We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath of Fresh Air”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After several days of staying in perfectly fine but non-descript chain hotels, it was a breath of fresh air to stay in the charming Green Mountain Inn. It’s an historic inn with modern amenities located right in the center of town. The inn seems to have grown organically as there is a main building that connects through halls and up and down staircases to other sections of the sprawling two story hotel property. The main building houses the reception area, Whip Bar & Grill, breakfast room and comfortable classic cozy sitting areas complete with fireplaces, chess and other parlour games . If stairs are a problem, ask for a room in the main building, which has an elevator.

Our queen bedded room (not in the main bldg) was comfortable with puffy inviting beds and artwork by local artists on the walls. While I thought a corner niche with fridge and coffee maker added to the charm, my husband and kids loved the very modern amenity of an extremely large flat screen TV. Bathroom was spotless with thick bath towels and a frameless glass enclosed shower. Although the bedroom and bathroom weren’t large, they were comfortable enough for 4 people. The only things desperately missing from the room were a small table near the armchairs so you could rest a drink or a book, and a desk so you could do some work or write a note. We had a small shared balcony that overlooked the pool area, which has chaise lounges and tables with umbrellas.

The pool itself was wonderfully heated. There is a separate baby pool and also a hot tub. My teenage kids and I loved playing ping pong and the giant “connect four,” which are in the pool area. A game room nearby has pinball and billiards (for a fee). The exercise room is pleasant and well equipped. I didn’t use the sauna but it looked great.

We ate in the Whip bar and grill one night, which was pretty good. Although the buffet breakfast in the hotel seemed popular and got rave reviews online, we opted instead to go next door to a café for basics -- bagels, croissants and waffles. The front desk is helpful, wi-fi is free, there is plenty of parking and the 4pm tea and cookies are a nice touch. Overall, the Green Mountain Inn was a perfect summertime landing spot from which to explore Stowe and the surrounding towns.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

How wonderful that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and fully enjoy the welcoming atmosphere of the Green Mountain Inn. I’m thrilled that you had the opportunity to enjoy some quality family time at our outdoor heated pool and that our convenient location allowed you to make the most out of your stay. I’d be thrilled to welcome all of you back for another wonderful experience and I thank you for your gracious review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,904 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here in April for three nights. It is a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms were very clean if a little on the small size. It is right in the middle of Stowe and within easy walking distance is a great selection of shops, restaurants and activities (including the Stowe recreation path which is across the road). There is also a nice gym, indoor spa pool, outdoor spa pool and outdoor pool (the outdoor pools are only open in the evenings for the winter).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Enjoying our outdoor pool during the winter months is truly a one-of-a-kind experience, but all year long, our pool and spa are a great place to unwind and relax. It sounds like you had an opportunity to enjoy many of the things that make staying at the Green Mountain Inn special, and that makes me happy. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for sharing your experience.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I had a 3 night getaway from our children and chose to stay at Green Mt. Inn. The first room we were in was rather small and faced the Main street, so it was really noisy at 5am with all the traffic. The front desk staff was wonderful and was able to move us to a room towards the bak of the hotel. The new room was a little larger and much quieter. The breakfast was not included, but very good. The pool and hot tub area was beautiful, and quite a relief to sore muscles after hiking all day. Sitting by the fire pit and relaxing with a drink from the Whip Bar was a perfect ending each night to a perfect getaway with my husband.

Room Tip: Rooms 201 and 202 have a shared porch over the front of the hotel. It is nice to sit out there and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Finding time for just the two of you is priceless and I’m so happy that the Green Mountain Inn was part of a special getaway for both of you. It was our pleasure to assist in finding you the perfect room for your stay and you are correct; the setting of our outdoor heated pool and fire pit is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a full day of exploring the village of Stowe. Please come and stay with us again; it would be my pleasure to welcome you back.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

So you have an image of a quaint Vermont inn...this isn't it! Even though the hotel wasn't at capacity, we were given a room overlooking the busy main street. Sidewalk construction on a Sunday didn't end until after six pm, and a constant stream of tractor trailers roared under our window all night. The room was small, and the bed so high my wife had difficulty getting into it. I would have given this place a "terrible" rating but our dinner in the restaurant was very good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DavidSilverSpring_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

It is certainly disappointing to hear that your recent stay with us was not what you had expected. Main Street in Stowe is certainly a busy thruway for the necessary trucks that help to maintain our roads and facilitate construction during the warmer months in Vermont. I do apologize that your stay was interrupted by noise and wish that you had reached out to our front desk staff to let them know of your concerns while here. It would have been their pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room for your stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Very nice old Inn, comfortable canopy bed, small room and nice modern bathroom. You really need to ask to have a room NOT adjacent to the Main Street, very noisy at night with trucks and other traffic stopping under your window. The air conditioner was very noisy so no windows open because of traffic. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend this Inn with the exception of the rooms facing the main drag!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MauriceLBurlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

I can fully understand your frustration with the sound of traffic and hope that during any future stays, you will let our dedicated staff know your preference of room locations. During the summer, our streets are alive with the need to get any road repairs or construction done before the coming winter, and I apologize if you encountered any inconveniences because of it. Thank you for your kind compliments for our staff and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived just after the Fourth of July weekend and had an excellent two day stay. The Inn is very well cared for from a cleanliness and maintenance perspective, ALL of the staff (from front desk to Main Street Dining Room to housekeeping) are excellent. Some of the styling of the rooms is a bit dated, but none of it ugly or worn. Its the fine line between staying "in character" and "up to date." They walk it best they can. The pool area is fantastic, really well done.

No complaints at all.

We would definitely stay here again if heading back to Stowe.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the front side of the hotel - great for light but a little noisy if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

How wonderful to hear that your recent stay at the Green Mountain Inn was comfortable and provided you with a true Vermont experience. I just love our newly upgraded outdoor pool area and I’m so happy that you enjoyed it too! It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our staff and we all look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you for your kind review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent July 4th weekend in the National Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The suite was large, comfortable and had a very well stocked kitchen. We enjoyed relaxing at the pool and were relieved that it was relatively quiet despite the high occupancy. The fitness center is small but contains everything you need for a decent workout. Although we didn't eat at the Whip Bar, we did enjoy some excellent cocktails. All of the staff that we encountered were delightful. Overall, a wonderful stay and an excellent value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greataunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I’m so glad to hear that your holiday weekend was made enjoyable by your stay at the Green Mountain Inn. It seems like you had the opportunity to enjoy many of the aspects that make our Inn a great place to stay and hopefully, during a future visit, you will have a chance to enjoy a delectable meal at The Whip Bar & Grill. I look forward to welcoming you back soon and I thank you for your review.

Patti Clark
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
289 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#11 of 24 in Stowe
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range: £105 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing