We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Inn”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I were married at the Inn this month, and it could not have been more perfect! The town of Stowe is absolutely gorgeous and has everything you could want to do to have fun. The Inn is so lovely and historic! We stayed in the Mill House in a romantic, cozy room with a fireplace and jacuzzi. It was spotless and the bed was the most comfortable we've slept in, other than our own. The food is outstanding-from the homemade raspberry turnovers and granola at breakfast to the Maine lobster and filet mignon at dinner. We took home two loaves of the Inn's honey oatmeal bread-it was that good! The staff could not be more accommodating and pleasant. They even helped us track down the elusive Heady Topper beer! We can't wait to come back next June for our anniversary!

Room Tip: The Mill House is separate from the Inn itself, and is quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domino4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Your review has definitely made me want to go and enjoy a meal at The Whip Bar & Grill right now! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much our staff and facilities helped to make your special day so exceptional! Congratulations! I am so proud that the Green Mountain Inn was the setting for your beautiful wedding and I can’t wait to welcome you back again and again as you celebrate your anniversaries. Thank you for sharing your story.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,855 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed one night on business and found the Inn to be much as I expected having seen these reviews. A lovely property on the main street in Stowe with attentive and good natured staff. if I had a criticism my room was quite small and slightly noisy as it faced the street but the bed was comfy and everything clean and in good repair. I will stay again next time I visit this lovely town.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room - those at the front are right on the street.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank tjwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I am so happy that your business trip to the Stowe area was made even better by your stay at the Green Mountain Inn! Getting a great night’s sleep is so important and I’m pleased that you found your accommodations to be comfortable. It would be our pleasure to have you return and I hope it’s soon! Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed one night at Green Mountain Inn in Stowe, Vt. and would have loved to have stayed longer. The beautiful old Inn is excellently decorated and our room was comfortable and clean. We had cookies and lemonade in the afternoon and rocked in the rockers on the front porch. Stowe is a beautiful mountain town and I'm glad we added it as a destination on our recent trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I’m glad you added Stowe into your trip too! It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Green Mountain Inn and I’m so pleased you had a chance to enjoy our homemade cookies and relax on the front porch. We’re looking forward to having you stay with us in the future; hopefully for more than one night! Thank you.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Green Mountain Inn in Stowe, Vt. for the first time earlier this month. Everything was beyond our expectations. Clean comfortable room, nice warm outdoor pool, the best customer service and food were all first class. Loved sitting on the front porch and watching the people walking their dogs. Although the town is small, it's cozy and we were able to walk Main street several times. We ate breakfast at the hotel and diner at another establishment. Everyone was kind and attentive. No pretentiousness anywhere. Hope we can go back up there for a few days next time. It's very relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justdodoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Relaxation is easily attainable around the Green Mountain Inn and I’m so glad that you were able to enjoy yourselves while here. From our spacious and comfortable accommodations to the quiet and cozy front porch, our Inn is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the best of Stowe. I hope you can come back and visit us again too and I thank you for sharing your story with us.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Ask for the bed and breakfast plan and upgrade the room to one of the large suites. the room we had was the liftliner. two bedroom about 1800 sq feet in size. WE stayed for four days the service in the breakfast area and the food quality was excellent. The gentleman at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.The Whip Restaurant inside the the Green Mountain Inn is also a must stop for dinning out at night. We are talking about next year staying for a week we loved it so much. The green Mountain Inn and the town of Stowe is one of a kind, You can not miss this great hotel or this great town.

Room Tip: Call into the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Your wonderful comments have certainly made me smile and I thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. I appreciate the kind comments you’ve shared for our staff and I will be sure to share them with everyone. We’re already looking forward to next year when you can visit us again. Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My wife and myself along with our good friends stayed for 2 nights on June 1 and 2. We have been there several times over the years and they never disappoint. This time was the best. The staff was friendly knowledgeable and always helpful. Room and special rate was great and the Whip restaurant is our favorite in all of Stowe. We were also very lucky as it was sunny and in the low 80's and we spent hours at and in the heated pool. You cant go wrong at The Green Mountain Inn. Dan D

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33959Dan555golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

What a great way to spend your time in Stowe; relaxing around our outdoor, heated pool in the comfortable late spring weather. I’m so happy that you, your wife and your friends enjoyed your time spent at the Green Mountain Inn and I thank you for taking the time to share just what made your stay special. It would be our pleasure to have you return and I hope it’s soon!

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our travel agent booked us into this Inn as part of a tour on New England. Good parking is available down the side of the Inn, which is located on the main street in Stowe. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The room allocated to us was quite small and there was a lack of storage. If we had been staying for more than one night we would have asked to be moved. However, it was very clean and well decorated. The bed was one of the highest we have ever encountered and the hotel should supply steps to help you into it.

Due to the few restaurant options in Stowe we decided to eat at the Inn. I have to say that the meal we had was one the best since our arrival in the US.

We thought Stowe was a little disappointing. Perhaps we had built it up based on others comments and it did not reach our high expectations.

After leaving the Inn we did experience a problem with the management taking money off our pre-authorised credit card, when we had paid our bill in full by cash. After a few phone calls between our credit card company, ourselves and the Inn, they acknowledged their mistake and the money was credited back to our card. Perhaps a thing to watch our for in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

While I’m very happy to read that you enjoyed your meal at the Whip Bar & Grill, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the Stowe area and the Green Mountain Inn more while you were here. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to our staff for any needs, including a step-stool to help with the height of our four-poster beds. Exploring the over 45 restaurants in Stowe can be exciting and our staff would be pleased to help recommend their favorites. I’m happy to hear that everything was worked out with your bill and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in the future. Thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
231 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £111 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing