We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views Make it Worth It” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road

Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road
Ranked #9 of 59 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Views Make it Worth It”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

At first I thought the charge was a little steep - they charge per person rather than per car- but once we got to the top and started exploring I changed my mind. There are a number of trails starting at the visitors center. It is really beautiful and so nice to walk, enjoy the fresh air and take in the spectacular views.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    56
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“overpriced for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

we wanted to see the top of the mt Mansfield so we took this drive. It was ok but certainly NOT worth the $37.00 we paid for 4 people. The view at the top was ok, not spectacular and the restaurant was also just average

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Awesome hike and incredible views. Well worth the enrty fee. They even give you an auto CD thats tells you the history and facts.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank robnaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondacks, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Appreciation & Respect for Mother Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We've been on the Toll Road many times on skis, but this was the first time in a car. This activity is pure Mother Nature at it's beautiful best. The drive down is better than the drive up as you can stop along the trail and appreciate the ski trail signs and views. If the Chapel is open, stop on in. Don't worry, you won't get churched up. Just stop in and learn more about the people, family, and purpose of the Toll Road. It will give you a better understanding of what you are doing. Once at the top, stay on the white trail and be respectful of the boundries. There are several other trails that branch off...if you are not a hiker, just stay on the white trail. As you walk, take time to look behind you or down at the tiny little flowers and greenery. The rock you walk on is called Shist and it's noted by the wavy foliation. If you are just driving up to get a good view, you are missing out on 75% of what you are experiencing. Disney can't create this at any price. There is no gift shop, videos to watch, or flush toilets (porta-potty..even one that was handicap accessible). If you sit for a bit, you can watch the clouds change the views. One minute you can't see the other side, then next you can. So beautiful!

Our tips: Make a day of it...pack something to eat, water, sunscreen, light jacket, hiking boots or at least sneakers...function beats fashion..no flip flops! It's Carry in, Carry Out and you should practice Leave No Trace.

Since there is not much written about the other trails that branch off the Long Trail, I thought I'd write a bit here about The Cliff Trail. We decided to take The Cliff Trail back to the main parking lot from the summit area. If you are not prepared for a serious hike, don't do it. This is for highly experienced hikers who are prepared. You need to be able to scoot your butt over rocks, hug rocks looking for a holding spot, be ok to get dirty, should not be afraid of heights or wet slimy rocks, have good body strength (legs and arms), have plenty of water, and hiking boots on. Walking sticks are not recommended by one of the guides. Doing this trail after it has rained is dangerous and slippery, so be careful. The most impressive view is when you stand above where the Gondola drops you off (above Perry Merrill) and you look up at the rock going straight up above you. That's when I realized "I'm on a *%&##^$& CLIFF!" There are a few ladders to climb, narrow passages between boulders to slip through, and a knotted cable to help you cross over a large flat boulder. Thank you to whoever put that there!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheM's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierrefonds, Quebec
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A little on the pricey side for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

It's quite the drive, mostly very narrow dirt roads. It does not take you all the way to the top. If you actually want to see anything, you have either a 15 minute walk or a mile and a half hike. I'm glad we did it, but I don't think it's work the $25 it costs for 2 people.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NancyJean2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road also viewed

 

Been to Stowe Mountain Auto Toll Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing