We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull early 19th century country Inn set in excellent Stowe, VT”
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifull early 19th century country Inn set in excellent Stowe, VT”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Staff were outstanding. Room was clean & very roomy and comfortable. Spa had best therapists I have ever experienced. Holiday decorations were beautiful. Afternoon teas including cider and cookies were pleasant and relaxing in library or living room by a blazing fire. Stowe and nearby Waterbury Center had a very large variety of free and for fee attractions. There was a plethora of outstanding restuarants. VT scenery including the snow capped mountain ski area was breath taking & I have lived in CO mountains. Plan on a return visit next year hopefully by train to enjoy scenic trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackpcwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    428
    103
    26
    10
See reviews for
370
1,032
46
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

A friend recommended the inn and it got such great reviews on Trip Advisor that I was expecting something excellent. Unfortunately, the Inn fell far short of expectations from the get-go. Before booking, I called to inquire about availability and was told that they had a special rate for the one night that I wanted to stay. When I called to book, the man I talked to was very unfriendly and told me that it was a two-night minimum and that there was no special rate. The person who was supposed to call me back to resolve this never did - I should have just given up at that point, but I called back and after asking to talk to a manager, the clerk finally honored the rate/terms I was given.

When we arrived, the Inn looked lovely from the outside and the main house rooms are very pretty and quaint. The pub was very cosy and had a nice atmosphere. Our room, however, was very ordinary. I don't know what the main Inn rooms are like, but the clerk told me the luxury rooms were "much better" so I booked a luxury king. Visitors should know that the Inn is more like an in-town resort - with lots of added on, newly constructed buildings behind the main Inn. These buildings have very little charm. Our room felt like a standard issue, boring hotel room. Fake plants, dated furniture and old tvs. When we ran the jacuzzi tub, I had to leap out because there was a reddish film around the tub. For almost $400 a night, this was just not what I was looking for. I've stayed in a lot of lovely hotels, and this just didn't measure up. There aren't that many options in Stowe but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoALG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We have stayed at the Inn about 6 times trying different types of accomodations. We have never been diappointed. Staff have a great blend of professionalism and friendliness - hard to find these days! Our December 2009 stay was perfect. The village of Stowe is great and the Inn is convenient to the slopes with or without a car. The Mansfiled House at the Inn is our favorite for upscale rooms but all the Inn's rooms are spotless, comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awaywegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

While traveling on business in Waterbury decided to try something different with local flavor. Just a quick 15 min drive down the mountain to my destination. Great decision! Clean room with very comfy bed. Not too hot or cold and drafty. The breakfast buffet is just right. You don't find better service in a any 'touristy' town. Check out the attached Whip restaurant and bar for a bite and or a cocktail. Again, Great service. LOVED the Green Mountain Coffee and Keurig brewer in the room. Look forward to returning:)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokyMtnDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2009

We have stayed at this hotel for our anniversary several times over the past 10 years and have never been disappointed. The inn and it's up keep and quality have gone up every year. The staff is friendly and professional, the location is out of a post card and we always wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

We have been gueats of the Green Mountain Inn,Stowe, Vermont for about the last 10 years. Each time seems better than the last. This visit my husband and I took our 3 daughters, son-in-law and 2 grandchildren (13 yrs and 10 yrs). The Inn is immaculate, the staff accomodating and pleasant, the food delicious! Our package included a complimentary continental breakfast which was wonderful! Our dinner at the Whip Bar was reasonably priced and enough varied choices for even the vegetarians among us.
The outdoor pool was a delight to our 10 yr. old grandson! The Inn was decked out for Christmas and beautiful! I cannot imagine a more suitable place to enjoy time away!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaStowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveinvermont
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2009

My Husband and I first stayed at the Green Mountain Inn on our Wedding night in July 2007. Since then we try and go back for a romantic getaway every two or three months. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and quiet and have wonderful amenities. We always book a room with a fire and Jacuzzi tub. We make dinner at the Whip part of our evening plans. We always get great service and wonderful food - the Potatoe Dumplings and French Martinis were this trip's favorites. Don't forget to pack a bathing suit so you can enjoy the wonderful outdoor pool. We love taking a swim in the evening when it is snowing out and then enjoying the hot tub!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveinvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.4 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,247 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#7 of 24 in Stowe
162 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing