We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and expensive, ok food”
Review of Hourglass

Hourglass
Ranked #15 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
332 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Dark and expensive, ok food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had dinner while staying at the lodge. So dark, hard to read the menu or see what your food truly looks like. I ordered the BLT but it was a big hunk of fatty, salty pork instead of bacon so I thought it was a salmon burger when it first arrived. Traded it in for a BaconLT which is what I thought I was ordering to begin with. Unnecessary to be so expensive. $14 for grilled cheese or BLT. Not sure why. And the food was just ok. We would not eat there again. We would drive down the mountain road for a meal next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindervermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent hotel food, slow kitchen”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had dinner here one night during a snow blizzard. They put extra table seating near the hallway where the elevator exits, and there's a lot of traffic from people walking thru the lodge which is a bit annoying. Food selection is quite good and most dishes are well made with fresh ingredients. Kitchen was extremely slow though with our main courses and dessert. Good place to grab one of your meals if you're staying at the lodge and don't want to spend a ton at their signature restaurant, but better food can be had if you have a car.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoRoyaljelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great burgers...”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Went to eat at lunch during an excellent day skiing... Arrived at 11:15, got a seat next to the fireplace. We removed our ski boots and we're offered slippers.
Ordered 2 burgers medium rare with 2 local drought beers. Everything was excellent, at noon the place was getting jam packed. That was great, cause we finished eating and the slopes where all ours!

Helpful?
Thank JISPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good for apps and apres ski, dinner less so”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a fairly large group on a Sunday night, both adults and kids. I would have rated Hourglass "average" if it wasn't for the service. It was excellent. The food, however, was served cold. So cold in fact, one of the adults was questioning if his chicken was SUPPOSED to be served cold. The steaks were overcooked. Portions were a bit on the small side for the price. Wine list is very good.
My guess is they were understaffed for a Sunday night. Too bad, as we expected better for what we spent, and for the quality of the hotel.
I'd give them a try, but stick to apps and drinks, and maybe light meals.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHTraveler03301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The food was good but nothing over the top fabulous as I had expected for a resort of its caliber. The homemade BBQ potato chips are a must try.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank orltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hourglass also viewed

 

Been to Hourglass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing