We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gables Inn

Gables Inn
Ranked #47 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The ultimate Stowe breakfast, visit here every time when over from the UK. Typical Vermont style cooking from pancakes to Steaks

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank reesvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a great place to go for breakfast. Food is excellent, and they have a nice porch. I had eggs, bacon, etc. and it was very yummy. They serve good coffee, too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine3326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stopped around 9:45 to have breakfast today. Being a Saturday, I was not surprised that we had to wait. I was surprised that we had to wait to be acknowledged. I had stopped a server (who walked by us twice without speaking) to ask if we needed to wait to be seated. She gave me a curt "yes" and moved on. We were passed by a different server who also ignored us. After a few minutes an older woman came up to us and just stood there looking at us while my daughters prattled away, apparently too polite to interrupt to explain that she was the long lost hostess/manager/maybe owner. So I asked her if she would be able to seat us, to which she replied that she would, but they were very busy, and two of her tables outside were unusable because of heavy rains the night before. Silence. Is the empty table on the porch reserved? Yes. I asked how long approximately would we have to wait (riveting, isn't it?). Fifteen to 20 minutes. Ok, we'll wait. She did bring us a pot of coffee to drink in the parlor (finally a point in the "positive" column). So over the next 25 minutes or so, she proceeds to seat three different parties who walked up because they had stayed there at the inn and their breakfast was included in the price of their stay. I understand seating the first party if they had a table reserved, but the second two parties? Either they should have reserved a table or have to wait along with other paying customers (or be served in another area altogether). Don't tease hungry people (who are not "morning" people) by slowly clearing and resetting a vacated table and then handing it to the next party who saunters down stairs past us. Plus, there were empty tables inside the restaurant. A couple of those should have been used to make up for the 2 four-tops outside that weren't usable. Anyway, I realized that I would rather have a mediocre meal at a place that is welcoming and tries to be accommodating, than have a fabulous meal where one is treated as an inconvenience. We left and went to the Dutch Pancake Cafe (which was very tasty!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth trying, but getting a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been coming to Stowe for 25 years and it had been quite a number of years since we did Breakfast at the Gables. The place was looking a little beat up. The food was pretty good, but not exceptional. The outdoor dining on the porch is very pleasant. The staff was very friendly. A nice place for breakfast, but not one we're likely to visit again, just because there are other wonderful places to eat in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A great hearty breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

WE have eatne here many tmies and each time has been great. The Gables breakfast is hearty and filling and the service is very attentive w/o being intrusive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jposterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing