We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gold Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge de Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de Stowe
Ranked #9 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Singapore
1 review
“Gold Standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in Auberge over Christmas and we have nothing but praises for Shawn and Chantal. We have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before but I will say that it beats many 4-5 stars hotels that we had stayed simply because of the warmth and sincerity of the owners. Highly recommended. Gold standard for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    30
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Stowe, and although we have stayed nearby before, we had never been to Auberge before. We were definitely pleased with the overall stay here. The location is very convenient, being very close to the wide variety of shops and restaurants. Check-in was very quick and Shawn was more than happy to offer dining suggestions in the area. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, including a private bathroom that was larger than that at many inns. There is a large common area that included comfortable couches and chairs to watch tv, sit by the fireplace or read a book from the large variety available to borrow. There is also an outside hot tub and a pool, which was likely closed for the season. Breakfast was continental and included Chantal's home-made pumpkin bread. Another item worth noting was the wide diversity of people staying here. We saw guests ranging from a family with small children to couples visiting, and friends hiking. We traveled with our 6 year old and had no issues, as opposed to some places that cater toward adults or discourage young children. Children will also enjoy the dog and the cat, who frequently visit in the common areas. Pricing was exceptionally reasonable and I highly doubt that you would find a better rate in the area. We stayed during foliage season, researched rates of several places in the area and found nothing even close. Why pay a lot more money someplace else when you can definitely have an enjoyable stay here. We would stay here again without hesitation and recommend this B & B as appropriate for travelers of all ages

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHTOM4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Shawn & Chantal are very nice people you want to know.
The overall experience was great. We went with our 3 kids 2 two of them teenagers.
Had great chats in front of the fire sipping wine with both Shawn and Chantal.
They recommended great places to eat. The room was comfortable and well kept. The breakfast was wonderful.
Overall great Price/Value/ Friendlyness .
A win win for any family looking for a nice time in Stowe and a budget to keep.
Regards,
Eduardo Browne
NY

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eduardocb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

The Auberge de Stowe was a pleasant surprise. We are a family of five with three daughters ages 13, 8 and 5 respectively. It is always difficult to find economical accommodations for a group this size without totally blowing the family budget! This B&B met our needs perfectly. We were able to get two adjoining rooms with two double beds and 2 single beds for a great price.

We tend to spend very little time in our hotel room when we travel because we are so busy exploring our destination. Therefore "fancy" rooms are not our priority. The room that we stayed in was clean and comfortable - no frills which was no problem! Our close proximity to downtown and Stowe Mountain Resort for skiing- 15 min by car- was a bigger priority.

The owners Shawn and Chantal were definitely the highlight of our stay. They were incredibly helpful with everything from skiing, to tourist destinations to dining. Their recommendations helped us to navigate our way through Stowe with relative ease.

We looked forward to breakfast every morning before starting our day. Our girls feasted on fresh baked croissants, muffins, soda bread and fruit and enjoyed the homemade jams. They also had a blast with Max the dog and Jimmy Jazz the cat - when they could catch him!

Shawn and Chantal provided wonderful conversation in the morning before heading out to ski. They are a warm, charming couple and made us feel like we were part of their family.

We recommend Auberge de Stowe highly for the personal touch and as an economical alternative to higher priced accommodations.

When our kids didn't want to leave to go home and even considered a permanent move from Florida to Vermont- that's the sign of a GREAT vacation! We'll definitely be back.

Thanks Shawn and Chantal

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridascotts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson, nh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is owned by a charming couple. It is cozy and simple. Right for the traveller who appreciates that style and definitely not right for those who are looking for upscale accommodations.
Our room was small, beds were extremely comfortable (one of the best features for this writer), bathroom was rather small but workable. Breakfast room overlooks the river and has a scenic view. We didn't use the hot tub on porch because the weather did not permit. Breakfast was right for us (croissants, fruit, oj, home baked yummies). Again, just right for these travellers.
There are two rooms where folks can relax, one with wood burning stove, the other with t.v. TV's in rooms as well. The B&B does not allow smoking - another important feature for us.
We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holland32Jackson_Nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I find Auberge de Stowe to be a wonderful respite from the rush, the materialism and the isolation of NYC. The Auberge is a great homey place to detach oneself from the stress of work and commuting. Shawn and Chantal are quite "genuine"-- a young, vibrant, energetic couple who are good and old-fashioned in every postive sense of the word, I really enjoy staying there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJuran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

Our family of four (two adults, one ten year old, one fourteen year old) just came back from a lovely stay at the Auberge de Stowe. The owners of the Inn are some of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. It feels just like staying with family. They are also very helpful with tips for getting around town and information about restaurants and stores.

Breakfasts were delicious (Chantal is a great cook). Our room was comfortable and big enough for the four of us with ski gear. I would suggest to bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper as the floors above squeak when someone walks across upstairs.

If you're looking for a fancy, luxurious bed and breakfast, this isn't the place for you, but if you're happy with a comfortable, clean, relaxed atmosphere with great value, the Auberge de Stowe is a great place to stay. The next time we're in Stowe, we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
0.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#6 of 23 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Stowe

Property: Auberge de Stowe
Address: 692 S Main St., Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something for everyone at our European style Bed and Breakfast. Walk to the village shops and restaurants, ride the free shuttle bus to the ski slopes, enjoy a glass of wine by the wood stove or a soak in the outdoor hot tub after your hike. Your host will be happy to share all of their area knowledge with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing