We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great innkeepers, great experience!”
Review of Auberge de Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge de Stowe
Ranked #8 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, great innkeepers, great experience!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

In the expensive town of Stowe, this jewel is a great value. The inn is simple but well-kept. Shawn and Chantal were outstanding hosts, giving us space when we wanted but providing excellent breakfast conversation for as long as we wished to talk (which was about 3 hours at our final breakfast!). They were invaluable with advice on things to do and see in the Stowe area, and we are so grateful for their input. They take great pride in their craft and it shows. We couldn't be happier with our experience at the Auberge de Stowe, and would definitely stay again if we are fortunate enough to return to Vermont.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    30
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Clean, accommodating, good breakfast, cozy, quaint, easy to find. I would stay here again as it is an ideal location for top tourist sight-seeing destinations. This has the feeling of being a guest in a friend's home rather than staying in a chain-hotel. Room was simple, not overly large, shower may be tight for a large person. Perfect stay when you are planning on being out and about, not in your room most of the time. You may hear the street traffic at night if you have your window open. We plan on returning!

Room Tip: We were room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuenchenMaedchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A family owned b&b. Very cosy, comfortable, relaxing. Excellent location, close to walking trails, easy access to highway yet quiet. Excellent breakfast served in the morning. Had a wonderful time. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KomalaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I am glad I found this wonderful B&B to stay at Stowe. Shawn and Chantal were the best. I felt so welcomed and taken care of. I highly recommend this lodging. Sat nite Fondue was outstanding. Chantal makes an authentic Fondue with a wonderful blend of cheeses and tops it off with a Chocolate Fondue for dessert. Breakfasts were also delightful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A group of us, around 8, went to Stowe for the weekend and decided to stay here for 2 nights. Shawn and Chantal were very helpful from the very beginning even before we confirmed our stay. Breakfast was delicious, and the environment is so comfortable we considered not leaving for the evening. I think the biggest perk was the hot tub, especially a day on the slopes - your body is in for a treat :). Definitely plan to go back and stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed in Auberge over Christmas and we have nothing but praises for Shawn and Chantal. We have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before but I will say that it beats many 4-5 stars hotels that we had stayed simply because of the warmth and sincerity of the owners. Highly recommended. Gold standard for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We recently stayed overnight in Stowe, and although we have stayed nearby before, we had never been to Auberge before. We were definitely pleased with the overall stay here. The location is very convenient, being very close to the wide variety of shops and restaurants. Check-in was very quick and Shawn was more than happy to offer dining suggestions in the area. The room itself was very clean and comfortable, including a private bathroom that was larger than that at many inns. There is a large common area that included comfortable couches and chairs to watch tv, sit by the fireplace or read a book from the large variety available to borrow. There is also an outside hot tub and a pool, which was likely closed for the season. Breakfast was continental and included Chantal's home-made pumpkin bread. Another item worth noting was the wide diversity of people staying here. We saw guests ranging from a family with small children to couples visiting, and friends hiking. We traveled with our 6 year old and had no issues, as opposed to some places that cater toward adults or discourage young children. Children will also enjoy the dog and the cat, who frequently visit in the common areas. Pricing was exceptionally reasonable and I highly doubt that you would find a better rate in the area. We stayed during foliage season, researched rates of several places in the area and found nothing even close. Why pay a lot more money someplace else when you can definitely have an enjoyable stay here. We would stay here again without hesitation and recommend this B & B as appropriate for travelers of all ages

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHTOM4350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Butler House Stowe
Butler House Stowe
#4 of 22 in Stowe
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Stowe

Property: Auberge de Stowe
Address: 692 S Main St., Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something for everyone at our European style Bed and Breakfast. Walk to the village shops and restaurants, ride the free shuttle bus to the ski slopes, enjoy a glass of wine by the wood stove or a soak in the outdoor hot tub after your hike. Your host will be happy to share all of their area knowledge with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing