We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”

Harrison's Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Harrison's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: the local mountain shuttle drops off just steps away from the restaurant. Check with your hotel front desk for updated route schedules
Description: located in historic Stowe village. Serving seafood, steaks, burgers and homemade desserts. Dinner nightly. Experience a local favorite in a cozy atmosphere. Patio dining on Main Street available in summer months
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have been there before and it is a great place for breakfast or lunch. Waitress was wonderful. Great pastries.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplestreet, Owner at Harrison's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the kind words but to not confuse guests visiting our review page, I must let people know that we do not serve breakfast or lunch, nor do we have delicious pastries (although our homemade desserts at dinner are amazing!) Thanks very much and we hope to see you for dinner sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    286
    90
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
352 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Last year we went to Harrison's and thought that the Chicken Piccata was excellent.

We are back in Stowe and eagerly looked forward to celebrating a special event at Harrison's last night. What a disappointment. The Chicken Piccata was fair at best. It had little taste. It seemed that they had just pour the Piccata sauce over a plain tasteless chicken breast. There were only a few mushrooms and not very many capers. And it was not a very big portion. We definitely didn't get quality or quantity for our money. I was hungry again a couple of hours after leaving the restaurant.

The mashed potatoes, mixed vegetables, and hot rolls were all very good, but we went there for the Chicken Piccata. We come to Stowe often and thought that we had found a dependable place to eat. We are very disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplestreet, Owner at Harrison's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear that your recent visit for our Chicken Piccata wasn't as enjoyable as last year when you visited. We always try to provide consistency to our customers and we apologize that we weren't able to do this. Hopefully you will visit us again next year for the Piccata and give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowe, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great all around restaurants for adults and kids as well.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Our only complaint is that it's hard to get in for dinner as they are very popular and not very big. We love this restaurant and so do our kids!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplestreet, Owner at Harrison's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for the review! Our small location does at times limit our seating availability but the good news is that with the summer season upon us, our Main Street patio will be open with 25 additional seats! We don't take reservations on the patio so it will allow guests to dine with us with a little more flexibility. The patio is covered and heated so even when the rain comes we will be ready to roll outside.
Thanks again and we hope to see you and the family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
417 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, Okay Food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The below-street-level setting of Harrison's is intimate and charming. A large stone fireplace dominates the room even unlit. The booths are cozy and there aren't many of them, so reservations are usually required. Staff is friendly. The food, though, is just average, with fairly standard offerings. For a good meal in Stowe, there are many better choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best meal of our us trip”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The food at Harrison's was the best we had during our stay in stowe. The wine was also amazing!! Just make sure you book!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrison's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Harrison's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing