We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Vermont Inn”
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is exactly what we think about when we think about a Vermont Inn. The only thing missing at the front desk is Bob Newhart. Thankfully, the housekeeping staff is excellent, no Stephanie here.
Our room did not come with a refrigerator,don't know if any do.This was not a problem for us.
The restaurant is staffed by excellent, knowledgable and friendly people. Our waitress was Yvette, a pleasant well informed young woman who gave us much of the history on the bar.
The chef, Joshua Anthony, prepared an eye pleasing taste sensation for our meal. It was the first night he had changed to the fall menu. The Fall Salad was a palate pleaser and a perfect introduction to the the main course, Roasted Chicken Breast served colorfully with well chosen vegetables.
Besides the historical building, the center piece of the River House Tavern is the antique, lovingly restored, stand up bar from an old Irish pub near Grant's Tomb in NYC. Thank you Yvette for this slice of history.Grant's portrait is respectfully illuminated in the bar area.
Loved the musician that played Saturday night, really good music!
Our room was spacious, even with a king bed. Plenty of drawer space. WiFi available.
If you will be here on a Saturday before Nov 30, ask about The Murder Mystery Dinner. It was filled by the time we arrived, but it looked like fun, and we would have had the perfect nite for it. "It was a dark and stormy night..."
The location of the Inn is a huge plus!!!! We walked across the Covered Pedestrian Bridge to Downtown and enjoyed the local shops. A local play was being performed Saturday night. Local artwork is scattered about the downtown. There is much to discover. See the Ski Museum.
A short drive away are the Cabot Cheese Annex, Ben & Jerry's (do the tour) and the Apple Core, home of the best apple cider ever! The glass blowing is very interesting. And of course, in season, skiing.
There is an outdoor pool at the Inn, in season, also.
Very enjoyable weekend. We would come again. The one thing that could have made it better was some coffee in the complimentary coffee carafe in the lobby. it was always empty. A morning cup of coffee on that beautiful porch would have been Heaven.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main house of the Inn for that real New England Inn experience. A great couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hobbittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neylaEscondido, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Hobbitravel,

Thank you very much for the lovely review of our property the Stowe Inn and for for recognizing our staff who work hard to exceed guest expectations.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Stowe, VT.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have to admit, we were very disappointed with our experience at The Stow Inn. We made the mistake of staying in the "Carriage House", which is separate from the main hotel...don't make the same mistake. Maybe the rooms in the main Inn are nicer? This place has a lot of potential, but the rooms are very run down. As soon as I walked in my room, I thought it was a mistake. It was so musty, clearly there were pets in the room, and I'm not even convinced the room was cleaned. It was like stepping back into a hotel room from the mid-80's. The mattress on the bed was so uncomfortable...I had back pain the while time. The walls were all dirty, the tv was from the 80's, the tub had stains, I don't even want to imagine what was in the carpet...My bare feet did not touch any floor space once. The overall area of Stowe is lovely, and the physical property is nice. Thre's a difference between "Vermont Charm" and "dump"...I found the Stowe Inn to be the latter. If the owners invested in the space and actually renovated the rooms, this would be a great place...but as on now, it's not. The shower did have good water pressure, so they have that going for them.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neylaEscondido, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. I am deeply troubled to hear about your experience at our hotel.

We did address this issue with our Housekeeping department. I have reviewed your reservation log, you have stayed in a pet friendly room, we constantly deep clean the carpet every time a guest stays in a pet friendly room.

We thank you again for staying with us Jeff.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

It's September 11th, 2012 and here we sit at 9a.m. waiting for our expanded continental breakfast. No one is here and guests are wondering around patiently waiting for their breakfast. What a joke. No staff whatsoever. The handyman has called the manaer who lives in Burlington a 40 min. drive away. No wonder they have you pay up front.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neylaEscondido, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear Rjlm,

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel.

Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

What a disappointment. The room I had reserved was given to somebody else because the these people had a room that they could not breathe in (allergic reaction : pets are allowed in this hotel) so they switch them rooms. By the time I checked in they gave me the room the people had been in. When I got in the room, it was a mess, it had not been cleaned up. Very dirty. Yes I understand that these rooms have not been renovated but at least clean them???? What can I say about the continental breakfast, disaster. No staff, no glasses, dishes, bread (one toaster, 2 slots for everybody???) You have the option to order for a price other breakfast items, that fine but no staff to take care of you. The cleaning lady was the one that had to take our order??? Poor girl, she did what she could thank god for her. The floor in the restaurant very disgusting. It is a shame for a hotel in this historical place can't be better than that. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone not even my worse enemy. The beds sooo uncomfortable, we ran out of hot water, the shower had not been cleaned in a while, no clean towels for the next day, remote control for the TV not working, we ran out of toilet paper (half a roll was in the bathroom when we got there, no extra one). My sister had also rented a room and it was worse than mine... Never will we back there. The only nice thing I have to say is that the staff were very nice at least there's that. So sorry for this bad review but travellers must be made aware of these circumstances.....

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieDucharme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neylaEscondido, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Sylvieducharme,

Thank you for your feedback, my name is Neyla, Director of Sales & Marketing. I would like to investigate further your stay so I can learn more about the service that our hotel has provided so that we can look to improve our process for the future. Please feel free to contact me at assistant@globalhmg.com to discuss further.

If you have any further questions or concerns, I would be happy to help however I can.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A cozy mix of old and new at an affordable price. Wonderful restaurant and bar on premises with a top chef. As a retired chef myself I was absolutely thrilled with the food. Chef Joshua has trained with the acknowledged best chef in America and it shows in his creativity and execution.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We liked the overall great value and the central location in Stowe. Rustic decor with spacious, comfortable sitting areas and a warm ambience.
The staff was courteous and helpful. The service and quality of food at diner was exceptional. We will definitely
return. Special thanks to chef Joshua and Norm our attentive waiter.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building if you can. We felt It enhanced the overall experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Great location but extremely dirty. The steps leading to the second floor were terrible. The rooms were not clean, the carpets were dirty and the continental breakfast was a disappointment. The breakfast consisted of wonder bread, mini muffins and apples. I'm sorry for this terrible review but for the $200 a night price, put some TLC into this Historical Place.

Room Tip: A/C unit extremely loud. Bathrooms were horrific. Dusty/Dirty/Dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neylaEscondido, Guest Relations Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Nicole M,

Thank You for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay with us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management Staff to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future. Staffing changes have been made. As for the Free Continental Breakfast, please note that we do offer a variety of Breakfast items and our bread and muffins are baked in our own kitchen.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.1 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
281 reviews
3.6 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#11 of 24 in Stowe
423 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: £68 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing