We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceeded our expectations!”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were so pleased with our experience at the Green Mountain Inn! We had never been to Vermont before and based on reviews, we chose Stowe and the GMI. We were impressed from the time we checked in until the time we checked out. The service there is top notch. We had all of our questions about restaurant and venue openings and closings answered with a quick call to the front desk. Massages were scheduled for us as well. We had a steak dinner at the restaurant that was very good as was the ambience.
Our room was cleaned everyday and even our dishes were loaded into the dishwasher. We stayed in the Pinnacle Apartment which has a full kitchen and TWO FIREPLACES! Definitely recommend this room/accomodation. Lots nearby to eat and see. Very quaint, beautiful, relaxed town and fantastic hotel. Couldn't ask for better!

Room Tip: Pinnacle Apartment has full kitchen and TWO FIREPLACES
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3girlsmom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I can see you fully enjoyed our Pinnacle Apartment and its 2 fireplaces! How wonderful! On top of enjoying your accommodations, I’m very happy to read that our staff quickly assisted you with any of your needs and that you were able to fully enjoy your first visit to our wonderful state. It would certainly be our pleasure to have you as guests again at the Green Mountain Inn and your review is truly appreciated by all of us. Thank you.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    426
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,023
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the Green Mountain Inn on eight previous occasions and have never been disappointed. On this visit we stayed in the Mill House over the Thanksgiving weekend.

Checkin was smooth and efficient, though in comparison with prior visits, I thought the person checking us in was less welcoming than on previous visits.

Our room was neat and clean, well-appointed with a plenty of space. The king bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. The gas fireplace was a nice touch. A large bathroom with a spacious jacuzzi tub was very nice. Wish the shower had been larger. It was very small.

There was a couch in the room that would benefit from new cushions; it was way too soft.

The meals here were fantastic, including Thanksgiving and several breakfasts in the Main Street Dining room.

Service every day left the room clean and neat.

We took advantage of the heated outdoor pool (it's 85 degrees) on a night when the air temperature was close to zero. It's a unique experience, but not for the faint of heart.
We'll definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobw235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
After so many stays at the Green Mountain Inn, it makes me very happy to hear that you continue to be impressed and look forward to returning. I do apologize for a lack of service at check-in and for any concerns you had regarding your accommodations. I will have our Housekeeping team evaluate the condition of the couch in your room and I thank you for pointing out its need for replacement. I look forward to seeing you soon and appreciate the time you took to post your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

From the first time we checked in.Kirkland was very professional and accommodating his customer service level is 5 star.The rooms are beautiful, spacious, modern and super clean. Any service request was taken care of immediatley. You can tell the General Manager of this Inn goes above and beyond to take care of the guest.The restaurant food was awesome flavorful with great portions.We didnt need to venture out thats for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve_betsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I am ever so grateful that you chose to recognize the efforts of the dedicated staff at the Green Mountain Inn. It was our pleasure to create the most memorable experience for you and happy to hear that you felt your stay was 5 star worthy! Thank you for your gracious review; come back and visit us soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, RI
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have been coming ot Stowe for 9 years now and have stayed at the GMI 2 years in a row. we like to try different places and so far have not found 1 place in Stowe that we do not love. GMI offered the conveniece of being in the heart of the town. We were glad to see Paul whom we met the previous visit. He is just wonderful and so charming. We had a delux room and found it very comfortable. The bathroom looked brand new and we apprecited that very much. We had a room on the second floor right in front, yes we actually did go out on the uptairs porchs several times even in November. We sat near the fireplace on the first floor and played chess and enjoyed wine. It was peaceful and relaxing. We also had drinks and dessert in the Whip and loved it. yet another wonderful time at GMI.

Room Tip: If you are not doing an internet special use your AAA card to get an added discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancydutra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I’m thrilled that you’ve had the chance to discover so many wonderful places throughout your 9 years of visits to Stowe. We love welcoming you back each year and are very happy that you chose to return to the Green Mountain Inn for a second time. Having the chance to relax and enjoy a game of chess sounds absolutely divine and I’m so happy that your stay provided you with some great memories. Thank you for noticing our recent renovations and come back and visit us soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My second visit to the Green Mountain Inn in past five years and on both occasions we have been very made so welcome. The most recent was on Halloween and was part of a whistle stop visit to New England. With so much to see sadly we were only were able to stay one night. We received the warmest of welcomes by Paul in full red Indian fancy dress and he was just so helpful and enthusiastic. Our room was immaculate with great facilities. That evening we dined in the Whip restaurant and again can only commend your excellent staff on what was a busy evening. A lovely meal was a highlight. The following morning we appeared to have lost our home keys and as we were about to fly home to the UK that evening panic ensued. We mentioned it at reception and Paul was just superb contacting the Lennox in Boston to see if we had left them in the safe. Eventually we did find them but it is exactly that type of customer service you should be very proud of. A special mention to Paul please for not only his very warm welcome help and thoughtfulness during our short visit. We will be back in the near future without any doubt. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldmod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your story with us. Misplacing important items such as your keys can absolutely ruin a vacation and I’m so pleased to hear that not only did you locate them, but our staff worked quickly to assist you in doing so. I will be sure to share your compliments with everyone, and especially with the specific staff member you mentioned. Thank you again for your gracious comments and I look forward to seeing you soon.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at the Green Mountain Inn at the end of October and we had an absolutely fantastic stay! We were greeted by Kirkland who was just delightful. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Complimentary smores by the fire too! This was our first visit and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear when our guests are entirely impressed with their stay and I’m grateful that you took some time to share your experience with us. Knowing that our staff made your first visit to the Green Mountain Inn an absolute joy makes me very happy and I can’t wait to welcome you back. Thank you for your review.


Patti Clark

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

After enjoying our first visit to the Green Mountain Inn we decided to go back. The second time around was every bit as good as the first. We stayed in a luxury suite in the Mansfield house. The room was extremely clean, well appointed, comfortable and luxurious with all modern amenities. Wonderful linens and bathrobes. Love the gas fireplace.
I can't say enough about the friendly and helpful staff. The front desk personnel were welcoming and helpful. The person who delivered daily cookies and cider was fun and friendly. The breakfast wait staff are wonderful and do a really great job. Absolutely high marks all around.
Highly recommend dining at the Whip, which we did two nights during our visit. Food is excellent and atmosphere is casual yet elegant.
If you're looking for an upscale, relaxing experience at a reasonable price you just can't beat this place!! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for a suite...they are not that much more expensive and are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HNLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind compliments for the staff, accommodations and dining options at the Green Mountain Inn. We strive to provide the utmost in service and ensure that each and every one of our guests are treated with the utmost respect and consideration, focusing on our commitment to customer service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our Inn very soon and I thank you for your gracious review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing