We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious And Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stowe Mountain Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious And Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stowe Mountain Lodge goes above and beyond in every way. From the moment you arrive, the staff treats you like royalty....or something close enough. Your needs are met in every way. The ski valet is especially helpful and the concierge can help you find anything you're looking for. If it's not available in the lodge, she'll find it for you in town. The restaurants are excellent. especially Solstice. I strongly recommend the cheese plate as an appetizer. The breakfast buffet is also fantastic. For the snobs like me, there's a small Polo store on site. I'd forgotten my gloves at home so it was nice to be able to pick up a replacement pair right in the lodge. As far as the rooms go, they are fabulous, especially the newly remodeled bathrooms.
A five star experience all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms in the South Wing have gorgeous early morning views of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    532
    219
    87
    45
See reviews for
1,071
873
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is definitely 5 star. Amazing in everyway. I felt pampered. We were fortunate to have a lovely 2 bedroom /2 bath with circular living room /balcony that overlooked the pool. I love Stowe village as well. Food choices include something like 45 restaurants. The skiing over thanksgiving was terrific considering how early in the year we were. No ice! Only powder although limited terrain as one might expect. Super friendly people. Totally different feel from other Vermont ski resorts like Killington. Def a great place for a family. Def a splurge though, bring money bags lol

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MameAndTheKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed at the SML with some colleagues for a retreat and had a wonderful time. The Lodge is modern and inviting, although the road sign is difficult to see at night. We enjoyed our rooms, and were simply amazed by the wonderful bathrooms, what bathtubs! Dinner was good, although the menu wasn't that exciting, service was great. My only complaint was a room near ours had an alarm going off starting at 5:00 am. I called the front desk and it was quickly resolved, however was unable to get back to sleep.

The meeting room was fantastic, lots of natural light and a great view of the mountain. Food was excellent with interesting break options (wasabi peas, yogurt pretzels, popcorn etc). You could hear another group through the airwall which was a bit distracting.

I would most certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for joining us at Stowe Mountain Lodge for your company retreat. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the snack selection during your meeting and the natural light in the conference space. Thank you for all feedback and we hope to welcome you back shortly for your next Stowe, Vermont vacation or meeting!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at SML from Dec. 15-18 and from start to finish, the service was impeccable and the staff were incredibly helpful and nice. We stayed in a one bedroom suite and it felt a bit tight at first but we quickly adjusted to the coziness. The outdoor heated pool was a bit chilly but once we got to the hottub it was relaxing especially when it was snowing. Since I'm not used to valet, I didn't know what to think about the mandatory valet, but it was convenient and the valet staff was pleasant and very helpful.
One helpful advice I can give is to go out to dinner before 8:30pm. All of the restaurants in the area were closed at 9pm. Luckily the kitchen at SML is open late and we got a burger and pizza, which were delicious.
If you have dogs, SML is a perfect place to stay. Even if you don't have dogs, it's a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely take advantage of their upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supahaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in. I wanted to book for a ski holiday next year before we had got through our first evening here. The service is astounding and it is so genuine. I love that our skis are looked after by the ski valet and my boots are dry and warm in the morning. I love the huge bed with wonderful silky linen. All the products in the bathroom are real quality, the little kitchen is well equipped, I could go on and on. We ate in the Hourglass bar on the first night. I had forgotten how large American portions are. Just what we needed after a long flight, and the local draught beer ........wow! This is my idea of heaven and I can't wait to come here again.

Room Tip: If you are self catering make sure you sort some provisions before you come up the mountain
See more room tips
Green Features: I can't praise the hotel enough for its greenness. It really works!
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Hearing you say Stowe Mountain Lodge is the most amazing hotel you've ever stayed in is the best compliment we could receive! Thank you for such a glowing review. We hope to be able to welcome you back for your next American getaway.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the lodge for the labor day long weekend. We brought our mountain bikes with us, and the valet parking service was really convenient. They mounted the bikes for us on the car whenever we needed them. Just a simple call to the front desk, our car with bikes were all set to go.

The information desk at the lodge was also very helpful. It was the first time we went to Stowe, so we need some suggestions about where to go. The nice lady is very resourceful and patient. She showed us hiking and biking trials of different levels on the map, and gave us driving directions. We really enjoyed the trip.

The lodge also provides very nice eating options. The restaurant there has a good selection of local beer and food. After a full day's hiking, we return to the lodge for a relaxing hot tub. It was really a pleasant experience. Another plus for this place is their bed is super comfortable. The mattress is very good, and the sheets and covers feel so smooth and soft, you will have a sound sleep for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yicai D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I don't ski and we visited just before a major holiday (they were making snow like crazy in anticipation of the upcoming holiday week) but the location of this Lodge and the beauty of the area is one of the best overall locations in New England.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEG311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
5.2 mi away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowe Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowe Mountain Lodge

Property: Stowe Mountain Lodge
Address: 7412 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672-5179
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stowe
#1 Green Hotel in Stowe
#1 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#2 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stowe Mountain Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stowe Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowe Mountain Hotel Stowe
Stowe Mountain Lodge Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing