Vermont for the Christmas break. In addition to a great deal of web searches, we also put a significant amount of faith in these Tripadvisor reviews. Given that the reviews were generally more positive that the other comparable resorts in the area, we felt we had chosen well. I would say that you should question the previous reviews, since they bore little relationship to our experience at Mountainside Resort.

The resort is about to embark upon a renovation project to be done in phases, but until that is done you can expect your room/apartment to be hit or miss depending upon which unit you get assigned. We were in the "F" building which turns out to be one of the older ones. I heard that "K" had just been renovated, so you may be better off there. Our room was clean and functional, but really showed its age - I'm guessing mid 80's. This would apply to all the appliances and furnishings. You're looking at very spartan designs and aged. Our TV was a 19" Zenith. I've seen larger ones on the side of the road on bulky waste days. There was an annoying electrical click which woke us the first two nights there in our BR. We complained after the first night, but nothing was fixed. Turned out it was the apartment hair dryer, which when plugged in made dangerous sounds all through the night. The kitchen was the same deal - mid 80's vintage with a dishwasher that would wake the dead.

The pool area was OK, but not nearly as spacious as we had expected. The changing rooms were small and crowded. Keep in mind that the pool is in a separate building so in winter one must go fully dressed to the pool building, undress, swim, then dress again for the trek in the cold. There was very limited storage space for winter coats, boots, etc, making an already crowded situation even more so.

Staff was generally attentive but not exactly what you'd call hospitable.

We visited in the high holiday season, at which time our 2-room condo went for approximately $450 per night. Granted, it was the holidays, but for that kind of money you really should be able to expect something that is more than spartan and simply adequate. Perhaps Mountainside Resort should charge less for the non-renovated apartments???

  • Liked — It was clean, and the location was pretty good.
  • Disliked — Furnishings and poor value
  • Tips/Secrets — Shop around
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank roasbief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

We have a family of 3 boys between the ages of 4 and 14 and everyone had a wonderful time. There was so much to do in Stowe - biking on recreation path, mini-golfing, hiking, balloon festival, swimming in rivers, Smuggler's notch, etc. The unexpected highlight was finding Laughing Moon Chocolates. You MUST go. Pie in the Sky Pizza was so good, we had to make 2 visits.
The big screen TV, tennis courts, swimming pool, and screened in porch were major bonuses to enjoy after the day's activities. This condo had plenty of DVDs and cable to relax to. The location is perfect. It's close to everything. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2006

The location is fabulous! Everything you need is close by and so are many wonderful sites to see, like the Trapp Family Lodge - thier gardens are breathtaking! The Theatre in the Woods is an excellent getaway! My Mother and I take a trip annually somwhere and we chose Stowe as one of the places to see this year. We have found renting a home for a few days really makes a trip more enjoyable and this location provided us with the opportunity to fix our own meals in their wonderfully equipped galley kitchen. The kitchen was clean, modern and quite frankly I am planning on purchasing a sink just like the stainless steel pot sized sink that was in this rental! The Entertainment system is a must have from my point a view - I love movies and what a kick to bring a pile of them with you on vacation and just relax and watch movies! Of course the Theatre in the Woods has a good selection of movies as well. The beds - what can I say - I was delighted to find the beds in fabulous condition and so easy to rest on. I own a select comfort bed and usually cannot find comparable rest anywhere - well at the Theatre in the Woods I did! I recommend this as a stopping point instead of your usual motel! Happy travels!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2006

The views are spectacular. The location is great, for skiing, shopping, sightseeing or just relaxing. The pool is well kept and the units and grounds are well maintained. Very comfortable. I would recomend it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2006

I had the pleasure of staying at the Theatre in the Woods this winter. Of course this condo has received rave reviews from many people, but for those who have not had the opportunity to visit let me suggest why you should go visit the next time you're up in Stowe. First, the three bedroom condo is adorable and perfectly suitable for 4-6 adults. Leslie has thought of everything in decorating and appointing the unit. It felt as if I had stepped into a cabin specifically tailored to my every need. Second, the location. You're already halfway up the Mountain Road so Stowe is incredibly accessible. Third, the price. For a bit more money than a hotel (but certainly cheaper than Stoweflake), you can have a private oasis in the woods. Lastly (as if I haven't already given you enough reasons), the entertainment system is fantastic. After a day of skiing it was great to have a hot tub on site, a nice glass of your favorite beverage (my preference is something alcoholic in nature), and a movie on the big screen. All in all, I cannot speak highly enough about this wonderful vacation rental.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountainside Resort At Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Resort At Stowe

Property: Mountainside Resort At Stowe
Address: 31 Mountainside Dr, Stowe, VT 05672-5394
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Resort At Stowe 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the picturesque New England village of Stowe, Vermont, Mountainside Resort offers a comfortable and reasonably priced year round lodging experience for couples, families, and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountainside Resort At Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Mountainside Resort At Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing