We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the quintessential image and impression of Vermont Inns and hospitality.”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is the quintessential image and impression of Vermont Inns and hospitality.”
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

What a delightful and totally relaxing environment for a weekend getaway. Skiing or just hanging out this IS the place. Tradiditional beauty, history and Vermont tradition captured perfectly in this setting. Add to the setting some of the sweetest staff and perfect service and I have to say that it is a beautiful place to enjoy yourself and totally relax. Spotlessly maintained from the sauna and heated outdoor pool(four seasons) to The Whip which provided a fine dining service with wonderful warm service, and this is the perfect location to take in the beauty of Vermont. Romantic setting and gorgeous Fireplace and jacuzzi suite, tastefully decorated with amazingly comfortable and crispy clean four poster bed. need i say more? Definitely a must re-do for us. Cheers and five stars to Josh and the team at The Green Mountain Inn:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_cayuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
The biggest compliment we can receive is learning from a guest that they are planning to return! I am so happy to learn that our staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable and that the ambiance and relaxing atmosphere of the Green Mountain Inn created a memorable stay for you. It would certainly be my privilege to welcome you back again in the future and I thank you for your gracious review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    426
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
368
1,022
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We traveled to Stowe and the Green Mountain Inn for our 25 wedding anniversary get-away. I can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. From the minute we arrived, I knew we had chosed correctly.
The desk staff were friendly, helpful, and always ready to answer any questions. The hotel is very quaint and cosy.

Our room was just amazing, and we felt right at home. The Whip Bar and Grill was just what we had read about. We had lunches both days here and the food was spectacular. As well, the breakfast offered in the morning was equally as wonderful, with amazing and helpful waitstaff.
The fitness room was clean and accessible, along with the jacuzzi. I have to say, the heated pool open in the evenings in the winter months was a treat! That really made the weekend extra special. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and am, in fact, planning on returning!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
What a wonderful way to spend your 25th wedding anniversary; just relaxing and enjoying the spectacular surroundings of Stowe and the Green Mountain Inn! Happy 25th Anniversary from all of us! I am truly appreciative of your gracious review and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff, as I’m sure it will make their day. Thank you for your kind recommendation and I am looking forward to greeting you again soon!


Patti Clark

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My husband's retirement vacation at The Green Mountain Inn was especially enjoyable & memorable because of the Inn's old world charm and comfort. Our suit in The Mansfield House was luxurious with a large soaking tub and fireplace. We enjoyed the delicious food and atmosphere at both The Main Street Dinning Room and The Whip. The country breakfast was delicious and plentiful. It was a fun and unique experience swimming in the Inn's outdoor heated pool on a cold Nov. night. The Inn has a rich history that is captured nicely in the museum style photographs throughout the Inn. Stowe is a quaint Vermont town with shopping and attractions you can take advantage of at a leisurely pace, which was a perfect way to spend our special occasion. We had a wonderful time and look forward to staying at the Inn again sometime!

Room Tip: King suit with a soaking tub by a fireplace is VERY romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
I am truly honored that you chose the Green Mountain Inn to celebrate such a momentous occasion in your life. Please extend our best wishes and congratulations to your husband on his recent retirement. It makes me very happy to read that you appreciated our efforts to preserve the wonderful history that makes our Inn such a unique and wonderful place to stay. Your many kind comments will be passed along to each of our staff and I look forward to having you stay with us again very soon. Thank you for your gracious review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We love this place! From the moment you arrive in beautiful Stowe you see the Inn and it's so warm and inviting. Everyone who works at the Inn was friendly and genuine - and so helpful. The Inn has a wonderful 'you're at home' feel to it and we didn't want to leave. We had stayed at the Inn two years ago and we were so happy that our second stay was equally as wonderful as the first! You have everything you need in the room - we didn't hear a sound from outside the room and we all slept so well. We ate in the restaurant and the food was fabulous and the kids finished their plates as did we! After dinner the kids wanted to sit by the fire near the lobby and a lovely member of staff came along to show us where the games were for the kids - a really nice touch. We can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Making our guests feel at home is important to our staff at the Green Mountain Inn and I’m thrilled to hear that your experience describes just that. We know that small niceties can make the biggest difference, so details such as entertainment for families are just a small way to help our guests feel more comfortable while visiting. Your comments are sincerely appreciated as I’m always delighted to learn when our staff and accommodations have inspired a return visit. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon and I thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Patti Clark
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

My family planned to run away from the hussel and Bussel of life for a few days! Stowe was a great setting for quiet and family time. The inn contributed to that with a top rate! We arrived and were greeted by happy staff. We where given room 302. I highly recommend this room for families we where next to the pool and when we walked in we where so excited to have our own room and the kids had there own room with a bed for each of my kids and there own bathroom! It was a real treat to be able to have a little privacy! After going in the pool we hung out in a real game room with non electronic games so we could have real family time the room was lovely with a fireplace and a warm cozy feel! The area was centrally located to a market and shopping. We visited all of the local attractions and had dinner at the whip bar the jacuzzi and sauna were a treat and my family settled into the inn nicely! We look forward to returning to the inn and asking for 302!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
It sounds like the Green Mountain Inn has become your home-away-from home and that makes me very happy. Thank you for entrusting the care of your family to us and for choosing to stay with us. The quiet and serene atmosphere of the Stowe area can easily push away any worries of a busy day and we’re thrilled to have been part of a relaxing getaway for your family. Please come and stay with us again soon and I thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Patti Clark
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

This was our second visit to the Green Mountain Inn, we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary -- we had spent our 20th five years ago! We had looked at other well knowns in our area, the Mount Washington Hotel and the Woodstock Inn and just didn't think they provided what we wanted for the cost. Our room was in the Depot section, very quiet, very cozy and well decorated. We had a king size bed with gas fireplace, jacuzzi tub, green mountain coffee, terry robes....and they even suprised us with a plate of chocolate covered strawberries with a nice note from the staff. The person who checked us in was very warm and friendly, and the same at checkout. We love the breakfast! The waitstaff again, super friendly and made us feel at home. We had dinner the first night at the Whip Bar and Grill. Loved our waitress and the food was some of the best we've had at any restaurant. It's a little pricey, but quality and service makes it worth the cost. During this trip, we decided that we will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tacem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Knowing that your recent visit to the Green Mountain Inn has inspired you to return makes me smile! Please accept our sincerest Happy Anniversary wishes from all of us here at the Inn. I am thrilled to hear that your accommodations exceeded your expectations and that the personable service you received from our staff fully impressed you. I’d love to welcome you back for each and every anniversary and hope to see you soon. Thank you for your review.


Sincerely,

Patti Clark
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights during our Anniversary trip to Vermont. It was a great location, beautiful suite, many amenities, superb service and great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were in a seperate building to get a lovely suite. Easy walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaDockery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Happy Anniversary! I’m just thrilled that you chose to spend such a special time in your life with us at the Green Mountain Inn. Your gracious comments regarding our suites, dining options and convenient location are truly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your kind review.

Sincerely,

Patti Clark
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing