We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stowe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Stowe Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Stowe B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I (late 20s/early 30s) stayed at The Stowe Inn for two nights this past weekend. We had a wonderful stay! Alan was so hospitable and offered great suggestions for the area, food and drinks. He made sure we were happy and comfortable (he let us sit down for dinner on the late side after waking up from an accidental too-long nap and he let us check out a little late the next morning– what can I say? When we go away, we’re lazy!). Emily at the front desk was so friendly and warm and even tracked us down to give us a map of the area. Melissa, our waitress at dinner, was funny and very friendly -- and dinner was delicious! Add to it a hot breakfast and homemade pastries while overlooking the river and you've got it made. Downtown Stowe was a very short easy walk away (about the distance of a city block) – and you can walk under a covered pedestrian bridge while you’re on your way. A fantastic location. We would go back to the Inn in a heartbeat. The Inn is decorated and furnished in a way to make you feel warm and comfortable. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom amenities are adorably packaged. We wish we were able to stay longer to enjoy the beautiful sitting room with fireplaces. The Inn is about 10 minutes away from the mountain, 10 minutes from the Von Trapp estate (which has unbelievable views!) and 15 minutes away from the Ben & Jerry’s factory. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear guest.
We are happy to hear from you and glad you had such a great time at our inn.

We hope you will be able to visit us again soon on your next trip to Stowe.

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your comments and will continue to work hard for you and all our guest traveling to see us. See you soon.
Lori/Stowe Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    99
    62
    65
    64
See reviews for
95
178
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We booked through a different site and expected an 8 person suite, so our family of 5 brought along a friend. Our suite was 2 bedrooms, one with 2 single beds, the other a queen and a pull out full-size sofa bed. With the mix of 3 teen boys and 1 teen girl along which us, we needed one more single bed (17 year old boys don't want to sleep in a full bed together!). The staff was very pleasant about trying to find us a rollaway but without success, they instead gave us another room with a queen bed, at no extra cost. Mom and Dad were pleased, the kids were happy. Wi-fi was not the best but the kids could survive for a night without it. We enjoyed a late dinner in their restaurant, very relaxed atmosphere. Kids found a large chess board to play on. Murder mystery dinners were also going on and we found this to be interesting as the participants gathered in the lounge. Continental breakfast with plenty of coffee was good. Toaster for their homemade bagels did not work at first due to "old" electrical system but was corrected. This was a quaint, imperfect but warm and friendly inn. The friendly staff made it feel like you were staying with friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at The Stowe Inn. Traveled up to Vermont for some late-season skiing and visiting with friends in the area. From the Inn. we walked to "downtown" Stowe, restaurants, and the Stowe Recreation path... it is a great location. We enjoyed visiting with our local friends in the cozy living room, with fireplace, in the main inn. Breakfast with homemade bread, coffee cake, muffins, and bagels.... and for dessert after dinner I ordered chocolate mousse. Perfect. After asking about the homemade goodies, we discovered the Inn has their own pastry chef. In all we found the Inn staff very welcoming and accommodating, and the inn itself was a great place for our weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Dog-friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We recently stayed here for a few nights. When we arrived, we were greeted by the most friendly warm welcome-set the right tone-Virginia and Alan were so helpful. We stayed in the Main Inn building in a very cute CLEAN room. The bathroom had fluffy towels and really nice soaps, shampoos etc. We could walk to a lot. Loved it here and would certainly return! The muffins at breakfast were unbelievable! Great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband decided to surprise me with a weekend at Stowe. After 3 hours of driving after work, we arrived. He booked a room with a single queen bed. When we got to our room, we had 2 queen beds. The room was dingy, carpets stained and dirty. Bottle caps under the bed. Disgusting place to stay .My husband had booked through Expedia. Our first time booking through Expedia. We were not comfortable and went to the front desk to cancel our 2nd night. They were not at all receptive and told us to deal with Expedia. When we called Expedia, they do not accept any responsibilty for any unsatisfactory bookings. By now it was 9 p.m. and we had not had any dinner. Front desk could not care less. Horrible experience with the inn and Expedia. I would rate this inn less than 0
We only stayed to not lose our money. But we will never deal with Expedia again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stowe hotels

love2leavetown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed Tues-Thurs nights during March Break. I thought the room rate was decent for the 3 of us. I have 2 teens so was happy that there was a pullout couch in the room so we each had our own bed. Disappointing that we couldn't get sheets that night for the pullout as the office closed a couple of minutes before 9. There was an emergency number to call...but I didn't bother in the end.

The main inn is charming. Our room was in a separate building and was your average motel type room. After the snowfall I couldn't get my car up the lane to my room but oh well.

The bathroom was very dated, with old tiles in the bathtub that were kind of gross. The heater made a strange sound at times (more than just gurgling but kind of a harsh buzzing sound), including in the middle of the night which woke me up.

Breakfast was ok: homemade muffins and bagels... the cook was super friendly and eager to please.

Front desk staff were quite helpful with recommendations for restaurants and other questions we had.

I would stay somewhere else next time since there are so many places to try in Stowe. But the Stowe inn is fine for the price.

Room Tip: bathroom isn't nice in room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2leavetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero Dantas, BA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were promised to be checked into our room by 3 pm Friday eavning. By 4:30 they tried to put us in a sub standard room. We did not accept it. Finally got to our room at 5:15 ready to shower for dinner and found human fecsies in toilet ,pubic hairs still on bathroom floor and toothpaste spit on mirror. Demanded manerget to take care of mess. Gave us the excuse that they were short staffed. Next morning went down to dining room for advertised continentle breakfast and found no muffins or fruit promised but had to pay for hot breakfast. Went sight seeing for the day and upon our return heard ladies in room next door complaining to front desk about condition. Opened our door to find beds unmade and dirty laundry still in room. We have stayed at much nicer Motel 6 rooms at less than half the price. Manager never apologized at all. Seriously save your money and don't stay at this dump !!!!!!!! Chris Woznica , Cicero N.Y.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cwoznica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.3 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
2.8 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mountain Road Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stowe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Property: The Stowe Inn
Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing