We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Mountain Inn was an oasis”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Green Mountain Inn was an oasis”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My teenage daughter and I recently decided to spend a quiet mother-daughter weekend at The Green Mountain Inn in Stowe, Vermont. It was an extraordinary weekend! Between the exceptional accommodations (including a cozy fireplace), fantastic food at their restaurant (The Whip), incredibly relaxing massages at their newly renovated massage facility and a peaceful and delicious buffet breakfast, we couldn't have had a better time. One of he highlights was their amazing fire pit where we were given specially prepared s'mores kits (marshmallows, graham crackers, chocolate, sticks and even wipes to clean our hands afterwards). It was so much fun to sit around the fire and melt our marshmallows, especially because it was cold and the fire kept us toasty warm. I highly recommend a weekend at the Inn. It is in the center of Stowe village so there's so much to do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Spending quality time with your daughter is priceless and I’m so happy that the Green Mountain Inn gave you that opportunity. It sounds like you had a great time just relaxing and enjoying a little pampering too! Your kind recommendation is sincerely appreciated and I know we all look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the Green Mountain Inn very soon. Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    426
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,023
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is beautiful and worth the price. We had a deluxe king room in one of the buildings in the back and it was one of the largest rooms I have ever had. It had a beautiful, large bathroom with a glassed in shower and earthy tile. Beautiful entryway with french doors, jacuzzi tub, fireplace and a 4 poster king bed. Also had a balcony. Parking can be tough late in the day. Our only issues were that the shower door leaked and our coffee maker did not work. We reported it to the front desk on the first morning of our stay in hopes that it would get fixed that day, but it did not. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joym126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
I’m so happy to hear that your stay at the Green Mountain Inn provided you with comfort and relaxation. Warming up in front of the fire or soaking in our luxurious Jacuzzi tubs is a great way to enjoy the winter in Stowe. I do apologize for any inconveniences that occurred during your stay and will have our Maintenance Engineers promptly look into what may have been the problem with the issues you mentioned. We all look forward to having you as guests again at our Inn and thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We ate in the Main Room restaurant of the Green Mountain Inn on both Thanksgiving day and on Christmas Day. On both occasions the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and the food was excellent. The decor and atmosphere in the restaurant was first class on both occasions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reinmansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
The Main Street Dining Room offers guests a casual atmosphere and a place to fully enjoy a hearty Vermont-style meal prepared with local, fresh ingredients and served by attentive staff. Thank you for your kind compliments and for sharing your enjoyment of the Green Mountain Inn. I look forward to seeing you soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My boyfriend and I picked this hotel a little by chance since it was our first time visiting Stowe, and we feel lucky we stubbled upon this gem. The hotel was simply amazing and is officially our designated place to stay for our next visit to town. Who could resist a heated outdoor pool, great breakfast, outdoor fire pit (complementary smore kit avail. at the front desk), an abundance of free parking and of course very clean rooms (bed was like sleeping on a cloud) and a welcoming staff. Aside from the actual hotel its location was perfect, we could walk to restaurants, a park with a great tobogganing and many little shops.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moodemoiselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are lucky ones – we get to welcome wonderful guests such as yourselves and make your stay in Stowe absolutely exceptional. I’m thrilled that you both had an enjoyable experience and had the opportunity to take advantage of the many amenities that make the Green Mountain Inn a special place to so many. Thank you for sharing your gracious comments with all of us and please come back soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We come to Stowe every year for Christmas and always stay at the Green Mountain Inn. The staff is top notch, the rooms are lovely, the food is excellent and the public rooms are charming and Christmasy. A great place for the holidays.

When many places are closed you can get a traditional dinner in the dining room or a relaxing meal in the Whip Bar. We opt for the latter.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenH224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Traditions are wonderful things, especially when shared with family and friends, and we’re so lucky here at the Green Mountain Inn to have an amazing extended family to share so many traditions with! I’m so glad to hear that your holidays were made complete by staying with us and I’m already looking forward to greeting you next year at Christmas time. Thank you for your lovely review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here during my first trip to Vermont and I probably wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I return to Stowe. Everything I could possibly need was walking distance from the hotel. The staff was incredibly friendly and the room was great as well. The heated pool is an awesome bonus. We took advantage of it both nights we were there. The hotel is a short drive from the mountain.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Welcome to Vermont! I’m so happy that you chose to stay with us at the Green Mountain Inn and had the amazing experience of enjoying our newly-renovated, outdoor heated pool. Who knew swimming outdoors in the winter in Stowe could be so much fun? I hope you’ll return to the area soon, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another amazing stay. Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is my second time to Stowe for work and I enjoyed the Green Mountain Inn this time. It's a quaint, New England type inn. The rooms are a little small, but very cozy and clean. They have a weekly wine tasting, which I was fortunate to be able to attend. The restaurant, The Whip, is right downstairs and is fantastic! There are some shopping stores and everything is within walking distance. The staff is very courteous and helpful. They even have a spa with a gym and pool on-site. I would recommend staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
It sounds like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the amenities that make the Green Mountain Inn a great place to stay! I’m so happy to hear that your dining experience at the Whip Bar & Grill was outstanding and that the service levels you received from our staff were impressive. We’re all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for your kind comments.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing