We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get-Away in the middle of a picturesque village”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Get-Away in the middle of a picturesque village”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Second trip here. Reception is courteous and helpful even checking me into my room before 10AM. Free wi-fi. Room was small but the full-size canopy bed was VERY comfortable (lots of different kinds of pillows too), but the bed is VERY high off the ground -- short folks be warned. Little porch right off the room overlooked the modest pool. I was here for a wedding and the staff seemed very invested in helping to make it a great day. I got hung up on the website and had to exit and start over. Otherwise, a fine experience. A great jumping-off point for exploring this area of VT. (Less than 10 miles north of Interstate 89). The entire village is walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of options in multiple buildings -- some antique and some very modern, some quiet, some right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I am so glad you took the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn and I hope you fully enjoyed the wedding you attended. You are correct; our staff makes it their highest priority to ensure that our guests have an exceptional experience and I thank you for noticing their efforts. I look forward to greeting you again in the future and thank you for your kind comments.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,213
    426
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
369
1,023
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend at the Green Mountain Inn for our first anniversary and were so pleased. Everyone was welcoming and helpful and the room was very clean. The room had many charming details of an old inn including a beautiful four poster canopy bed yet the bathroom was modern - a nice mix. We stayed in room 201 and were loved it. This room has a shared balcony overlooking Main Street that we enjoyed, but if you want complete quiet this might not be the room for you. What we loved most about the Green Mountain Inn was our ability to park our car for the weekend and walk everywhere. The inn is located near restaurants, the rec path (see my past review!) and cute shops.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 202 overlook main Street with a shared balcony.We loved it but it can be noisy and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrienneC470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
The convenient location of the Green Mountain Inn gives our guests the ability to enjoy the quaint village of Stowe just by stepping outside of their rooms. Taking a stroll about town is the perfect way to make sure you don’t miss anything; from amazing handmade craft boutiques to eccentric little bistros, Stowe has it all. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although I only had one night here, not nearly enough to fully explore and make the most of this wonderful property, I would certainly return.
Our group was split throughout several buildings, but all seemed to have amazing rooms and the most comfortable beds. I also recall the AC was perfection as I am always warm!
The room was large with jacuzzi style bath and amazing four poster bed. Also a fireplace for the cold nights if required.
I stayed in room 707 and could not fault it. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Wonderful pictures! Thank you for sharing. I am pleased to hear that your group enjoyed themselves while at the Green Mountain Inn. It was our pleasure to ensure that everyone had a comfortable stay and I hope that in the future, should you return; that you will be able to spend a little more time enjoying our Inn. Thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent a weekend vacationing in Vermont. We could not have picked a better choice for our stay than Green Mountain Inn. The suite we got (Spruce suite) was luxurious in every way, spacious with beautifully crafted furnishings and courteous, friendly staff. The place is conveniently located.The breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Spruce suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for sharing how much you enjoyed your getaway to Stowe and your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. We strive to provide our guests with the utmost in comfort and a true Vermont feel and it seems we met that goal with you. It would be our pleasure to have you return and I am so grateful for your kind compliments.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stay at the Green Mountain Inn a few times a year. Once in the warmer season and once for the winter season.

Always a great stay, good breakfasts, clean rooms and great service (what else can you ask for)?

Although we didn't use the pool this stay, it was open for the summer and looked great. They have moved the hot tub from inside one of the buildings to outside - love the new location!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sachia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I am thrilled to hear that you get to experience Stowe in two different seasons! It truly is a place that takes on many changes throughout the year. Thank you for your compliments regarding our renovated pool and Jacuzzi area; it’s one of my favorite places at the Inn! We are all looking forward to your next visit to the Green Mountain Inn and I thank you so much for spending the time to post a review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stopped over in Stowe on our way elsewhere and decided to stay at the Green Mountain Inn. We loved the room, ended up eating dinner and breakfast the next morning at the Inn also. Staff is friendly and attentive. The room was spectacular with everything you could want. Dinner was excellent in the Whip and breakfast was great in the main restaurant. We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We were in a separate building in the back - wonderful - like staying in an elegant house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancylovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Whether it’s a planned trip or a stay by chance, I am so pleased that we had the opportunity to welcome you to the Green Mountain Inn. I love hearing that your experience has inspired you to return and I do hope that it’s soon. Hopefully the weather will cooperate more and let you have the chance to explore our beautiful village of Stowe. Thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here while on a short vacation. We are from Maine but had not been to Stowe before. We came away glad that we chose the Green Mountain Inn for our first experience. First, it is centrally located in downtown Stowe, close to everything it has to offer. We actually saw a play at the nearby playhouse while there. The property itself has a restored original inn, and then a newer section that has suites with fireplaces. We really like the entire experience and think you will too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnilinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Green Mountain Inn as your accommodations during your first visit to Stowe! I’m thrilled that you and your wife were able to have a memorable vacation while here and hope that you will return and stay with us when you are in the area again. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliments and I thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#6 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#5 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing