We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHERE'S THE CLAM CHOWDER”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gracie's - CLOSED

Gracie's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WHERE'S THE CLAM CHOWDER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We always spend the week of Memorial Day and Labor Day Weekend in Stowe, and always stop for supper at Gracies Restaurant. Great food, very pleasant and accomodating staff, reasonably priced and arguably, the best clam chowder this side of Kennebunkport, Maine. BUT, they took the chowder off the menu. When we asked our server why this favorite was taken off the menu, she told us that she didnt know why, but that many people were complaining about it.

PLEASE LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS AND PLEASE BRING BACK THE CHOWDER. See you Labor Day ( maybe) but really want a mug of the chowder.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    225
    68
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went in with a large crowd with multiple tables and they were very accommodating. We wound up being the last table out because we were having so much fun. The staff was great and very friendly. They went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. I had a burger, which can be ordered from 1/3 - 1 full pound. The meat is fresh from a local farm and absolutely delicious. Everyone at our table enjoyed their meal, not one complaint. I would enjoy going back there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KenK665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
297 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“BBQ meat and fish !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Gracie's is simply a great surprise, food is amazing and you can tell that the same family is running this restaurant, we went there on a wednesday night and i will never forget! try the tacos or the steak so good!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RealBusinessReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, NH
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hubby and I ate at Gracie's on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. The place was busy but not overwhelmed. The food was excellent. They brought us bread .....blueberry and white chocolate bread as well as some other very yummy, warm bread. And they were happy to refill our breadbasket without being asked. Hubby had the daily special of meatloaf, and I had the ribs and chicken combo with the homemade string french fries....delicious!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenandTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stopped to grab a bite at Gracie's and it was packed. We sat at the bar and noticed how the staff all worked together. There was one young lady named Little Dee who cleaned after the waitresses and did the little things without being asked. She was always willing to help her fellow peers. Our waitress (which I don't remember her name/works on Sat nights) was great. Very attentive and sweet.
The cupcake meatloaf looks cute but the meatloaf needs help. The texture is mooshy and the flavor was totally off. It tasted to peppery (real peppers in meatloaf). Fried chicken was "ehhh", I have had better.
M

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimelendez45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gracie's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing