We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly with Great Food”

McCarthy's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly with Great Food”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

The hostess was very friendly. Her and the gentleman from the business next door bantered with my son about the rivalry between the Red Sox and the Yankees. We had a great time at this restaurant. The French toast was the best I've ever had. I chose the special oatmeal bread. I don't usually add butter to my French toast but I tried it since it was Cabot butter. It made the meal fantastic. My 6 year old who doesn't eat much finished a pancake, egg and bacon platter. He said it was awesome, great and good! The coffee was also wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    199
    56
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Stowe”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just perfect breakfast. Maple sausages...yum, and maple bacon....yum yum. Eggs were fabulous, service was superb. Check out the ladies restroom, really cool hand painted mural all over walls of mountain views. If in Stowe, go here for breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thebyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service, Avg. Food”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Rachel, our waitress, was wonderful. She graciously made substitutes (french fries instead of home fries) and knew how to be highly attentive without coming by too often. Unfortunately, the food/drink was only average. The toast was over-buttered, the green mountain coffee was Nantucket Blend (one of the worst) and the onions in my omelette were too numerous and too under-grilled. It was my first time here and I would go back because of the service and because I wouldn't judge the restaurant on just one meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast and great Value”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Randomly stopped by one day to have breakfast and were amazed with how cheap( by Stowe standarts) and good it was. Will be coming there more often. I especially enjoyed there omelet selection where you can make your own with ingredients like smoked salmon and goat cheese

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Squirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast from homemade donuts to homemade hash”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I liked this place so much we ate here three straight mornings. Their corned beef hash is great as are the peanut butter filled, chocolate covered donuts. Service is great too

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCarthy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to McCarthy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing