We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A perfect Inn! The relaxed atmosphere welcomes you immediately. The warm welcome of the owners makes it even more overwhelming. A high quality accommodation in great surroundings. The pleasant balance between customer attention, with a BYOB appetizer welcome when you arrive, and having your own holiday time as a guest is lovely. Hospitality is even surpassed when you go to breakfast and will be introduced to a great service and home cooked delicates. The owners humor and love for life makes this picture complete. You really miss something if you do not take the opportunity to stay in this perfect place when you are in Vermont.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
534
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary with a long weekend in Stowe last month and we chose to stay at the Stone Hill Inn based on all the very positive reviews. We were very happy with our choice and the Inn and the innkeepers Linda and Bill met/exceeded our expectations in every way. They both went out of their way to make us feel welcome and help us choose and reserve places to eat and visit in Stowe. Our room, as with the entire Inn, was beautiful and very clean and with very updated, yet charming, decor. The king bed was very comfortable and the bathroom with jacuzzi tub was very impressive. The daily breakfasts were delicious in the gorgeous sun room! Overall, a wonderful time getting to know the innkeepers and the other guests..and if you are very lucky, you may just get to meet Linda & Bill's adorable shih tzus. For me, they were a favorite part of our stay! Definitely will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the very end of the hallway with a private balcony - highly recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljp2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a very nice, quiet and pretty B&B for an adult’s only retreat. We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and VT is home to the nicest people! Our room was well-appointed and comfortable--comfy bed and nice linens and towels. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice touch. Staff very attentive and the homemade breakfast were over the top delicious! Only one thing we could think of for change would be to put a mini fridge in every room instead of just two. Other than that-wonderful and will recommend to all.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but we liked ours as it had a water fall (man-made and not running yet) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom04084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We spent the weekend in early May and were so impressed. Linda and George made us feel special from the moment we arrived. The facilities are great and the breakfast fantastic! We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this perfect Inn nestled in the mountains of Stowe Vermont. The room was very well decorated and very peaceful overlooking the mountains, the room was equipped with a extremely comfortable king size bed, jacuzzi and a two sided fireplace. The whole Inn is very well decorated and stunning. The excellent breakfast was served in a bright dining room with glass windows all around to enjoy the great view. In the afternoon very tasty snacks are put out for us to enjoy. The Innkeepers Georges and Linda put you at ease the minute you arrive and are a pleasure to be around. I cannot forget the pleasant and knowledgeable staff member Tony which helped with breakfast. This is Inn is a must stay when in the area of Stowe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montrealbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our stay at Stone Hill Inn was one of the most relaxing 3 days my wife and I have had in some time. The inn is tucked away in the woods, far off the main road in a tranquil setting. George greeted us at the door like an old friend even though it was our first visit. Fabulous breakfast every morning in a no-hurry, beautiful glassed in dining hall. Linda is a great cook, George a gracious host. Quiet atmosphere and incredibly comfortable rooms. We're making plans for the fall!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We just came back from a weekend stay in Stowe where we stayed at the Stone Hill. I barely have anything bad to say about this place...

So here is what I loved:
The breakfasts were amazing and the coffee was perfect
The pillow closet that lets you chose your own pillow is a genius idea - more places should have that!!
The location was near everything yet very quiet giving you that secluded feeling
The hosts were very gracious
The tub! That alone merits the 5 star rating for this place... To be experienced!

Things that I felt needed improvement....
....
I thought that when the heating came on, it was a little loud and woke me up a couple of times the first night. The second night, I didn't hear it anymore and slept great!

In hindsight, I would've picked the room I really liked instead of the cheapest room: they are all different and I think that loving the look of your room is part of the appeal of this place. Although I didn't mind the look of our room (Notch), I should've spent the extra money and gotten the one that really spoke to me.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and get the room that speaks to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Property: Stone Hill Inn
Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, Three course breakfast with entres individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing