We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place for a relaxing, sociable and friendly, yet private, visit”
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a relaxing, sociable and friendly, yet private, visit”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Stone Hill Inn before and really liked it but this year far excelled our previous visit. George and Linda have instituted a social hour from 5 onwards with great food. They themselves joined us each day and it was the most sociable and friendly part of the day. All the visitors got to know each other if they joined in and there were some really interesting discussions and also much laughter . The inn reflects Linda's wonderful touch with many àrtefacts from France, Italy etc. but the best thing was the sheer warmth that George and Linda exuded towards their guests. The rooms are always seriously luxurious and comfortable with huge bathrooms and fires that go through from the bedroom to the bathroom but the best part now is the service provided by the innkeepers. Linda is a great cook so breakfast is a gourmet experience. I cannot recommend the inn highly enough and I wish that all inns had such an amazing ambiance. Thank you George and Linda, we will remember you with great affection and hope to be back ( although it is a long trip from the UK).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmshenley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
549
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

From the moment we drove up the tree lined hill to this tucked away "slice of heaven" we were blown away. The grounds are breathtaking, the inn is so charming, and the rooms are beyond wonderful. The bathroom was enormous and it had a fireplace and jacuzzi tub.Linda and George are the best hosts, they are so attentive to every detail, from the amazing breakfast Linda cooks each morning to the early evening gathering around the fireplace with appetizers for guest to enjoy and socialize together. We meet some of the nicest people from around the world here. We can see why people come back time and time again to Stone Hill. We are already planning our next trip to Stone Hill Inn.

Room Tip: All rooms are 5 star but there are 2 corner rooms that are quite larger with panoramic views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stone Hill Inn delivered everything it said it would, a wonderfully luxurious Inn with an outstanding welcome from the hosts Linda and George. Our room was spectacular, as was the the view of the garden. The finishing touches, including the warmth of the hosts, make this a truly unique experience, one that I would highly recommend and repeat in an instant! Breakfasts were a joy as were the evening drinks events. If you are looking for something special in Stowe, then you will find it here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hello George and Linda!
Thank you again for making our stay at your gorgeous and charming inn so delightful with your warm hospitality. We were so lucky to get your biggest room, "Notch", with that enormous bathroom and double fireplace and the magnificent view of your gorgeous garden, and brook. I still daydream about Linda's delicious gourmet breakfasts and your wine and cheese every evening in your beautifully decorated living room chatting with your interesting guests. We loved our 2 hikes, especially when we first saw that magnificent waterfall.

I don't know how you manage to stay so fresh and friendly with every new visitor, but you two are the perfect couple for this tough job. We wish you much success which it appears you already have with this venture!

Room Tip: Notch! PS Living room has great selection of over 400 DVD's and there's a beautiful game r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cipi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stone Hill Inn is indeed a wonderful place. Linda and George are very gracious and accommodating hosts. The property is very quiet and very well maintained. Breakfast was always more than one could ask for. What a find for our first stay at a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Just got back from this fabulous Inn. George and Linda are the complete hosts and will help with restaurant reservations or anything else you may need such as directions to area attractions and in our case getting theatre tickets. The room was very quiet-we stayed in the West Branch-and was very clean along with a very comfortable bed. The fireplace placed between the bathroom and bedroom is a nice touch.

Breakfasts are more than you can eat and there is a choice of two mains along with fruit and muffins or a loaf

They have beautiful grounds and if in the area will be back again.

Finally a shout-out to Tony who does everything and is very personable.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbeancrazy243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

George and Linda, the innkeepers, had just one night to wow us. And they did! The 9 acre property is immaculate. The bath with jacuzzi and fireplace just perfect. The bed very comfortable. Breakfast was outstanding. Best of all George and Linda make you feel really welcomed to their home. We got to enjoy autumn colors at their peak. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limitedfixed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
203 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#6 of 24 in Stowe
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,822 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 22 in Stowe
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Property: Stone Hill Inn
Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Bed & Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, three course breakfast with entrees individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing