We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place! Stay here!”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Special place! Stay here!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Did a ski-stay package. What an amazing hotel that really pays attention to detail. The best part is the heated outdoor pool and hottub!! Perfect temperatures and just the right après-ski thing. Also...

-Amazing rooms nothing bad to say
-Beautiful decor in the hotel with fireplaces and vintage looking lounge areas
-Right in the center of town for great shopping and eating
-Complimentary afternoon tea and cookies
-Great breakfast buffet for reasonable price
-10 min from slopes
Nothing bad to say!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gaby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    428
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,032
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detmold, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Old but very, very nice and lovely place to stay. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms, excellent restaurant, extraordinary breakfast.
And all together located in lovely Stowe VT...
We loved it - every single minute of our stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ralf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I really am happy to hear that your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn was so enjoyable. Thank you so much for first, staying with us, and then letting everyone know how much you enjoyed the service levels from our staff, your accommodations and our dining options. I look forward to having you return very soon and I thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

My only complain is the lack of parking, the inns restaurant and breakfast are excellent! The inn is beautiful but a bit pricey. They make a homemade oatmeal bread that is to die for. Centrally located with a general store and gift shop too. We come here every year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriegirly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Isn’t our homemade Honey Oatmeal Bread something wonderful? I’m thrilled that you choose to return to the Green Mountain Inn year after year and even happier that we provide you with an exceptional experience each time. Thank you for sharing with us and please come back soon.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Booked for our wedding 4 months in advance, hotel had some communication problems but got thru it. Were very upset by breakfast pkg, the waitress told us buffet only which was incorrect and not very good. On last morning we were told the correct info. We also were only allowed to use small little dessert plates one day for breakfast buffet, they said regular size plates only allowed when brkfst is served upstairs. We also had 3 rooms, no idea why the pricing was what it was. The fancy "suite" was really the same size as regular room but a lot more money...then the 2 basic rooms were drastically different then each other but were the same price. Make sure you book room 408 and not 407 if you can. 408 was twice the size (even has a couch) and 407 is very small. Wish they had told us up front since we booked months and months in advance. We still had a great time but just wish communication had been better

Room Tip: Don't spend money on fancy suites, regular rooms are just as nice and a lot less money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I certainly do apologize for any confusion that was created regarding the breakfast selections that we offer. We offer a Continental Breakfast Buffet which includes all cold buffet items and then our Full Country Breakfast which includes everything from the cold buffet along with our hot buffet line and any orders through our kitchen. Regarding room sizes; being an Inn and not a cookie-cutter hotel, all of our room types vary slightly in size depending on their location. It seems there were areas within your stay where we could have improved and provided you better service and I hope that during any future stays we can do just that. Thank you for sharing your concerns with me.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A Gem in the heart of Stowe. Historical Inn has it all, Location, comfort, perfect bed linen, and spotlessly clean. I was not happy with the added 6% service tax. I tip generously and was insulted with the surprise 6%. I suggested they raise the price 6%. They refunded the charge. It was not about the money, it was about they way it was added to the bill. I'm happy to pay any price, that's upfront!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I’m so glad to hear that your stay at the Green Mountain Inn was comfortable. Taxes are never a happy subject, and I apologize if the service charge that is applied to each room was not clearly identified on your bill. The service charge is added to your bill for your convenience. It is shared by all hotel staff that provided services to you during your stay. Guests are advised of the charge at the time of booking, noted in the confirmation letter and also on the registration card presented at check-in. It is certainly a discretionary charge and we are happy to remove it from your bill, upon request. I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and I thank you for reaching out to me.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We visited Stowe last summer, but have only just got round to reviewing it!
When we arrived at the Green Mountain Inn we were greeted with a massive smile from the man on the front desk. It felt warm and welcoming.
It was a long walk to our room, but once there we felt extremely comfortable and chilled! The bed was massive and so was the hot tub bath (the bath was amazing!).
Breakfast was included in the deal and was very generous with a full menu. The french toast and pancakes deserve a special mention!

The village of Stowe is very charming. As it was summer, it was out of season for skiing but you could tell it is a ski resort by the chalet style buildings. The people of Stowe are very friendly, the shops are quaint and definitely have their own style!

I would urge anyone who is travelling around this area to stay at this hotel. It is central, welcoming and good value for money. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chucklepower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Your review has certainly captured us to a tee – warm, welcoming service, a comfortable home-away-from-home and friendly people – all waiting to welcome each and every guest to Stowe! Thank you for sharing such kind compliments and for your recommendation of the Green Mountain Inn. I can’t wait to welcome you back for another exceptional stay.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was our first time ever to Stowe, VT. We chose the Green Mountain Inn based on all the reviews we saw here on TripAdvisor. Our stay absolutely exceeded our expectations for our family. We ended up needing to arrive one day early because of bad weather - and although the room we had reserved for the long weekend was unavailable - they graciously found us a smaller room and it was easy to check in and then move to our reserved room the next day. Everyone from the bellman to the housekeeping staff went above and beyond to get us extra pillows, towels, and more since we were traveling with our two kids. We stayed in an apartment suite and it was very spacious and super comfortable for our ski vacation. The food in the Whip and in the main inn was delicious and fresh. The meals were outstanding. If your kids love to swim, there is nothing quite as fun as swimming in an outdoor heated pool in the middle of winter! It feels as warm as a hot tub and you feel like you're really up in the mountains. We did not mind being in town, in fact, we liked the charm of the town and the other local coffee shop and restaurants. If you have a family or want to enjoy a suite or apartment - the value for the price is awesome!! We booked our 2015 trip to the GMI before we checked out. It's a very relaxing and well staffed place to stay. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: The apartments are awesome! The Goat & Liftline or the Starr & National are huge and well ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suziek212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Knowing that the experience you had at the Green Mountain Inn has inspired you to plan your trip for next year makes me very happy. I love hearing that our guests plan on returning! It was absolutely our pleasure to make sure that your family was comfortable and well taken care of during your stay, and I’m so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our outdoor heated pool; it’s a unique experience! I can’t wait to welcome you and your wonderful family back again for another great stay and I thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing