We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spring getaway”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice spring getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in early May, which apparently for Stowe is the transition period from winter activities to summer, so many of the establishments in town were closed for renovations, upkeep, etc., including the bar and dining room in the Inn. However, breakfast was served in the dining room, and it was excellent. The ladies serving were so polite and friendly.... what a great way to start the day. The lodgings were good as well, but perhaps the thing that sticks out most is that every staff member we met was polite, friendly and enthusiastic. If I ever need a quick getaway from a too, too long Canadian winter again, I would welcome another stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 792ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
How wonderful that the staff at the Green Mountain Inn were able to provide you with a stay that took your mind off the exceptional winter that visited so many areas this year. You are correct; we are in a transition-like period, doing a bit of spring cleaning and sprucing up, just in time for warmer temps, and I’d love to welcome you back to experience Stowe in the summer. Thank you for letting me know how much you enjoyed your stay and for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    428
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,032
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Loved this place. It was our first trip to Stowe and the only thing that could have been better is if the restaurant was open (currently under repair). The staff was so helpful, recommendations on dinner, hiking trails, things to do, etc. It was a great experience and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I’m so glad to hear that your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn was so enjoyable. We’re working hard to get the Whip Bar & Grill refreshed and ready for our guests and May 9th, we’re anticipating being able to welcome everyone back for dinner. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our staff and their courteous service. I’m happy that your first experience in Stowe was memorable and I look forward to seeing you again.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Green Mountain Inn. It is the only hotel we will book when we go ski-ing in Stowe. The staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. The outdoor heated pool is fantastic as is the hot tub. Just one little suggestion is that you take something to put on your feet to get you from your room to the pool area as you have to go outside and it looks odd walking around with a robe on and boots !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddywack-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for the great advice for other guests! With the advantage of being able to enjoy our outdoor, heated pool year round, bringing a pair of shoes with you to the pool is a very smart idea. I’m so happy that each of your stays at the Green Mountain Inn have been fantastic and I look forward to seeing you each and every time you visit Stowe! Thank you again for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from 3 nights in Stowe, the Inn was a perfect retreat, but centrally located. He skied and I relaxed at the inn with a nice gym, great massages and close for shopping and dining the staff was incredibly helpful and pleasant. We will go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It sounds like your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn provided you with just what you needed! I love hearing that our guests get to relax and unwind when they stay here, because that is exactly the experience we want for everyone. I’m already looking forward to seeing you next year and I thank you for your gracious review.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in APril. The snow was still on the mountains and we could have gone skiing but it would have worked out quite expensive for a lesson and gear hire. The Inn is on the main road but the side rooms, we were in 210 are not noisy. The staff are really friendly here and the room which was a queen deluxe i think was very spacious.
The swimming pool was upgraded and there is an outdoor and indoor jacuzzi. Both are quiet this time of year. The gym is good and there is a small games room. We had a great time.
There is a great little diner behaind the inn which did good veggie burgers as well. Breakfast has been the best so far. Apparently, the banana bread is better than i make ! There is a little cinema in Stowe, the Ben and Jerry factory, and the cider mill as well as the Vonn Trapp family lodge which are all nearby.We had our first experince of walking on snow shoes here and called down to the Sugar House to see maple syrup being made.
We also ate a great pizza place called Picassos and there is even a cinema in the town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Well, your stay in Stowe was just chock-full of fun and exciting activities; I’m so pleased! I always love learning about the things that make our guests’ experiences so enjoyable and I appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed our outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the Green Mountain Inn very soon and I thank you for your kind comments.


Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had been working with the Green Mountain Inn to bring a group of skier up the Sugar Slalom at Stowe. Group reservations was helpful to organize our room block for 10 families. Our room was
perfect for our family of 4. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean and well appointed. Pool and hot tub outside was a great gathering area for everyone even though it was 30 degrees outside. Breakfast was good. The place seems to be a destination for other families attending the Sugar Slalom as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltonfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
The Sugar Slalom in Stowe is an annual tradition since 1940 and we’re always pleased to welcome participants to the Green Mountain Inn. We hope you enjoyed yourself at the race and welcoming the arrival of Spring to the area! It was our pleasure to assist with making your group as comfortable as possible and I’m glad you were able to utilize our soothing outdoor heated pool after a fun day on the slopes. Thank you for your review.


Patti Clark

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Located at the crossroads in Stowe, the Green Mountain Inn is classic New England - tons of atmosphere. Our room was small but reasonably priced. If you want a firm bed (and if you're going skiing you'll want one), make sure to ask for one at the front desk. Our mattress was soft and sagged in the middle.

Parking at the hotel was great. Easy to off-load and there was always a parking space.

Their restaurant, The Whip, has good but not great food. The restaurant's staff leaves a lot to be desired. We waited 10 minutes before someone came to the table, the drink order was wrong and then the food arrived so quickly we felt a little rushed. We recommend Harrison's across the street. There's a reason why you need reservations there. It's fabulous - service and food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWanderer1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I’m thrilled to hear that our central location worked out so well for you and happy that you chose the Green Mountain Inn as your accommodations during your visit to Stowe. Attention to detail is extremely important when it comes to providing our guests with an exceptional experience. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so that we may work harder to ensure that our guests’ needs are fully met and our service levels are outstanding. I certainly appreciate your feedback and hope that you will have another opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing