We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stone Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2007

To begin, it was like the owners opened their home to us. They were very personable and friendly. The breakfasts were excellent, the atmosphere was so warm and comfortable. The room was exceptional with it's own theme. My wife was very pleased with the added package I chose for her.......rose petals on the bed and floor, a single rose in a vase on the night stand, and a large heart made totally out of chocolate filled with truffles. She loved it. The kitchen area had almost anything you could think of available to us. The appetizers provided each night were also delicous. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Liked — The quietness of your surroundings.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TNDougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    637
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
536
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

My new husband and I decided to come to Stowe to elope and we stayed at the Stone Hill Inn. We also had the ceremony there in the solarium. Amy and Hap truly went above and beyond our expectations (which were already high, considering all of the reviews on this website). Everything came off beautifully and all of their recommendations for restaurants and activities were right on the money! We truly could not have envisioned a more beautiful and relaxing wedding weekend. The rooms were luxurious and I felt like I spent the entire time enjoying the Inn's plumbing! I was either in our room's enormous jacuzzi tub or in the actual jacuzzi outside. The breakfasts were perfect. We were only there for 3 nights, but I came away feeling so revitalized and refreshed. I can't imagine our money being more well spent! We're already plannning our trip back for our anniversary.

  • Liked — They are too numerous to count
  • Disliked — There are no negatives to this Inn!
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not skip breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank citygrl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2006

Hap and Amy at the Stone Hill Inn provided a charming and luxurious B & B experience that was perfect for a Christmas getaway from the stress of the holidays! Even though there was no snow (the first time in 20+ years!!!) the village and the people of Stowe were friendly and welcoming. Hap's delicious breakfasts each morning started the day off right and the Inn itself was very comfortable and relaxing, especially the jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces in each room! Another trip to the Inn is a definite!

  • Liked — warmth and comfort of the rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Eviektch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

What a wonderful weekend. The Stone Hill Inn is convenient for any activity you might want in Stowe, but so quiet and secluded that it is the perfect spot for a long romantic weekend. Hap and Amy have thought of everything...candlelight, spectacular views from every window....a tub for two with a fireplace that adds just the right touch.

The candlelight breakfasts alone are worth the trip!

We are already planning our next visit.

  • Liked — it is very romantic and cozy
  • Disliked — there was nothing that we didn't like
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbeachiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2006

From the reviews we had read on Stone Hill we had really high expectations and we were not dissappointed. From the moment we first arrived until we left both Hap and Amy made us feel very welcome. Our Room (Catamont) was just lovely, a great size with lovely views over the garden. The bathroom was enormous complete with fireplace, double jacuzzi, twin hand basins and a great walk in shower.
The whole Inn was immaculate, but still managed to have that cozy, homely feel to it. There was a guest kitchen area that included fridge, microwave etc and lots of goodies to help yourself to at any time of the day or night. There is also a laundrette area, quite useful if you happen to be on a long holiday like ourselves. Hap and Amy have really thought of everything and the time, effort and love that they put into this Inn is only to easy to see. It was our 35th wedding anniversary and a nice touch was the red rose, card and photo album that was in our room on our arrival. These little things are what make Stone Hill so special. The Inn is located just a short distance from the main area of stowe, but far enough away to feel tranquil. We would consider making the long trip from England again just to stay at Stone Hill. We have no hesitation whatseover in recommending this Inn to you, please dont be put off by the cost of this Inn, yes it is expensive, but is sooooo worth it for the experience of a stay here.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The cost, but it was worth it.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to stay for at least three nights
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wendytarplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

We spent our first wedding Anniversary at Stone Hill Inn. We felt this was a perfect blend of a 5 star hotel and a homey B&B. The room was large and cozy- each equipped with a gas fireplace and a large jacuzzi tub. We enjoyed in room tandem massages. The breakfast food was absolutely delicious as is the evening appetizer that the owners themselves create. They have a pool table, games and a ton of movies to choose from. The grounds are perfect for the fall foliage season. I would stay here everytime I'm in Vermont! Thank you for a memorable anniversary!

  • Liked — Surrounding, food and accomodations
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — call in advance for massages and in room goodies like choc covered strawberries
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jes12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2006

We had our wedding at Stone Hill Inn. It was beautiful. We arrived to the assistant manager who was extremely helpful and curteous. We had to change our cerimony plans at the last minute due to weather and they were very accomidating.
We did not want some fluff place to eat more like a steak and seafood place which was recommended by the assitant manger and turned out to be wonderful.


The good: A luxury B&B at it's best. Everything from the comforter on the bed to the jacuzzi to the tv/dvd setup is first class. Friendly helpful staff, quiet stay.

The bad: Price. For our room almost 500 bucks a night (Includes a 10% TAX WOW!!!)
From your sitting area in your bedroom you can see into the bathroom. You can not see someone sitting on the toilet (Thank god) but if you need complete privacy from your SO in the bathroom it's not there.

My opinion:
The atmosphere is a small B&B family type atmosphere very friendly. The provide a community pantry with refrig, microwave, complimentary popcorn, snacks, soda, and water. The common area is quite cozy with daily papers, history of the inn, other vermont books as well as a pool table and board games. The rooms are very comfortable. The bed and pillows are super comfortable. We did not go to breakfast any day so I can not comment on that.

A true romantic getaway, however if you are looking for a place to kick back with friends, look at some other place.

If you are an evening person be prepared to stay in your room late nights. You can come and go at any hour as long as your activities are quiet.

Also if you like steak and seafood we recomment The Partridge Inn. Wonderful food, great atmosphere and service.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Richnep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
4.1 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.8 mi away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brass Lantern Inn
Brass Lantern Inn
#2 of 23 in Stowe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#7 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill Inn

Property: Stone Hill Inn
Address: 89 Houston Farm Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic and secluded Stowe Bed & Breakfast Inn whose mission is "providing unexpected opportunities to celebrate life...together," was designed exclusively for couples. Each room has the same amenities: baths with fireside Jacuzzis for two and shower; bedrooms with king beds and fireplace. Spectacular gardens, three course breakfast with entrees individually-prepared at private tables, in-room massages for two, and a decor of hushed elegance throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Stone Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hill Hotel Stowe
Stone Hill Inn Stowe, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing