We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming inn”
Review of Auberge de Stowe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge de Stowe
Ranked #8 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were on a driving holiday in New England and Stowe was to be falling in our final week so by then we had checked in and out of 5 hotels. It was a refreshing change to get to the Auberge which was very easy to find. Unlike other lodging options in the area, it was a manageable walk into the main Stowe village so the location was great. Shawn and Chantal were very welcoming from the minute we entered the door. Our room (#6) was lovely - everything we expected.
We wanted to do some hiking, and got some great advice from the Kerrivans on where to go, which we took and had an amazing morning. Relaxing in the hot tub in the evening sun was heaven. Breakfast was great too - though I'd have loved a plain bowl of cereal! It is not a plush, luxurious option (there are those available in Stowe if required) but the Auberge doesn't hold itself out as such and is priced accordingly. I can imagine coming back to the cosy inn on a ski holiday - hopefully that will be next!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Auberge de Stowe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

If you like friendly Innkeepers, tasty food, and casual comfort book a room at the Auberge de Stowe. I had the opportunity to stay in this affordable bed & breakfast during the Stowe Story Labs inaugural screenwriting/filmmaking retreat from the 13th -16th of September. And what a treat it was. My bedroom and bathroom were comfortable and clean; my hosts were warm and welcoming, and although they probably didn't control it - the weather was perfect, too. Some of the bennies of Auberge de Stowe include the sitting room which features a TV, card tables with chess and other games, a reading area with a view of their expansive back yard and, yes, a hot tub. There's also a tasty homemade morning breakfast with freshly brewed coffee. Had I not been on a strict 9 a.m. to10 p.m. schedule, I would have welcomed the opportunity to relax in this pleasant environ with a bottle of Vermont's famous Heady Topper brew. Not only were my hosts, Chantal and Shawn, fluent in the ways and wonders of Stowe, they were also friendly with members of the River Arts community and the folks running my screenwriting event. Following one of our film screenings, Shawn suggested we all continue our discussions at a Stowe favorite, the Vermont Ale House. When we were finally ready to call it quits for the night, he collected the lot of us staying at Auberge and drove us all the short half of a mile home. Really. Could you ask for anything more?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McFyffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We read other reviews before we reserved our night at Auberge de Stowe and we completely expected what we found. It's an old house and has idiosyncracies like old houses do, but for us that is part of the charm! It was a very reasonable price, perfect location, a comfortable bed, friendly hosts, WiFi that worked. Even on a hot day in July, the window A/C kept the upstairs bedroom comfortable. Although their web site promises only a "continental breakfast," the morning we were there, we had quite a full meal. In addition to very yummy croissants and other pastries, we had an egg casserole and rhubarb crisp. We enjoyed chatting with Chantal and Shawn about the area. The only downside to our room (#5), was one small window that did not have a shade - the sun was right in my face at dawn!

If you're looking for something modern and impersonal, where floors don't creak, you probably would not be happy here. But for down home hospitality and comfort, it was delightful! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My sister and I stayed at Auberge de Stowe Aug 17 - 20 and were absolutely delighted with everything. Chantal and Shawn provided extremely helpful advice regarding places to see in the area and where to dine. We loved their pets too although they were seldom allowed out of the family's living area. Our room was clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and offered easy access to the outside and our vehicle. Just a short walk to downtown Stowe and its many restaurants and shops. My sister and I enjoyed our conversations with Chantal and Shawn and made good use of their picnic table in the backyard and the glider on the porch. Who would ever choose to stay in a stereotypical motel/hotel when this lovely quaint and charming B&B is available? certainly not I !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 03801SandraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have stayed at the Auberge now for almost 6 years and have had many wonderful memories - Chantal and Shawn are warm and friendly and make every effort to accommodate their guests - the rooms have been clean and comfortable - have also met many interesting people from all over the map, which makes the bed and breakfast experience unique from the cookie-cutter accommodations. I look forward to my time at the Auberge - keep up the good work Kerrivans!

Room Tip: I've enjoyed rooms 3,4,5 & 6
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently satyed at Ayberge de Stowe. We found the owners to be very freindly and warm. The food at breakfast was very good. I would have to agree with some of the previous reviews though that the upkeep is not the best. From what I could see there is paint chipping off from a large portion of the building. We also noticed some of the window sills that have wood completed rotted. Our room has spider webs in it, the ceiling in the bathroom appeard to have mold. The common area could have used some cleaning as well. The floors did not look the cleanest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbowshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubergiste7787, Owner at Auberge de Stowe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thanks for your helpful review about the Auberge. We remember these folks when they came through earlier this summer, and we had a nice time meeting and chatting with them. Thank you also for characterizing us as "friendly and warm." That means a lot to us, because we're genuinely interested in who are guests are, what their needs are when their in Stowe, and anything else we can do to make their stay comfortable and interesting.

You're spot on about the paint--you must have gone out on the back deck. We paint the place in sections, trying to address one side of the building each season. This year was the back's turn...but with the constant rains we've experienced up here, we've had to shelve that project until September. Guests staying with us then will likely find us perched on ladders, scrapers and paint brushes in hand. As for the window, we're not sure which one you're referencing, as all the exterior windows in your room are brand new, vinyl-clad, and insulated. There is an exterior window sill on the back deck that needs to be replaced--that was part of the scheduled painting project.

We do take issue with the cleanliness comments. Cleanliness is objective, and during the busy season months, we vacuum the common areas daily, so if someone tracked in some dirt, it's possible you saw that. And while the bathroom ceiling does have a couple of discoloration spots on it, it's scrubbed thoroughly before guests check in, so it's clean. Finally, sorry about the spider webs. We police up the cobwebs before folks check in, but during damp years like this one, they appear again too quickly. This is something we can only control ex post facto, since we can't eliminate nature's incursions. We always appreciate it when guests give us a heads-up about these things when they're here.

Thanks again for your helpful feedback. During busy times we often get so focused on the hospitality side of things that we don't notice some of the smaller, but no less critical, things that are important to our guests when they stay with us. Best, Shawn and Chantal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Auberge De Stowe was very disappointing. On a return trip back to Stowe for the third time, my significant other and I had arrived near the end of July to this B&B we had never been to before. Check in time was 3:30. Fortunately, the innkeeper was at the B&B & attended to us after we rang a bell to alert someone was in the lobby. The innkeeper gave us a brief introduction. He showed us the room where breakfast would be served in the morning.I had noticed an almost empty jar of peanut butter on the cabinet . You could tell by the way the sides of the jar were scraped clean There were crumbs on the tables. Obviously the table was not cleaned. He then showed us where the common room was that held books, a couch, 2 chairs and a tv. He told us tv was satellite only in the common room. Upon entering our reserved room with the innkeeper, the smell was very musty and offensive. The innkeeper had stated that this was a very old building. Our room was facing the main street. After the innkeeper left our reserved room for the night, my significant other had opened the window between the 2 beds for ventilation. I had gone into the bathroom and found a window open for ventilation. Unsure how long the window was open. In the shower area there was an almost empty (about 2 tbsp left of product) full size bottle of Zest. Underneath the vanity I found an almost empty bottle (about 2 tbsp left of product) of shampoo/ conditioner. Prior to going out to lunch we closed the windows for security. After returning from lunch, we had passed through the breakfast area again and the table was still dirty. Upon entering our room we opened the windows again for ventilation. My significant other had noticed the shower had mold in it. The toilet was dirty. The TV was not working. I had looked for the phone and there was no phone in our room. I had gone out to the innkeeper and told her the tv was not working and she had stated the tv only has 3 working channels and her husband is the one who knows how to fix it and he was out on an appointment. We were not told that our tv did not work when we were shown are room, we were not told of mold in the shower, we were not told that there was no phone in the room. There was an old hair tie on the floor from a prior guest?, there was a bug underneath the cloth-like shade in the room and the cloth-like shade was held together with a safety pin. This room was disgusting. I was afraid to turn the bedspread down in fear of discovering something. My significant other and I had gone out to the innkeeper to express our concerns and she flatly refused any reimbursement even after inspecting the room with us. My significant other finally made his point and she gave him $48 reimbursement. (We only washed our hands in the room, guess we paid $48 for soap and hand towel) A word to the wise: please inspect your room completely prior to the innkeeper leaving when she/he accompanies you to your reserved room. Because, the female innkeeper stated that my significant other would haved receive reimbursement if the innkeepers were made aware that the room was unacceptable when we were first shown our room.!!! There is more but hopefully this is enough for the next person thinking of this B&B to stay in the future. This was a terrible experience. Pictures to follow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubergiste7787, Owner at Auberge de Stowe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

First we would like to apologize for the hair tie found on the floor; we can understand this leading to the impression of lack of attention to detail. We will be more diligent. We can shed light on most of the other details of the review by sharing our chosen approach to innkeeping:
Our goal is to offer the Stowe visitor the most affordable bed and breakfast experience in town with the lightest impact on the environment.

To be able to be the least expensive B&B in Stowe at $89/night (which is the room that the guests booked), we do all of the work ourselves without a salary, including breakfast prep and service, housekeeping, laundry, bookkeeping, marketing, repairs and maintenance, lawn & garden...much of this is accomplished between 10:30AM (checkout) and 3:30PM (check-in). When a folks try check in early without prior arrangement, the breakfast tables may have crumbs on them. We usually spend an average of 20 minutes on a check-in, and in this case Shawn discussed specifically the local micro-breweries, as well as Arbotrek Adventures, for which the guests had a reservation the next day. He was not brief. He was now 20 minutes behind in the work that needed to be done before 3:30PM.

We do not offer cable or satellite TV in the guest rooms. The TVs get 3 over-the-air stations which guests use for the news and weather, and we also have movies available to play. Admittedly, these are tricky to use since the advent of digital TV, and we will probably get rid of them all together to avoid confusion. Our website makes no mention of TVs.

We do not offer in-room phones. We never have. Most B&Bs don’t. With most people travelling with a cell phone, this would be an unnecessary expense, and anathema to the B&B experience.

In order to minimize our impact on the environment, we line-dry our laundry. Despite our best efforts, insects on occasion find their way into the house by piggy-backing on a sheet. In the country, they also find their way in every time the door gets opened. (Line-drying also prolongs the life of our linens, serving our first goal.)

Every room has a wrapped bar of “hotel size” soap, as well as a standard-sized liquid soap dispenser, which is replaced when close to empty. This reduces soap waste as well as packaging waste. If this is offensive, the choice of individually wrapped bar soap exists. Most folks arrive from their homes by car, bringing their favorite toiletries. We provide a full size shampoo for those who need it.

We feel very fortunate to live in a safe place where after a long winter, we can--and do--let in the fresh air. After the heat gets turned off, this helps dry showers, damp towels, and floors after they are scrubbed and mopped. If we did not do this it would be very damp and favor the growth of mold. We have no objection to guests using locks and closing windows if they feel unsafe.

Finally, we feel these guests were just a bad match for our B&B. We offered to to find them accommodations in another Stowe B&B, but they chose instead to go the Best Western. After we reminded them that we had been saving that room for 5 weeks, and that they had in fact used it for about 4 hours (making it unlikely we’d be able to re-rent it after cleaning it), we asked the gentleman what he thought was fair. He offered to pay ½ the cost of the room, and we agreed.

We do not misrepresent what we are, and we are certainly not filthy. This situation could have been easily avoided with more communication and research. We’re always happy to speak with people at length about our accommodations, and we’d rather see folks stay at place where their expectations match the property’s offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
3.8 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#14 of 24 in Stowe
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
178 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Stowe

Address: 692 S Main St., Stowe, VT 05672
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £82 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de Stowe 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Something for everyone at our European style Bed and Breakfast. Walk to the village shops and restaurants, ride the free shuttle bus to the ski slopes, enjoy a glass of wine by the wood stove or a soak in the outdoor hot tub after your hike. Your host will be happy to share all of their area knowledge with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Stowe Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing