We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Historic hotel w/ thoroughly modern amenities.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Historic hotel w/ thoroughly modern amenities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Couldn't have been more thrilled! First visit to Stowe and we will be back to the Green Mountain Inn for sure! Upgraded at check-in to a room with a jacuzzi tub and it was well worth it! The location and amenities are awesome. Enjoyed a wonderful meal at their restaurant, The Whip. I highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank udhoopsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    424
    102
    26
    10
See reviews for
364
1,009
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

My third stay at the Green Mountain Inn & this time we had a luxury room - well worth the extra!
The staff are always really nice but not intrusive and do their best to help with any problems. The outdoor pool is a great way to relax after a day skiing and is quite surreal with all the snow on the ground. You can walk through the small village of Stowe without needing to drive anywhere.
The hotel is a mixture of old & new rooms & annexes so if you want a specific type of room you must ask before arriving. The rooms at the front do suffer from traffic noise - not that Stowe is busy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjgr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

We've stayed in Stowe numerous times and this was our first visit to The Green Mountain Inn. The rooms were surprisingly spacious and quiet, the only downfall is they were extremely bright in the morning.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. My boyfriend had a massage and said it was the best one yet.

And, by all means if you stay you have to eat at The Whip, the restaurant connected to the Inn, the food is great and if the weather is nice having lunch out on the patio is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLynnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

This is our third stay at The Green Mountain Inn and as usual, it was delightful.. The staff through out the inn is amazing . . . warm, friendly, always helpful. The inn is perfectly located in the heart of Stowe village, within walking distance to the many wonderful little shops along Main Street. We always end our day with dinner at The Whip & Grill . . . fantastic meals!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaintedOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

This famous inn is a landmark in the center of the village of Stowe, Vermont. If you are looking for the atmosphere of a classic New England inn that provides all the modern conveniences, this is the spot for you. The inn is very nicely decorated in the traditional 19th century New England style, as is the room in which I stayed, which has a very comfortable canopy bed, gas fireplace and large jacuzzi. The bathroom was exceptionally clean. There are inviting common rooms in the main inn building that are a nice spot to sit by the fireplace and read or converse with friends.

The breakfast buffet offers an uncommonly nice selection of pastries and was delicious. I also highly recommend the excellent Whip restaurant, in the lower level of the inn. I highly recommend the Green Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WayfaringStranger64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of Boston, MA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

I am the type of person who likes to stay in a place that is clean and has a personality. Cookie cutter chain hotels are just not what I think about when I like to travel or have a get-a-way weekend. Green Mountain is not cookie cutter by any means. We had a gorgeous two room suite with a jacuzzi tub and a king four poster bed. It was so luxurious. Green Mountain is centrally located you can walk to all the shops. The Whig Restaurant and Bar was equally terrific. We had six people for dinner and the food and the service was wonderful. All I can say is the Green Mountain is awesome. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenrma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Be sure to ask when making reservations for accessible room if needed. We had a suite on the second floor - no elevator. Very nice accomodations. Search for best deals on line. Full breakfast included. They had a $49 massage on-line that was wonderful.
We had read on line about the pastries. They were wonderful. A nice place to spend an anniversary.
Heated pool (84 degrees) and a very nice jaccuzzi!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rustysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.9 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.9 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.2 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Property: Green Mountain Inn
Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing