We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bar in a Wonderful Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whip Bar & Grill

Whip Bar & Grill
Ranked #6 of 100 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Bar in a Wonderful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Whip Bar & Grill is located in the very quaint and historic Green Mountain Inn. Although we did not eat at the Whip, I enjoyed some very nice wine and their large selection of Vermont brewed beers. This was a great place to unwind with a drink. Try the cheese plate!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    334
    110
    41
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We ate here for dinner and breakfast. Good service, gluten-free friendly, food was tasty, loved the atmosphere. A great option for meals in Stowe.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VBeeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“6 min late”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We arrived for our reservation 6 minutes late and they were about to give away our table. The food was not especially great either

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank WHITNEY_MMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
171 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better than average.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The restaurant has a warm, cozy feel and the service was great. I had a delicious acorn squash risotto; my husband ordered the prime rib chef's special but unfortunately they ran out as the waiter put our order in.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CathieS42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Gave it two chances...Not going to try for third time's a charm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I gave the Whip two chances and unfortunately can't reccomend it. First experience I sat at the bar. Service was friendly enough but the food was not good. The scallops were over cooked and rubbery. By contrast, the beans they were served with under cooked. The apple cider brussel sprout side looked so promising and turned out to be bland and soggy. For the location, atmosphere and menu they are priced fairly. But after such poor food quality it was hard to pay such a price. I figured perhaps it was an off night. Try number two, I went with a group of five other friends. In this case the service was so slow. The server kept coming over and saying she would give us a moment even though we were seated well over 25 minutes and were wanting to order. We finally had to request that our order be taken to which we received a sarcastic response from our server. 5 out of 6 of us ordered the Filet, medium rare. All 5 of us got over cooked steak. Bland and expensive is my assessment of the Whip. There are so many better places in Stowe to try. Skip this one.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whip Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Whip Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing