We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ski Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Pointe Claire, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ski Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Our family of four had an excellent ski vacation. Our room was a loft which gave us lots of space for the four of us. Parking in front fo the room and a patio at the back with a view of the river and the mountain in the background. There was also a small fridge in the room. The common areas were warm and welcoming, and the service was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your ski vacation and found a warm welcome at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    153
    46
    19
    9
See reviews for
195
173
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Givat Ada Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The place is nice and clean. Near the river, so the view is perfect.
Very Good breakfast and the service.
Bar family, Israel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! It was nice meeting you, and we hope you made it safely back to Israel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchu, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Walking in the check inn office we were greeted by the smell of baking Muffins & greeted with a warm smile. Our stay was very Pleasant. The facillities were clean and well kept.
The view from the room was wonderful
the staff helpful.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review! It was really nice talking to you. We hope you made it back safely to Japan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Me and two of my friends enjoyed a 4 night vacation to hit the slopes and found this highly-affordable condo. It was actually a property that the Sun & Ski Inn and Suites acquired near the Mountainside Resort. The condo had 3 bedrooms (2 queen, 1 twin), a family room, kitchenette, balcony, and 2 bathrooms. I got one of the queens and had some of the best sleep away from home that I've ever had. My room even had separate climate controls for electric heating next to the bed. We brought food and used the kitchenette for cooking, which was perfect and had everything we needed. The sofa in the family room was actually a pull-out bed, so we could have even had a 4th person with us if necessary. Everything was clean, including the dishes, pot/pans, silverware, bed linens, bathrooms, everything. We were highly impressed. We didn't use the indoor pool/hot tub/sauna, but they also had this nearby (we were normally too tired from skiing). They had free movie rentals available, which is a huge plus, with about 50-75 recent movies. The original DVD player that came with the condo didn't work, but we called the front desk and they sent a guy over within 15-20mins and we had a working player in no time. I'd surely recommend this place to anyone needing lodging!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrysonH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review! We are very happy you enjoyed our nice condo at Mountainside Resort, and hope you will return some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I'm not that picky when it comes to lodging that's a good value. The room was basic, spacious, with a gorgeous creek that took less than two minutes to walk to outside the back of the room. That creek made the whole experience nice and memorable. It was nice to have a fridge too. We didn't get up early enough for breakfast.

My boyfriend didn't like the room. He didn't like the way it looked, and there wasn't anything about it that made him feel good while being there.

I picked this place because of the reviews, the price and the hot tub. We went there to check it out. The hot tub looked like it probably wasn't getting used a lot in October, when we visited. The hot tub didn't feel very inviting. The room the hot tub was in kind of felt dark, like it wasn't given much attention. It was not close to our room and it wasn't open when we wanted to use it at night, so we didn't use it.

If you are looking for value accommodations and feel you would like a beautiful creek in the backyard, this may be a good place for you. I think some of the amenities may be ideal for families, since there are some extras that you wont find at other places, especially for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback on the quality of the rooms and hot tub. We are currently preparing for a remodeling of our rooms, which will be completed this year.

Regarding your comments on our hot tub area, it is our standard policy to keep it open until 9.30 every night. We apologize if that was not the case during your stay, and can only wish you would have mentioned it to us at the time. Also, we deliberately keep the hot tub room a little dark, so our guests are able to enjoy the outside view and starry skies. Your point is well taken, however, and we may install some additional lighting and/or decorations. In general, you can be assured that our pool and hot tub get significant attention from our maintenance and housekeeping staff!

Thank you again for your review, and feel free to contact us if you have any further questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The loft added 2 additional queen sized beds and the heated pool was a nice touch. Right on the river too which was a pleasant surprise.

Within walking distance along a paved nature path to The Rusty Nail restaurant and bar, as well as other eateries. No restaurant on site, but a simple breakfast is provided in the morning.

Skiers take note: Route 108 is not open at the top of Stowe so you cannot get to the ski areas from this side of the mountain most snowy times of the year. What would be a 10 minute ride on the map is actually about a 45 to 50 minute drive around the base.

Not this hotel's fault, but something to be aware of.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank killerbichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and your point regarding Route 108 is well taken: we're definitely posting something on our website next Winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our family had an enjoyable 4 night stay at the S & S Inn and Suites. We booked the Ski and Stay package. Our spacious loft suite consisted of a king bed, a double sofa bed plus two double beds upstairs in the loft area. There was free wireless internet. A small fridge was provided for our convenience along with coffee and tea samples. There was a separate double sink adjacent to the bathroom. Bathroom amenities were included. The flat screen TV had good reception. A sliding door at the back of the suite lead out to a view of a stream. Parking was right outside of the room. A hot and cold breakfast was included in our rate: bread, bagels, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, french toast sticks and their prize-winning granola (which was delicious). Mount Mansfield was a 6 minute drive away. The 3 restaurants close to the Inn that we suggest you try are “Pie in the Sky” and “Piecasso”, which specialize in pizza, and “Cactus Café”, which specializes in Mexican cuisine. There are many stores in the area where you can buy souvenirs, crafts, apparel and new/used ski equipment. We enjoyed a walk along the Recreation Path, which is just behind the Inn. We will have to go back when the weather is warmer to play on their miniature golf course. Michelle and Erica were very friendly and informative staff members who answered our many questions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cirrus5461jyCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfpark, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your nice and detailed review! We're happy with your compliments on our staff, and glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Property: Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Address: 1613 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing