We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice evening of casual Mexican ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Cafe

Cactus Cafe
Ranked #39 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice evening of casual Mexican ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

It's not great big city Mexican food but still a lovely, casual evening of good warm chips and spicy salsa and margaritas and decent food. My friend and I had the Baja shrimp which was presented nicely and wasn't bad. Our husbands had more traditional Mexican fare which was fine. Overall a nice and fun evening outside in the beautiful town of Stowe.

Helpful?
Thank jmorgenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    106
    63
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Entire experience was not worth it. Service was OK, but the food did not stand out at all. I ordered the combination, and got it all beef, but it tasted blah. The hard shell that came with it tasted stale. Even treated myself to a beer, and although it was good, they made no extra effort to bring it in a frosted glass. With the a/c being off, it didn't take long for the beer to warm up too much. Wouldn't go back, and wouldn't recommend it. This place is too expensive, and the quality of the food isn't worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican in Stowe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just finished another amazing dinner at the Cactus Cafe! The Honey Habanero wings are the best wings I've ever had. You have to eat these things! The poppers were also amazing, They are homemade, huge fresh & yummy! The fajitas are always delicious. I loved the pork verde enchillada! We ordered the chocolate chimi dessert and it's one of the best sweets I've ever tasted! The Cactus Cafe is consistently delicious!! The staff is always friendly and the service is great! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were a party of 9 and they accommodated us right away. The food was pretty good, but not great. Steak fajitas were tender but lacking a little in flavor. They didn't have hard tacos which was surprising, and disappointing to my nephew. Jalapeno poppers were super spicy! Service was very good. Would possibly go back if I was in the area again, but may try a different Mexican place first.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not worth the try”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Californian tacos are good but do not take the cheese stuffed spicy papers (they are too spacy for restaurant food and the waitress will not bother to suggest something else or replace it). One might to wait considerable time for utensils with the meals in front of you

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank physicist_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cactus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing