We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute price was fair for the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Last minute price was fair for the room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at The Stowe Inn on a last minute trip through the area for one night. We called early in the evening when we would arrive and were able to get a fairly inexpensive "last minute" booking rate. The outside and lobby areas of the inn are VERY quaint and welcoming, however our room seemed a bit outdated and in need of a makeover (we were in a Carriage House room). For the discounted price we paid, we had no complaints, but had we paid full price, I would have been disappointed. With that all being said, it was spacious and clean (most importantly!), just the bathroom and furnishings were old.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Dear Courtney S,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Stowe Inn! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcoming feeling of our property. We would love to have you back. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    100
    62
    65
    65
See reviews for
96
178
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, ME
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

It's not that this place is terrible, it just has a sense that nobody's really paying attention. We had a very nice large room with a great empty space to put a table to place our suitcase on, but no place to lay out our suitcase other than a tiny fold-out thing that could in no way hold our suitcase. I took the sink drain apart and cleaned out all the hair and gunk because the sink wouldn't drain. There is no elevator (not one that I could find anyway and no one to help with our bags - and we had one big bag and wished we had two small ones.) No one asked how our stay was and I didn't see any comment cards, so there's a sense that there's no one running the ship. For this price, I expected more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review Beth C, your comments have been passed to the Hotel Management, and we did some staffing change since your stay.

We hope to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed in the Carriage Motel rooms. It looks like the new management is taking note of some of the negative comments on this board.

Early check in at 2:30 pm went without a hitch. Only hiccup was that the first room key that we were given didn't work. The room was decent. The only negative would be the blinds which were very flimsy.

Stowe is generally expensive and I think the Stowe Inn is a little pricey. Average value for my money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My partner and I aren't able to get away very often, but we finally were able to a few weeks ago. We chose to book with Living Social because the deals sounded great. We booked thinking we would be staying in the main inn from the pictures online and agreed to stay in the carriage house knowing that it was more "motel like" from what we were told when booking the room- it wasnt as "high class" as the main Inn. There were a few things we were concerned about, but after we went to the front desk with these issues, we realized that the saying about Vermonters was true... they really do make every stay like a home away from home. Annemarie at the front desk listened to all of our concerns. She was so understanding and genuine that we felt so comfortable. We couldn't have felt more at home when staying away from home! We would definitely stay at the Stowe Inn knowing we would have our home-away-from-home experience. Even the rest of the staff was great. Our housekeeper, Peetagay did a fantastic job. Maintaining the carriage house must be a difficult task - her efforts should not be overlooked. Also, Vermont comfort food at it's best! Everyone at the Stowe Inn was very welcoming. We would certainly visit again!!

Room Tip: The Main Inn Allows the full vacation experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdog155033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We've stayed at the Stowe Inn a few times now when we've headed up to Stowe. It's not as fancy as some of the other inns in the area, but that's reflected in the price, and it's a stone's throw away from the center, so it's nice to be able to walk to dinner, or around the center. We've always found the staff to be helpful, our room clean, and we've gotten some good deals for return visitors. I'd definitely suggest it to anyone traveling to the Stowe area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwpeters8182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cripple Creek, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Stowe Inn in September 2011. It was comfy. The customer service was excellent. We stayed 2 nights with the Living Social package. The prime rib was extremely tasty. I will say there is some remodling going on but it didnt interfere with our stay. Would visit again.

Terri Snare
Colorado

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Would not stay at the Stowe Inn again. The shower sprayed out of the shower and up to the ceiling as well as on you. It resulted in a wet floor as the the water hit the curtain bar and was impossible to avoid. Problem must have been happening for awhile because the shower had been repaired above the shower head. All it would take is a wrench or a new shower head. The toilet seat was in need of replacement. The curtain and globes over bathroom sink were dusty. Beds were comfy. We reported the showerhead at checkout but there were no apologies or hopes that the rest of our stay was pleasant. The Cabot coupons were not available, no explanation there either. I even had asked about the coupons at check in, but was told everything was in the envelope. The envelope had a letter explaning the lack of coupon, but why wasn't the info shared upon arrival? Odd.

Room Tip: We were on second floor which I wasn't aware off. I'm not sure if there even was an elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Property: The Stowe Inn
Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing