We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stowe Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Eagle Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
116
106
67
74
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
106
67
74
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver house restaurantthe main housecovered bridgenew englandliving roommain streetmountain roadshort driveski triptavernpianofireplaceskiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We paid over $200. for a night in what we thought from the pictures would be a quaint New England Inn. The public spaces were attractive and comfortable, but our room, in the main Inn, was a disappointment, to say the least. The fixtures in the bathroom were corroded, floor tiles broken, baseboard missing, and tub chipped. The carpet was a worn, garish teal green which clashed with the olive green of the bedspread. There were 2 hangers in the closet. Our room was nowhere near as nice as those pictured on the website. This is the type of room I would expect to pay $60 - $70 for.

Room Tip: I can't say - we were supposedly in the nicest section of the Inn. If so, I would hate to see what the rooms in the "value" section are like.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hello.
Thank you for your recent feedback.

We wish you had brought your concern to us while you were staying at our hotel.

Many guests like our green carpet in this particular room with a balcony but if this was not your style, we would have gladly moved you to a different room had we known.

We did not see a corroded faucet in the room as the faucet was new, but did notice a small chip outside the tub which was missed by our staff and will be corrected. We did not notice any chipped tile but you must have meant the small chip on the tub near the tile floor which we will fix.

This room does not have a baseboard as it is part of the historic mansion and was kept in similar style previously of the 1800's but we will look into this possibility for the future as a potential change.

We are constantly having to replace missing hangers from our guests rooms as some guests borrow them to transport their dresses and suits to their car. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will keep a closer eye on this.

Many rooms have balconies, spa tubs, king sixed poster beds etc...all rooms in our main inn are different and unique as we are a historic inn built in the 1800's.

With the different room options, we are confident we have a room that will be perfect for you.

We hope you will give us another chance

Sincerely:
Stowe Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

There was hair in the bathtub, the carpet hadn't been vacuumed in a while, and there was a tile missing in the bathroom. I'm sure the rooms in the main building are fine because the restaurant and living room looked great, but the carriage house room was terrible. The paint was sloppy, the carpet wasn't finished, the tv remote didn't work, and the bed was very short.
That said, the location was perfect. Short walk from town and very quiet.
All things considered I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Room 14 was terrible. Don't stay in the carriage house.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hello.
We were unaware of this problem during your stay during this busy fall time period in Stowe.
We wish you had brought this to our attention as we would have moved you to a different room immediately and would have wanted to look into your concerns right away.

Thank you for your feedback about the motel style rooms, in the Carriage House building you stayed in. These rooms are not as updated as our antique style main inn rooms, but we are in the process of changing over most of the rooms with new carpets, new linen etc..

The beds are smaller (full size) in this building and will sleep 2-4 persons comfortably.
I do suggest the main inn which has the antique style furniture and is much more modern and charming as you indicated.

Please let us know on your next visit to Stowe, so we can upgrade you to our main inn for no additional charge during your stay.
Stowe Inn
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently spent the weekend here. We had a room in the carriage house. It was adequate if all you need is a place to sleep, but it was not a comfortable room. Even with all the lights on, the room was "very dark. We paid $189 a night to stay here but everything seems to be done on the cheap. The faucets do not turn in the standard direction, there are no hooks to hang anything on,
the toilet paper was so thin you could see through it. The toilet seat must have been replaced at one time, as it was smaller than the bowl. The cleaners did not clean the toilet bowl while we were there. The bathtub, bathroom door, and closet doors are discolored, or dirty and need cleaning or painting. The lower tiles in the shower need replacing and are dirty/moldy. I am only 5'8" and had to stoop to see in the mirror as it was hung too low. I found someone's dirty sock under the bed, no telling how long it was there. On the positive side, check in was quick, and the front desk staff were very friendly, but we would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed one night at this property and had a gorgeous, cozy room. Our room was in the main building - the original Inn. It overlooked the river and the little covered bridge. The girl at the front desk, Emily, was sweet, charming, and very knowledgeable about the area. We also met the adorable neighborhood cat, Snowball, as he was roaming the property and greeting the guests. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Stay in the original inn.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GorgeHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Hello.
Thank you for your recent review.
We appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and hotel.

The river behind our hotel is surely beautiful along with our unique, historic hotel.
We are glad you had a wonderful stay in our cozy main inn rooms and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stowe Inn
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We visit Vermont every fall & are usually very happy with our accommodations. I wouldn't recommend this place & we will not return to it. We were put in one of the dingy motel rooms (behind the main inn) which was really old & poorly maintained. The staff was not very helpful & it was pretty obvious that they didn't care whether we were there or not.

We were very disappointed & were glad we only booked four nights there! It was conveniently located (within walking distance) to downtown Stowe. But, that's the only thing that was acceptable about it!

Room Tip: Pick another Inn!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear guest. We are sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel.
We wish you had brought your concerns to our attention.
Our staff typically gets rave reviews about their frendliness and are always very helpful.
We are disappointed that this was not your experience.

The motel room you stayed in is our economy room and perhaps our main inn rooms would have been a better fit for you and your family. The Carriage House rooms (economy rooms) do have new carpets in almost every room now and most have new vanities and tiled floors. Please ask for our newly rennovated room on your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews