We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extras that Count”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extras that Count”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A friend and I traveled up to ski at Stowe and picked this hotel because of the positive reviews and handsome look of the rooms from the pictures on the property's website. The pictures did not lie. But what makes this a standout property and a pleasant surprise are the extras: local magazines and newspapers in the room; granola bars and other welcome goodies; a coffee maker equipped with coffee packets that brew 4 cups (imagine it!); a thoughtfully prepared complimentary breakfast with a main course that changes daily--great for those of us who stay more than one night; a suite of common rooms with tasteful colors and attractive furniture; a roaring fireplace; and a library of books you would actually like to get lost in for a bit. A clean, bright, welcoming gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Christopher R,

Thank you for your very kind review. It is great to hear that we have surprised you with extra details at our hotel. We do our best to provide and all around great experience for our guests. We are also glad that you liked our decor. We have made several updates to our rooms and main building in the last couple of years.

Thanks again!
Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    156
    48
    19
    9
See reviews for
205
179
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife and a friend and I spent a weekend at Stowe and we stayed at the Sun and Ski. We booked the hotel through Travelocity and it seemed fairly reasonable in price.

On the plus side:

• The room was very clean and fairly large.
• The bed was comfortable enough though pillows were small and too firm.
• It was pretty quiet even though our room was close to the office and parkinglot.
• The hotel is set back from the road and it is on Mtn Road so it is a short drive to the slopes.

On the negatives:

• The room was somewhat charmless and had a musty chlorine smell.
• Breakfast was nothing to write home about
• Fox News is abhorrent as it is but it is really the last thing I want to see when I am eating my kibble from the General Mills cereal station at breakfast.
• Proprietor overcharged myself and my friend as he tallied up our bills. It's likely that it was incompetence but it was surprising that he messed up both our bills -- my friend's by a significant amount.
• What the room didn't need: a midsize safe for my valuables.
• What the room did need: a corkscrew.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cranky_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Cranky_NYC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found the room clean and spacious. In response to your points of feedback: We have updated eleven of our rooms with new furniture and bedding. The remainder of our current rooms will receive new bedding and curtains in the next few weeks. I'm sure this will help to create a fresher and more charming feel to the room. We are very sorry about the mistake with your bill. It was not intentional and as far as I understood the mistake was promptly fixed once it was identified.

Best regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We visited this hotel during our christmas holiday. Very nice staff, the service was great and the room was recently renovated, very comfortable and clean. On christmas eve, a camp fire was organized by the staff which made us feel very welcome. The nature surrounding the hotel is amazing! The room had a nice patio with a river view. We will definitely visit this place during our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Karin V,

Thank you for your great review! We feel privileged that you chose to stay with us during your Christmas holiday. We are glad you enjoyed our camp fire and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Room is very clean and won't have to worry about bringing anything back home, and staff is very friendly. This was our second stay here and both time has been the same. Perfect place when coming to Stowe mountain for an overnight stay. Would recommend this place to my friends.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank flechasport99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Flechasport99,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. That's great that you came back to visit us and we appreciate the word of mouth advertising! We hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A must stay for any winter/summer enthusiasts. Great location (a stone's throw away from stowe mtn), friendly service, and affordable prices. The pool and hot tub are great after a long day on the slopes. Would strongly recommend. We look forward to booking there again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sluggertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sluggertron,

We very much appreciate your enthusiastic review! We hope the next time we see you that we can make your stay as good as the last!

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is an idler place, but the rooms are nicely kept and clean. The grounds around the hotel are very pretty. Out back of each room is a large grassy area and a river, and beyond that mountains and mountains and mountains. If we every get the chance to come back to Vermont, we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flattysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Flattysmith,

Our location along side the Little River in Stowe is one of our best features. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester NH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were not happy to hear our previous 2 bedroom economy housekeeping accommodation in Stowe - Alpenrose - was switching to long-term rentals. All we want is some place clean with decent beds. We took a gamble with Sun & Ski but it paid off. Sun & Ski has a two bedroom/one bathroom suite on the 2nd floor. It is quite spacious. Nothing fancy. My biggest complaint is there's an extra door which allows them to rent it as a single room but the door is constantly in the way. They could just make the door into the 2nd bedroom the cut-off when someone rents the one-bedroom with bathroom. There is a small fridge but no cooking facility The unit across the hall is one big room with a queen bed and a sizable kitchen. They need to wash the bedspreads but that is a problem with lots of hotels, even fancy ones.
They have a nice lounge area on the ground floor with a fireplace. A continental breakfast is included with cereals, yoghurt, baked goods, juices, coffee, hard boiled eggs and, on Sundays, pre-made french toast. Certainly would be more than adequate for young children.
The indoor pool looked quite nice.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They even allow dogs!!!
We'll be back unless we can find an economy two-bedroom unit with a cooking area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark v, Owner at Sun & Ski Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear NordicSkiers,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding your stay this past winter. As it happens we will be renovating the room you stayed in this coming year and the issue with the door will definitely be solved. We are also changing over all bedding to duvets instead of comforters. Our renovations will also include an expansion with both one and two bedroom options.

Kind regards,
Rachel Vandenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
5.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Ski Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Ski Inn and Suites

Property: Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Address: 1613 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4750
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun & Ski Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordered by the Little River and shadowed by Mount Mansfield, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites offers comfortable lodging rooms and amenities for the best vacation. Experience the enrichment of a peaceful mountain setting as well as the excitement of being near the fun! Located between the historic village of Stowe, Vermont and the mountain, Sun & Ski Inn and Suites has something to offer to the skiers, hikers and mountainbikers as well as to those longing for the famous New England warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sun & Ski Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun & Ski Hotel Stowe
Sun And Ski Inn And Suites
Sun And Ski Hotel
Sun And Ski Stowe
Sun & Ski Inn And Suites Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing