We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We ate in the Main Room restaurant of the Green Mountain Inn on both Thanksgiving day and on Christmas Day. On both occasions the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and the food was excellent. The decor and atmosphere in the restaurant was first class on both occasions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinmansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
The Main Street Dining Room offers guests a casual atmosphere and a place to fully enjoy a hearty Vermont-style meal prepared with local, fresh ingredients and served by attentive staff. Thank you for your kind compliments and for sharing your enjoyment of the Green Mountain Inn. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    434
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
376
1,040
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My boyfriend and I picked this hotel a little by chance since it was our first time visiting Stowe, and we feel lucky we stubbled upon this gem. The hotel was simply amazing and is officially our designated place to stay for our next visit to town. Who could resist a heated outdoor pool, great breakfast, outdoor fire pit (complementary smore kit avail. at the front desk), an abundance of free parking and of course very clean rooms (bed was like sleeping on a cloud) and a welcoming staff. Aside from the actual hotel its location was perfect, we could walk to restaurants, a park with a great tobogganing and many little shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodemoiselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are lucky ones – we get to welcome wonderful guests such as yourselves and make your stay in Stowe absolutely exceptional. I’m thrilled that you both had an enjoyable experience and had the opportunity to take advantage of the many amenities that make the Green Mountain Inn a special place to so many. Thank you for sharing your gracious comments with all of us and please come back soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We come to Stowe every year for Christmas and always stay at the Green Mountain Inn. The staff is top notch, the rooms are lovely, the food is excellent and the public rooms are charming and Christmasy. A great place for the holidays.

When many places are closed you can get a traditional dinner in the dining room or a relaxing meal in the Whip Bar. We opt for the latter.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Traditions are wonderful things, especially when shared with family and friends, and we’re so lucky here at the Green Mountain Inn to have an amazing extended family to share so many traditions with! I’m so glad to hear that your holidays were made complete by staying with us and I’m already looking forward to greeting you next year at Christmas time. Thank you for your lovely review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here during my first trip to Vermont and I probably wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I return to Stowe. Everything I could possibly need was walking distance from the hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and the room was great as well. The heated pool is an awesome bonus. We took advantage of it both nights we were there. The hotel is a short drive from the mountain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Welcome to Vermont! I’m so happy that you chose to stay with us at the Green Mountain Inn and had the amazing experience of enjoying our newly-renovated, outdoor heated pool. Who knew swimming outdoors in the winter in Stowe could be so much fun? I hope you’ll return to the area soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another amazing stay. Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is my second time to Stowe for work and I enjoyed the Green Mountain Inn this time. It's a quaint, New England type inn. The rooms are a little small, but very cozy and clean. They have a weekly wine tasting, which I was fortunate to be able to attend. The restaurant, The Whip, is right downstairs and is fantastic! There are some shopping stores and everything is within walking distance. The staff is very courteous and helpful. They even have a spa with a gym and pool on-site. I would recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
It sounds like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the amenities that make the Green Mountain Inn a great place to stay! I’m so happy to hear that your dining experience at the Whip Bar & Grill was outstanding and that the service levels you received from our staff were impressive. We’re all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for your kind comments.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After spending a TON of time researching all of the different places in Stowe to stay, I decided on the GMI for my girlfriend and I's 5 year anniversary weekend and I'm glad I did. Here's what we liked.

I booked our room on booking.com for a deluxe room at a great price. A few weeks later I called the GMI and asked for a better deal and they gave me one. A week after that, orbitz.com had a great deal for a luxury room. It was actually cheaper to upgrade than keep my original reservation so that made me happy. The luxury room was excellent. It was in a building in the main lot which was very quiet and only had 8 units total. Our room was big and had a two person jacuzzi tub and a gas fireplace. We could look out our windows onto Depot street (Room 705) and watched Santa get pulled into town on the wagon. This room put us in the center of everything and they were really accommodating. The only downside is that the actual shower is very small and there is only one sink - i was expecting two.

I ordered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne for the room when we got there. They also have an outdoor heated pool and a firepit with free smores.

Stay here - you're in the heart of downtown and you can walk everywhere really quickly. Parking is a breeze and free!

Room Tip: I would choose the luxury package if you can. Jacuzzi tub and a larger room. Room 705 is in the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonbellemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I am thrilled that the Green Mountain Inn surpassed your expectations. It certainly was a treat to have you spend some time with us, especially for such a special occasion as your 5-year anniversary! The central location of our Inn makes our guest’s stays in Stowe almost effortless and I appreciate you mentioning how much enjoyment it added to your experience. I look forward to greeting you again in the future and thank you for your thoughtful review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

First time visit: spent Thanskgiving weekend here with my boyfriend. Absolutely exceeded our expectations and would definitely return again. We stayed in a classic room. It was nice and cozy. If you're short, you may have to call the front desk for a foot stool to get in bed but they are provided at no charge. Clean, great service, and great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katyjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
It’s so nice to hear that your Thanksgiving holiday was made enjoyable by your stay at the Green Mountain Inn! Our high four-poster beds add so much to the true Vermont experience that our guest rooms provide and I’m happy so see you enjoyed them. Thank you for your kind compliments for our staff and for your review. I hope to see you again soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,266 reviews
4.0 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
164 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing