We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Hotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We’ve stayed here 3 times and love this hotel. It’s certainly not cheap, but there’s a good amex discount, which seems to be valid all year round and has no blackout periods, which is usually the most frustrating thing with most seemingly great special offers.

We are a family of four and have comfortably stayed in Ridgeline & Timberline suites and while not huge, they are big enough and there’s plenty of storage space and pegs etc to hang ski gear.

You’ll certainly find cheaper places to stay in Stowe, but we figured that the premium is worth the price to stay at the foot of the mountain and within minutes of the lifts and ski school and, anyone with children to get up and ready in the mornings, will surely empathise with that daily struggle. The ski school in Stowe is excellent btw.

The hotel has a spa, pool and also a games room for children and the food is very good, although the casual dining in the bar area is actually far better than the main restaurant. It’s easy to stay here all week, but when you’ve stayed here for the 3rd time you might wish they were a bit more imaginative with the menu and had more specials, introduced new things and switched things around a bit, but you won’t be disappointed the first time you stay. There are also some good restaurants in Stowe, but all are a drive away back towards the village….Piecasso is great.

Staff are attentive and the guys running the ski and car valets are terrific.

The one black mark, for which there really is no excuse in a hotel at this price point and management should and could so easily deal with is the lack of connection between their various departments… there is clearly no connection at all between housekeeping and room service, to the extent that you will often see trays of food left outside rooms that are there when you go out in the morning and still there when you come back at the end of the day. This is not a rare sight and simply not good enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarienBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,664
    540
    222
    93
    45
See reviews for
1,095
889
50
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Enjoyed 4 nights during mid September for a business conference. The staff and service were excellent. The company functions were without fault and the food and beverage were top notch. The grounds were well maintained and the pool area was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrylict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a fantastic hotel! We stayed there for two nights as part of of coach tour 'The Colours of New England'. Our room was a studio with amazing views of the hills that provide the winter ski slopes from our private balcony. Fireplace, sofas, kitchen area complete with diswasher and bathroom with walk in shower as well as a good size bath tub. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - meeting us outside with umbrealls when we returned in the rain. The food in Solstice was good, and the service excellent. We would love to go back in winter and see the hills cloaked in snow. That's one for another year!

Room Tip: Book a studio if your budget wil stretch that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for such a fabulous review of Stowe Mountain Lodge! You came at an incredible time of year with the foliage just glowing. I'm glad to hear that our bell and valet teams were able to help you off the bus during the rain and am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay that much. We hope to welcome you back again, hopefully for that winter vacation!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My girlfriend and I made our first trip to Stowe for her birthday. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Stowe Mountain Lodge. The accommodations are top notch, rooms are clean, views are tremendous, and her birthday dinner at Solstice was fantastic. We will definitely go back, as there many things we didn't get to do and explore, simply because we ran out of time.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We really did enjoy our stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge. We stayed in a Studio suite which had a great fireplace and beautiful view of the mountain. It's in a great location close to downtown. The only drawbacks were the food (not great- especially for the price, the staff in Solstice (hotel restaurant) were not at all friendly and the cost. If you are looking to save a little dough and not spend a lot this isn't the place for you. That said, the spa is great (massages- ask for Rebecca!) and the environment is peaceful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuliePLakeGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Stowe Mountain Lodge with fellow travelers. We designed all of our rooms and suites with touches like the fireplaces and kitchens to help you feel at home while in residence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We love to stay at the beautiful Stowe Mountain Lodge with our family in the summer, enjoying the amazing mountain and all it has to offer. The children love the fabulous pool. This fall we returned to the SML for a glimpse of fall and were rewarded with leaf color, sunshine, and a new menu at the Solstice restaurant. The focus on "green" and the presence of Vermont farm to table offerings made the trip as special as ever. Who needs winter at a ski resort! This year-round venue is always a treat. You can search their website for special/seasonal offerings and can count on great service, beautiful rooms, and a delightful experience.

Room Tip: Use SML website and see the photo of the room; also, check the Lodge for the orientation of the room...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent Green Venue - consistent and positive environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfdivaVenice_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The Stowe Mountain Lodge is located high up on the mountain; we actually thought we missed it, because we drove past all of the other hotels - including the Stowe Mountain Resort, which has an unfortunately similar name.

The lodge is grand - movie set ready, with an inventive mix of modern and classic rustic. The main lobby, which is elevated from the check in area, boasts a wall of windows looking directly at the mountain. Although it is fall, I imagine its even more spectacular in the winter. The room has rustic rocking chairs as well as cosy nooks where groups can congregate and sip drinks.

The drinks were excellent - although pricey (NYC prices), as one would expect at a hotel of this level. Our room was amazing - also with a mountain view. It was larger than a typical apartment, with a huge foyer (marble tile) and a bathroom straight out of a magazine: huge marble soaker tub, separate huge glass shower, and high end toiletries. The loo was in a separate small room, making sharing a bathroom easier. Oh - and they had a scale - a really nice touch, although I declined to use it and ruin my trip:) The beds were too comfortable, as evidenced by my falling asleep at 8:30! One small but annoying detail was that the coffee pot (old school, not Keurig) was located on a dresser that had no outlet anywhere near it. I had to move it to the foyer floor in order to brew up enough caffeine to get to breakfast. It's surprising that any detail like that one was overlooked in this well planned resort.

There is a heated pool and hot tub, both of which are lighted at night. Other than that, there is not much to do other than relax. I had called ahead to ask if there were guided hikes and was assured there was. We packed accordingly, but when we arrived were told that they are off property, start at 9 in the morning and do not run every day! A disappointment.

We had an uneven food experience. We were not hungry enough for dinner, so opted for the bar menu: buffalo wings and lobster fritters. We asked for the wings well done, or crispy. The wings were undercooked to the point that they couldn't be eaten, and the lobster fritters were so bread filled that there was no actual taste of fish of any kind. I thought it might be one bad example, so I cut all of them open to reveal...bread. Fortunately, the manager was fantastic, did not charge for the meal, and explained that our feedback will help the chef. Breakfast was delightful - and included in the room price; we had applewood bacon, pancakes with maple syrup and eggs - all were excellent.

This hotel is dog friendly, so if you have allergies, it might be a problem. Overall, a grand hotel, a huge treat and a beautiful escape.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
185 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
6.1 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#4 of 24 in Stowe
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing