We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our Favorite Place to Stay in the Stowe Area"”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson,NH
Level Contributor
258 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“"Our Favorite Place to Stay in the Stowe Area"”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We love it here!!!!
Since last time we stayed at the Inn, they have been renovating. The pool area, not quite complete, but you can still swim, is going to be just beautiful. The area aside of the Mansfield House has been done over to a wonderful place to relax and read a book as you please. From what I understand they have weddings there, perfect!
We like to stay in the Mansfield Building, which by the way is just beautiful. They have painted and I believe papered the room as well.
The staff, well let me just say "It is like going home for vacation". Everyone is just like family. Tyler is awesome!! So is Patti and Paul. They cannot due enough for you to make your stay as pleasureable as possible.
The Housekeeping is also great. I like our room cleaned by noon, and everyday it was cleaned by then. Kudos to Sharon!

Room Tip: We always like to stay on the top floor. The Mansfield House has only 2 floors. They do have a whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
I always love hearing from our loyal, return guests and it was lovely to see you during your stay. The dedicated staff of the Green Mountain Inn strives to provide the most memorable and comfortable experience for every person who steps through our doors and I will be sure to share your compliments with them. We do think of our guests as family and we look forward to seeing them time after time. Thank you for your kind words and for mentioning our renovations. I can’t wait to welcome you back to see all the wonderful improvements!



Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    428
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,032
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our two-night stay began with a very helpful welcome by Kirkland who arranged a table at Harrison's across the street. Harrison's is deservedly number one in Stowe. Our 2 queen room was very comfortable with a clean, modern, spacious bathroom. GMI is located on Main St. in the heart of old Stowe and everything is nearby. We enjoyed hot buffet breakfasts each morning and the patio in the evenings. At $200 a night the GMI was not cheap but the people made it worth the stay,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
One of the most perfect ways to end an evening is to just be able to sit and relax in the cool night air on the porch of the Green Mountain Inn. I am happy to hear that your stay at our Inn was enjoyable and that our centric location made it easy for you to explore Stowe. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back very soon and I thank you for your kind review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I, as well as my son, daughter-in-law and their two children have been coming to the Green Mountain Inn for years. There is a sense of incredible peace that comes over us, as soon as we walk through the main entrance into the Lobby to the front desk. The staff is most interested in making our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Always available to answer any question about the entire Stowe area, and beyond. Through the years, we have been handled with complete professionalism and many smiles. The rooms, various sizes and amenities, depending on the type of room that is chosen, are always beautifully decorated, very clean and most comfortable. We love to stay in the Main House, but have stayed in other annex rooms and have found all to be just perfect. The afternoon tea, lemonade, and home made cookies served in the dining room at 4pm, are just so delicious and so traditional. The breakfast room is well appointed and well lite with a view of the village. The home cooked breakfast buffet and baked goods/pastries are fresh and expertly prepared. We have never had a bad meal in the Whip and enjoy that dining experience upon our early evening arrival. Weather permitting offers a relaxing outside dining patio. The surrounding restaurants in the Village, as well as on the Mountain Road are also quite nice and offer a varied mix of dining pleasure. Sitting on the upper deck or lower street level deck, offers comfortable rocking chairs and shade from the sun, while you take in the beautiful country village. The Mercantile Store next door is a General Store experience to top all others we have ever entered. Included is also a tasty breakfast and deli area with tables inside and out. The village offers more than just restaurants....an old fashioned ice cream pallor and chocolate making/retail experience, is across from the Inn and a stone throw away. To relax in the Inn's living room, is a step back in time and again, so peaceful. A modern work out room is on the grounds with great equipment. A luxury heated pool and sun bathing area that serves all ages. The area is being expanded to include an area for children and more relaxing lounge chairs. We can't wait to come back and see the finished product. In the past, I have enjoyed the heated pool, as a gentle snow falls. There is a game room on site for youngsters. I have witnessed Wedding parties be accommodated with ease. Again, we have never been disappointed and know many others outside of our family, who feel the same way. We look forward to our next get-a-way. Oh, by the way, ask about Antique Car weekend...to sit on the porch or be on the sidewalk to see the parade of all kinds of vehicles of all ages from near and quite far away, is a delight. Perhaps you will take in a play across the street...and don't forget to check out the Spa House across the way, part of the Inn Property. Most professional and relaxing...the best massage I have ever experienced....a couples massage is offered as well. The property also offers houses and family suites on site. Don't leave the Mountain Road without making a reservation at Trattoria La Festa, ....Tuscan Italian faire. Many great restaurants, that is one of our favorites. Ask to be included on the GMI e-mail list....many great weekend get-away options at various times of the year, and at really reasonable prices. Michael and Ina

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
What else is there to say? You have expertly and graciously covered exactly what it is we want our guests to experience at the Green Mountain Inn! If we can make the stay for each of our guests reflect your review, then we have succeeded and I absolutely appreciate you sharing so much of what makes your visits to our Inn so special. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and providing you with that sense of peace that you feel each time to visit us. Thank you for your amazing review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Eustache,Quebec,canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have visited GMI for over 20 years and have seen many little changes,but it has never lost its charm. We will still return, for all its seasons,love the room suites, sunny and bright and well decorated to the highest level. the WHIP is an excellent choice for a quiet diner outing. Ken and tina.

Room Tip: Corner suites are great and sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBOnekenOB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Much can happen over the course of 20 years and I am so happy to hear that the Green Mountain Inn is one thing that has been consistent for you over those years. I am so glad that we can continue to look forward to seeing you again and again and I thank you for your kind comments for our staff, accommodations and restaurant. Please come back and see us soon.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed many times at The Green Mountain Inn since my father relocated to Stowe. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the rooms of varying size and style are nicely down and clean. The food at The Whip is always great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWilliams467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
How wonderful that the Green Mountain Inn can be a comfortable experience for you while you are in town visiting your father. Thank you for taking the time to let me know how happy you’ve been with your stays and I look forward to seeing you soon.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just stayed at the Green Mountain Inn in Stowe, Vermont. The service was truly excellent. We had many questions as this was our first visit, and they provided us with information on bike rentals, a map of the town and Stowe Recreational Trail, and information on many other local hikes. They also provided us with recommendations for dinner. The Inn is located in a series of historic buildings in the heart of Stowe, so it's an easy walk to everything. Our suite had a separate bedroom and a pull-out couch for our son, plus a small kitchenette with fridge, oven, microwave and dishwasher, so it's perfect for a family. The fitness center was quite good, and they also have a year-round outdoor pool that they were almost finished renovating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChayaKagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
I am absolutely looking forward to welcoming our guests to the Green Mountain Inn once all the renovations are finished! It’s really going to create the most exceptional experience for everyone and I appreciate your kind acknowledgment of our efforts. I’m very happy to hear that you and your family were able to relax and enjoy your stay in Stowe and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwinsville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We have been visiting the GMI for years and absolutely love both the Inn and the town. We have stayed in all the different rooms over the years and this time stayed in the Pinnicle apartment in the Sanborn house, a property of the Inn. It was beautiful! The pool was closed one of the nights we were there, but no worries, there are lots of fun things to do in Stowe.

The breakfast in the main dining room was wonderful as usual- dont miss it! The staff is friendly, helpful and attentive. We had dinner in The Whip one night and it was delicious.

The Inn has a lot of history- they have photographs showing the history of the Inn in the hallway by the whip. We noticed they put an elevator in - good for us as we are getting older!

Love this place!!

Room Tip: The Pinnacle apartment is great for a family. It sleeps 6 and has a full kitchen. Classic rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
I am so happy to hear that your recent visit to the Green Mountain Inn was exceptional and I appreciate your loyalty over the years. Your stay absolutely describes just what we want for each of our guests – a relaxed, stress free stay where every need is met. The Pinnacle apartment is a great addition to our property and is perfect for families or groups that need a little extra space. Thank you for your lovely review and I look forward to seeing you soon!


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,248 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing