We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”
Review of Vermont ale house - CLOSED

Vermont ale house
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: A craft beer bar and restaurant located in the heart of Stowe, Vermont. Featuring 26 rotating draft beers from Vermont, the US and abroad.Our menu consists of 6-8 pub fare items which keeps the focus on quality and freshness. Our small menu allows us to explore creative specials that go hand in hand with seasonal local ingredients.
London Ontario
1 review
“Great food!!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Great food & a wonderful waiter!! He let is take a book home that was on one of the many bookshelves that surrounded us during our dinner!!

Helpful?
Thank flyingdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    57
    24
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great food and beer”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We really liked this place. The operation is very new and they are very accommodating - both of us had modifications to our meals which they readily and quickly accomplished.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jposterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Menu and associated draughts”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a fantastic choice for a family dinner. The kids loved the popcorn machine - and the kids mac and cheese was homemade (nice and cheesy penne). The parents enjoyed great specials like wild boar ribs. Service was prompt and efficient.

This was truly a great find! (In fact we went back the next night!) Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SNLBLAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really cute place. Good food!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Dinner here was enjoyable. Food was pretty good. Nice beer selection. TV was annoyingly loud and blasting in our ears as we ate.But the most enjoyable part of our visit was the cool little room off to the side with hundreds of old magazines and books (think from the 50s). I could have stayed in there to read for hours!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“More than just Ale, try the handcrafted cocktails”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Famous Roast Beef sandwhiches, a fantastic beer menu, and some great handcrafted cocktails... our time on the deck was well spent.The menu isn't overly expansive, but it works and what's on there is good.The outdoor seating is rather small and next to Mountain Rd, but hey, you're in VT on a beautiful summer day with a killer beer in your hand. It works.

Helpful?
Thank MeaganD2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing