We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stratton Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
NORTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel was in a big complex with other hotels and our coach driver had a little trouble finding the correct one. Our room was on the ground floor and was reached by a long corridor with a well worn grimy carpet. The room was scruffy but beds were clean and comfortable. The curtains did not pull together. Would not like to stay more than one night. Area quite remote but views were great. Air conditioning suddenly came on at 4.30 a.m. which startled us awake but just for a few minutes. Had we known we could have switched it off.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LILANDBRIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    54
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
89
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenmoore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Sorry I didn't heed warnings! Sorry this beautiful setting has rooms that are not so beautiful! This room was worth about $50! The bed linen was clean, the door lock worked, and there was temperature control, but...the bathroom was grimy, dirty. The temperatures in the room were erratic, We were continually adjusting it to be not so hot or cold. Lighting consisted of dim bedside lighting or the broken, leaning floor lamp which amplified an empty space where an obviously missing chair and table may have sat. Carpeting in public areas had not been vacuumed in ages. The free breakfast was nice but the overall hotel reeks slow degeneration. We visit the Manchester Vt. area often but will seek other hotels and read more carefully!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babspeak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed at Stratton Mountain for a seminar for 2 days. Unfortunately, it is a ski resort so there is very little to do there in September. There was a beautiful spa that was not open. I tried to book a massage in the sports center but did not succeed. There are very nice shops most of which were not open because it was too early in the season. I managed to get a swim in the indoor pool - which could have been a little cleaner. Our room was very nice, clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. Probably a good place to go hiking, nice views but since I do not ski, I probably will not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed in Long Trail for a family reunion July, 2012. The place was perfect for a large (50+) family get together. Our 2 bedroom condo was roomy and comfortable (didn't really use the kitchen). We all got together for pizza followed by sitting around the campfire on the first night. Then next day we split up and enjoyed: fitness center, golf course, lunch at Mulligans, gondola ride to the mountain top, yoga, and ATV riding. We had a wonderful family dinner at the lodge where the attention by the staff was excellent. Our family members range from 1 to 81 years old and there was something for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I was in Vermont and looking for a decent but not expensive room for one night near Manchester, Vt. This popped up on a few search engines and I figured what did i have to lose. I was there in the summer so not for skiing or winter. First, this is near but about 20 minutes away from Manchester, so I wish I had gone with other options. As others have said, this hotel is in bad need of an upgrade. The carpet in the hall was pretty worn and my room with two queen beds was pretty basic, but with a flat screen tv. Anyway, I can't say anything bad about the place, but then again, I can't give it a glowing recommendation. The main floor had a huge room with a small bar in the corner, so there was a lot of space. The breakfast was pretty minimal but fine for me and comes with the room. The staff was indeed friendly and answered a few questions before we arrived. Beautiful spot on top of the mountains and right near the Stratton Village, although we didn't go. Again, for one night, just fine. If you need a hotel and are planning on spending time in Manchester, pick another hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room that doesnt over look the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captaindavebklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We really like Stratton, the trails are well laid out (95-100 trails), lots of lifts, and the grooming is like deer valley (seriously, the grooming is amazing). The trails are not as wide as the west, but plenty wide enough, the green slopes range from a large beginner area, to a three mile long green from the top of the mountain all the way down to the gondola. (the gondola is a real treat when it is snowing, or on a cold VT day, or with the little ones....). The Blue trails are well spread all over the mountain, The black are basically at the summit, and as others have said they are not as difficult as western mountains. However if you go to the Kidderbrook ravine, or the other big tree glades you can get some very tough and fun skiing.
The food at Verde, Partridge, Mulligans and a few other restaurants is top notch. Verde is ss good as you will find anywhere. The cafeteria is, well, a cafeteria.... The village is very nice, big fire pits, nice restaurants and stores, the base lode (perhaps the lodge is getting a bit old). Stratton also has a hospital right on the mountain, with Doctors on staff. We had an accident once, not serious, and it was so nice to be skiing with the family again in an hour verse wondering if we should take our son to a hospital to get checked. We always stay in the condos on the mountain and really are glad we do - walking to and from skiing is just so nice!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Check-in was easy...unit was clean and nice...fitness center offered a terrific massage! Husband enjoyed the golf school and restaurants on site were very good! Over-all a positive experience. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton Mountain
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
8.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Vantage Point Condominiums
#4 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
10.0 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton Mountain Resort

Property: Stratton Mountain Resort
Address: 5 Village Lodge Rd, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stratton Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratton Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in southern Vermont less than three hours from Boston and four from New York City, Stratton means a big mountain resort experience that's close to home. Stratton offers skiing and snowboarding, a variety of lodging options, slopeside Village for shopping and dining, full Sports Center, 27 hole golf course, world class Stratton Golf University. Choose from a selection of lodging options: Inn at Stratton Mountain has 122 guest rooms; Stratton Condominiums range from studio apartments to four bedroom units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stratton Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stratton Mountain Hotel Stratton Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing