We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Commodores Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edson Hill(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,960)
Filter reviews
2,960 results
Traveller rating
1,918
615
261
111
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,918
615
261
111
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski valetsolstice restauranthourglass bartimberline studiovalet staffski schoolzip linemountain lodgeone bedroom suitebeautiful resortgondola ridespruce peakoff seasonheated poolski resorttop notchfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
1,997 - 2,002 of 2,960 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The Lodge is a wonderful hotel with many amenities. We really enjoy the ski in/ski out and ski valet. We stayed in a studio, which works well for us because it has a small kitchen that allows us to make a quick breakfast before going out on the mountain. The buffet breakfast in the hotel also is nice. We were there on President's weekend and so it was crowded. The inconveniences from this were generally minor. The outdoor pool was a little colder than I recall on our last trip. The hot tubs were crowded but we could always find space. The valet parking is generally nice, but sometimes it is more convenient to just go to you car and get on your way. Given the crowds, we did have to wait at times for our car. The lobby sitting areas are very nice, but because of the crowds on a holiday weekend, I did not see any seats when we returned from skiing. Overall this is a very nice hotel with convenient access to the slopes. However, the room prices are somewhat high.

Room Tip: For a ski trip, I would not pay more money for a room with a view. We were facing the gondola and it was fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iloveoldsaybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Once again, we took a short (but sweet) trip to SML for a break. And again, we had a great room, and the staff were wonderful. Everyone was very helpful and friendly and flexible with requests. New for us was adding skiing to the mix, and it was amazing how easy it was to get right on the slopes. My 7-year old loved the gondola we could ride to quickly cross over to the other side of the resort. The ski facilities and amenities are superior. This resort is great for both families and adult time! Every time we stay we get such great sleep ...must be the amazing beds and sheets and the mountain air...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for sharing such a great experience of Stowe Mountain Lodge! We are very excited to hear about families enjoying the great skiing Stowe has to offer. We look forward to your return to the Lodge.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a lot of fun at this hotel. The room we stayed at was clean, the staff was really nice and the heated pool and hot tubs were well enjoyed by the family. The problem is that the food was terrible. The food at Spruce Lodge during the day is expensive but great and we love having lunch there but the food in the actual hotel (Spruce Lodge closes at 5pm) was terrible. I would have rather left and gone into Stowe town where there are so many amazing restaurants but the whole reason why we stayed at the Lodge was so we had a weekend of no driving. An example is that at the bar restaurant we ordered Poutine which I was excited to get outside of Canada. In the description it even said fries, cheese curds and gravy. Well, we got cheese fries - no gravy. Hamburgers we gross - even the kids didn't like the food. I love Stowe but we will stay closer to town rather than the lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for a few days during Presidents Week. We were 2 adults and 1 Child (12 years old).

The pros are : Very convenient ! Even the ski rentals were easy - We walked next door and had no wait at all - the staff at the rentals were very nice and they even sent our skis to the ski valet for us since we were not skiing until the next day. This was the easiest ski rental that I have ever encountered.
There are chair lifts basically right outside the door or you can go on the gondola (also right outside the door to go to across to another part of the mountain).
The cleaning staff - cleaned our room 2 times per day. Once in the afternoon - then a turn down service in the evening.
The fireplace in the room was a cozy touch.
Every one of the staff that we encountered was very nice and accommodating.
The ski lodge at the bottom of the hill near the hotel was a great choice for lunch - amazing salads, sandwiches etc.
The Cons - Our room faced the pool and was a little loud at some points during the day - lots of screaming kids in the hot tubs.
Another thing that bothered me was the bottom sheet on the bed would not stay tucked in and I woke up every morning on the mattress pad (yuck) - I'm not sure if the sheet was not big enough or what.
The pool itself is beautiful but is not particularly warm so everyone crowds into the hot tubs.
It was pretty expensive Presidents week - $675 for a room with 1 king bed and a pull out couch.

Overall - we really liked it and would stay there again !

Room Tip: I don't recommend the pool view - can be loud
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHill70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Stowe Mountain Lodge. When designing the rooms, attention was paid to the extra touches to make the rooms feel cozy including the fireplaces and high end linen. I apologize for the issue you had with the sheet coming untucked. We have looked into that to ensure it will not happen again. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The place has lots of potential, but definitely some issues that make it not worth the 700$ price!
Pros
- good ski in ski out access
- staff was friendly
- well sized exercise room.
- good room cleaning
- all in all, we had a great vaca, but here is what the hotel could improve on if they want to go from good to great.

Cons
- when you pay rates like this, don't ask for another $25 to use the hot tub / sauna!
- weird breakfast arrangements - we were advised to use a cafeteria that is several hundred feet away outside. There are also some bagels and burritos in the lobby however.
- Pool. they have a large outdoor pool that is open, but too cold to be usable on many winter days. Strangely, to get to one of the hot tubs, you have to swim across the pool. Stranger still is that the changing room for the pool accommodates one person (or a close couple I suppose) at a time. There is no proper locker room per se. On one of our visits there were no towels either.
- the heavily trafficked hallway that connects the main wing to the common area has several sharp zig zags in it that cause continuous traffic jams and near collisions during high traffic times. It is as though the architect didn't think about how to connect the 2 buildings until they were already in place.
- ski valet - a great idea, with hard working staff, but it needs to be 3x as big
- car valet - also a good bunch of people, but at check in we were told to call down 15 min before we needed car, when we did this, they said sorry you have to be in the lobby to use the valet. We were a bit late for our dinner reservations because of this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purgatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoweMountainLodge, Manager at Stowe Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your observations from your recent visit! We enjoy providing a unique experience to our guests at the base of Mount Mansfield. Easy ski in/ski our access make for a wonderful stay and a great working environment.

The access fees for the steam room and sauna provide for true luxury level services and experiences for our guests. Access is complementary with purchase of a spa service, of course!
While the Lodge realizes peak season during President’s Week, we pride ourselves in offering phenomenal ski conditions and more personalized services throughout the remainder of the season. Please feel free to contact me directly with any questions and inquire with Reservations as to when a return visit may offer a more personalized experience.

Regards,
Matthew Quick
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews