We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, private - breakfast/snacks just ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, private - breakfast/snacks just ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here just one night. We have stayed in literally hundreds of inns, B&B's in Vt and around the world and as a haven for the evenings - this is in the top 10. The property has no views to speak of - but the rooms are well appointed, common areas are very spacious and comfortable and the staff are all pleasant, knowledgeable and professional. Small, but very well landscaped property to enjoy a cup of hot coffee or glass of wine. However, I was vastly underimpressed with their breakfast and evening snack. One of the things we always look forward to on our VT Inn stops in particular is the breakfast - the offerings were not that interesting and I ended up ordering eggs that came out cooked incorrectly the first time out. We are used to strong coffee, but can handle most brews in a pinch, so take this comment with that in mind - coffee was much too watery for our taste. So our breakfast experience, at these prices - was hard to accept - but it was only 1 day stay. Evening snack they offer was just a dip with some crackers. Tasty - but underwhelming for these prices again - if you want more taste before going out to eat - stop and get yourself some hearty Vt cheese and crackers, some wine and sit and enjoy your room or the beautiful common rooms at Stone Hill. Overall - a nice place to visit and experience - but at this price, probably would go to another spot for better breakfast and evening snacks. Yes - I would recommend - but with those caveats about food and views

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xenonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
534
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Inn is very clean, service is attentive and very friendly, everything stated on the web- site is true. The breakfast is really great so are the afternoon snacks. Just bear in mind that you need a car to go to the restaurants for dinner in the evenings (as the Inn does not do dinners). We did walk to Stowe village the first night, only after dark, it is a little bit difficult and uncomfortable to walk back as cars cannot see you clear and you have to walk next to the main road. Do remember to bring your own (alcoholic) drinks as well, as the B& B does not have a bar, of course you can buy something in Stowe if you like. If you would like to go for a hike, we can recommend the "sterling" trail. It is a nice workout and doesn't take too long (however, it is quite steep an hour up and then an hour down again). On Satuday's, there is a local market in Stowe village, with all kind of products from the region, was interesting to see and lots of locals and visitors, really a town happening (starts at 1pm and ends at 3pm). For dinner reservations you can ask the friendly inkeepers, however, if you really would like to have dinner at a specific restaurant we would recommend to make the reservation before arrival, as they might be fully booked. I think we would love to go back there in the winter ... when we can ski and relax in the luxurious room with all you can wish for afterwards.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchies266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My husband and I are frequent visitors to the Stone Hill Inn, and it consistently delivers exactly what is advertised. We use Stone Hill Inn as our escape to get "away from it all" and have some time for ourselves. This latest visit was just as good as the previous visits. You can't go wrong with any of their rooms as they are all nicely decorated and all have dual sided gas fireplaces and jacuzzi tubs. The innkeepers are super friendly and will go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can be. The center of town is about 2 miles away with plenty of places to eat, or you can order in (as we did). There is also a nice walking path, which has a parking lot not even a mile from the inn (you could walk there, but there's not much room on the side of the road). Breakfast is delicious and the 24 hour coffee/tea/soft drinks is a nice touch. We've visited other select registry inns and they have nothing on this place. Stone Hill Inn is perfect for relaxation and is truly for couples. Sharon, Skip, Darrick and Tony- thanks for another incredible stay. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank narco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed one night in this luxurious inn last week. Unfortunately, our plans did not include staying longer. We were met by Kelly who was very nice and showed us around the inn and pointed out the many amenities I will mention. In the evening, hor dourves are served to their guests. We did not partake in this event as we had dinner plans in town but the aroma was wonderful. We stayed in the Westbranch room which was huge. Our room included a double sided fireplace (fireplace in the bathroom) and king bed with beautiful linens. The closet had a safe, iron and ironing board. We had french doors that opened out to the landscaped grounds of the inn on one side and two separate windows on the other side of the room.. We also had a flat screen tv and dvd player that swivelled so you could watch tv in bed and two armchairs and a table. A lot of thought was put into the design of the inn for comfort for their guests. The bathroom was huge. It had a long double sink countertop, large separate shower, air jet tub for two, fluffy towels, robes and candles.
The inn itself it immense. It has nine rooms which have all the same amenities as our room did. There is a games room with billiard table and board games with a hugh stone fireplace.
The dining area is a beautiful glassed in room with views to hummingbird feeders. While eating breakfast we enjoyed watching several hummers feeding. There is a large room where people can watch tv or movies and a guest laundry and ice room. Outside there are lounge chairs to sit on, a gazebo and hot tub.

We went to breakfast and met Sharon and Skip the present innkeepers. They were very sweet and I loved Sharon's southern accent! They were very friendly, gracious and hospitable. We started our breakfast with a bowl of fruit, coffee and juice. We were offered the special of a vegetable omelette with homefries and toast or eggs any style as well as pancakes! I was surprised by the variety of foods offered as in past experiences at b&b's and inns, there usually is one type of entree offered such as something sweet or savoury but not usually both. It was delicious and very filling. Skip is a great cook!

As we were leaving, Sharon presented us with a bag of maple syrup popcorn, a cookbook of the inn's recipes and a book containing the Select Registry for Inns and B & B's in the U.S.!
We were overwhelmed at the obvious care and consideration that they offer their guests and would not hesitate to recommend this inn to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

For pure luxury and relaxation, Stone Hill Inn is a wonderful place to escape for a few days. Comfortable rooms, gracious staff, yummy breakfasts and all the little things that make it just perfect. Skip, Sharon and Tony went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKN-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I stumbled on the Stone Hill Inn while revamping a trip in progress. Our hotel the night before had been a total dump and we were looking to recover a long weekend away. Sure glad we found the Stone Hill Inn. Beautiful rooms, great grounds and a simple but really wonderful breakfast in the morning. Not cheap, but if you need a stay at a place designed for couples, well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, NJ
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at Stone Hill several weeks ago and all previous posts are accurate. The inn is immaculate, thanks to Tony, who is responsible for the cleanliness of the rooms and common areas. He's also fun to speak with. Sharon, Skip and Kelly are friendly, hard working and dedicated. The inn is located just a few miles from downtown Stowe but the road leading to it is lined with shops, restaurants, minature golf and the recreation path. Further up will bring you to covered bridges and the ski resport. Breakast's are well done and hearty enough to get you started on whatever your plans are for the day. While the grounds are not large, they are large enough, immaculately landscaped and every possible space is utilized with deck chairs, hammock and flowers. The common areas are beautiful and allow couples to gather or stay to themselves. One of the advantages of a B&B is the quiet romantic feel it provides and Stone Hill delivers, including providing every couple a table for two at breakfast, which was much appreciated. IMHO not enough B&B's do that. This inn is a very special place to get away with your significant other. Very well done.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Property: Stone Hill Inn
Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, Three course breakfast with entres individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing