We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of kobe Japanese Steak House - CLOSED

kobe Japanese Steak House
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My boyfriend and I called in just on the of chance. From the outside this restaurant looks great, she then Proceeded to mumble something to us at which point I said we had not been before and didn't understand what she was saying?
The dumplings were great, so looking good so far!
Then the mains came out soon after, both meals were barely warm, and beings I'd ordered seafood I wasn't prepared to send it back in case they just stuck it in a microwave.
Had the food been a lot hotter it would have Been almost perfect.
The habachi would be a much better option if you decide to go as the food is cooked in front of you and served piping hot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good, value fresh and spicy”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

If like us, you need a fix of spicy food, when on holiday in the USA then this is the place for you. chefs very entertaining at the teppanyaki tables. Very good quality food and a very reasonable price. Ideal for a casual fun night out.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayne2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The restaurant itself is nice. You can sit at the hibatchi grill or in traditional lowered Japanese "booths" on pillows, which is kind of cool. Service was fine and pretty quick, although it was not busy when we were there. Food was OK, nothing special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelDog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Restaurant had a good atmosphere, quite busy although they managed to fit us in. Food service & wine were good and reasonably priced.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sallyannie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service was terrible”
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

Food average, place generally ok, but the service was simply unacceptable. We had to complain to the front desk even to get the waitress to come to our table - after waiting over 10 mins. One app was not served until after the other 3 were finished. Plates left on the table for over 15 mins. Food took over 40 mins per course. Waitress did not take entree order until after the apps were finished, and when we asked her to take the order, she said it was on its way before we ordered it. We got the bill before the entree, then the waitress was confused why we were complaining. When the entrees arrived, they were served with intervals of 5 mins per person, so the first again finished before the last got their food. Drink orders not delivered. Zero attention to the table. All in all - the worst service I have ever seen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing