We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Black Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Bear Lodge
Westmore, Vermont
2 reviews
“Nice location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I believe that I may have been the first person to stay in this newly remodeled room. Room itself was very nice. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom fan was really quite loud and there was a light coating of dust in the bathtub as well as the door handle. Wish the pool had been closer to the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermontmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    48
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
49
59
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here a few times when it was the Inn at Stratton and had the opportunity to stay here again now that it is Black Bear Lodge. The lodge is clean and the staff is friendly. The breakfast is better than in the past but food options are limited. The hotel is a short stroll or shuttle from the village area / mountain base which makes this property extremely convenient. Once we parked the car we didn't need it again until we were leaving. This is a great location to ski and stay which we plan on visiting again!

Room Tip: Choose an upper room....it is quieter than lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJScan72912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, NY
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this lodge for one night on May 31 for a Tough Mudder the following morning. Upon arrival, we found the place incredibly clean and fresh. The bathroom was spotless and nice toiletries were included. The room itself was a basic, what you would expect room. We did find the beds incredibly hard though. All the linens were crisp and clean. We planned to eat at the on-site restaurant but we had a 13 year old with us and she couldn't find anything so we went down the mountain and finally located a bad pizza place. This time of year there isn't much going on so a lot of things close down. We returned to the lodge to go to relax before bed and found that another group of Tough Mudders had arrived in the next door and ended up being very loud until about 11 pm. That's not the lodge's fault, but the walls could be more insulated. Overall, our stay was pleasant enough and if we do Tough Mudder there again next year, I would probably stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lilismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We checked into the black bear lodge Friday night. When we got in our room I realized there were 2 beds when we requested 1. Although it may not seem like a big deal it is when the room is barely big enough for one bed. When you add that second bed in there you can barely move. The bottom draw in the dress was filled with mold. My view which wasn't so bad if you ignore the worn out corner of the building was much better than our friends rooms who got to see car bumpers and pavement. That night we went up to Bentley's the hotels restaurant. We were a large group of 14 people as we were all meeting at the hotel to attend tough mudder. When we gave the waitress Alysse the head count you could tell she was already annoyed by her facial expressions and tone of voice. I received the wrong dish when I eventually got it and instead of an apology she put the blame on the cooks and rolled her eyes and took it back. She had horrible customer service skills and was plain rude. The next morning after a sleepless night because of all the noise coming from above we went to the same restaurant to enjoy our free Continental breakfast which offered toast rock hard muffins and yogurt the same waitress made a rude comment about us all coming back. This review could keep going on and on. Out of all of us that stayed not one of us had a good experience. Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acrevatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stratton Mountain hotels

Essex, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms were OK & clean. We were looking for a quiet night and requested the top floor (per good tips from other TripAdvisor reviews), facing away from the parking lot & away from the stairs.

The breakfast was terrible, whether you had the included breakfast or purchased off of the menu. If you really need breakfast, do not count on this for a meal.

Room Tip: If you would like a quieter room request a top floor, facing the mountain (not the parking lot) &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here thru a travelzoo voucher and ended up adding an extra night.

They had our lift tickets and rental info all ready upon check in.

The hotel is in a perfect spot as you can walk to the village in a few minutes. The best part is they have a continuous shuttle to the village, i dont think we ever waited more than 5 minutes for it.

The hotel offers free breakfast, which is a big plus, its just basic stuff but hot items, cereal and pastries.

The rooms were large and nice. I am not sure what hotel the other reviewers stayed at but I thought this was a really nice place in comparison.

You cant really beat the location, price (on some days), and the size of the rooms. I didnt encounter any musty smells like previously reported.
We had a room towards the back of the property so never encountered noise, we were on the 3rd floor.
They have avending machine by the stairs. one thing, i dont know if they have an elevator as i never saw one and we parked right by the door and our room was there so we just used the stairs.

They also have a very nice looking hot tub, i forgot by suit so didnt use it but it looked clean and like it would have been awesome lol

I cant wait to come back ad stay here for another few days of riding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My son and I stayed here on a ski trip. We had been to the same hotel five years ago (then named the Inn at Stratton Mountain) and rooms were very dated. They just completed room renovations in December, 2013. Big improvement. Comfortable beds, flat screen, nice bathrooms. I was told the common areas will be renovated next. Big draw for this property is a 250 yd walk, or 2 min shuttle ride, to lifts. Good customer service- when conditions got bad the last day they gave us vouchers for lift tickets we did not use

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton Mountain
9.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
8.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
620 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Vantage Point Condominiums
#4 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
7 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Lodge

Property: Black Bear Lodge
Address: 30 Middle Ridge Rd, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155-9746 (Formerly Inn at Stratton Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stratton Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Stratton Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Stratton Mountain Hotel Stratton Mountain
Stratton Mountain Hotel And Village
Village Stratton Mountain
Stratton Mountain Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing