We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stratton Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

First and last visit. The "village" is actually a single very short street with no activities. The two restaurants and couple of stores enjoy their lack of competitors with very high prices. There is only one convenience store (monopoly again) and no liquor store. The slopes are long but have too much traffic: snow mobiles, people walking dogs, people on snowshoes are all often on the slopes. After 3:30 or 4pm when the slopes close, there is nothing to do. Internet and Wi-Fi are either inexistent in some properties or very slow where available. 23% resort taxes on top of already unreasonably high prices for rental properties. Too closely monitored everywhere, including many patrols stationed on slopes: we felt in kindergarten all over. We are having week-long winter and spring family vacations every year and have never been so disappointed from a resort. Staff is mostly friendly but too intrusive: loud knock on the door at 8am for room service (when you are on vacation), myriad of people on parking lots, along the path to the slopes, on the slopes, everywhere. There is a fine line between being available and tripping...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theBfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    53
    28
    15
    8
See reviews for
89
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited Stratton Mt for the first (and perhaps last) time. We stayed in Long Trail - very nice and new -- especially compared with most Ski resorts. The underground parking was great.
However, the place was just not very comfortable -- no place to sit and be comfortable - also the place was swarming with very noisy kids - running up and down the hallways all day and into the night. (Of course this is not the resorts fault but Oiy what a horrid crowd seems to go there...
Stratton Mountain is convenient since everything is located in close proximity - we really appreciated not having to drive! However, restaurants are pretty bad - even for a ski resort.
The mountain was way too crowded to be enjoyable and again swarming with kids - many unattended. To have the mountain that crowded was just plain dangerous.
Finally, the folks who work at Stratton seem to be very really inexperienced -- the person who gave us the skis had no idea either how to fit skis or adjust them. The wait staff was incredibly inexperienced. The folks at the SPA were also pretty bad. It is ok to have folks from all over the world working at a ski resort (very nice actually) but at least train them….

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We literally got robbed in more ways then one. My wife and kids came out for a Thursday and Friday night stay,,, skiing Friday and Saturday. The four of as stayed at The Long Trail.
Two nights and two day lift pass $1900.00. One bedroom condo was a joke. Old furniture, dirty walls, floors, tube TVs, bathroom the worst. Shower head trickled out hot water like a leaky faucet. For this kind of money this place should be way nicer.

Drove to the slopes in the morning, dropped skis,wife and kids off at the convenient SKI DROP OFF AREA .. Drove out to park car and was told by parking attendant that parking here was for permit holders only. When asked where to park he told me at the Sun Bowl ( lodge on the other side of the mountain,, 10 min drive..). What about my wife, kids, and ski gear that I dropped here??? He said you can valet for $35. What a joke.

This tops it off. Finally got on the slopes after struggling thru crowds of people and the longest lift lines ever. Bags tucked away on shelves with thousands of others. After lunch, which consisted of walking around with a tray of food for nearly half an hour waiting for a seat to open only to end up eating on the condiment table we decided to leave. When we came to recover our bags they were gone. We searched for about half hour before seeking help from a Stratton Representative. She was very nice and assured us that someone probably mistook our bags and they will turn up. Two hours later I finally asked if it was possible they were stolen. Now, two Stratton Representatives who were very nice trying to help us locate our bags told us that they have worked here for ten years and have never had a THEFT. They gave us their card and took our number down and told us they will probably turn up tomorrow. When we went to go buy new shoes for our family cause ours were STOLEN. The girl at the shoe store told us that this happened to a family two days ago .. When I told her my story she assured me that stuff gets stolen all the time at Stratton. Not Stratton's fault for my stuff getting stolen but don't lie about the problem.

Dinner for family of 4. Sorry not tonight or tomorrow night. Sandwiches in our crappy room. This place cannot accommodate the number of people that visit.

Skiing the next day even worse. Packed lodges, no where to sit,30 minute lift lines,slopes crowded. Two day ski trip at Stratton set me back about 4GS. Took about 10 runs total. That's $400 a run.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 60JoeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Beautifully decorated rooms and suites. Full amenities in the Stratton Village. Walk to everything. Great food and lots of beers at the Grizzly. Best waffle fries w beer cheese bacon and green onions w sour cream! Great views from the bar stools. Friendly staff. Very helpful!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Have been skiing here for many years and have seen the vast improvements to the mountain. Although the mountain lacks challenging terrain, go to the trees for challenge, snow quality and grooming are always great. High speed lifts all over the place means you can make your way around the mountain with ease and usually a small wait. The Stratton Village is great, although small, has every thing you can ask for. Ski shops, bars and restaurants. Main Lodge is a little dated but still satifiactory and mid mountian base lodge gets super crowded at lunch. Only thing I can say negative is they seem to cater to the weathy and it shows all over the mountain. Overall always a great ski trip. Great place to ski in Southern Vermont.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Madskiervt109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I stayed here one night on an eight day New England tour. We were staying in Hilton hotels for the first half of the trip and then stayed at the Stratton Mountain Resort. What a nice change of pace. It is so pretty up there and the corner unit I had was so quaint. I had a kitchen/living room area with a nice fireplace and large screen TV, a bedroom with two beds and another large screen TV, The decor was rustic and the rooms were all very clean. There was also a back balcony overlooking a large park-like area. The breakfast the following morning was very nice and served in the large dining room area. I definitely would love to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Most of us on the trip bought the fixings for dinner at a nearby store and had dinner in our units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We spent the night at Stratton Mountain Ski Resort. Where we stayed was not a hotel. It was a condo. We had a very comfortable one bedroom, kitchenette, table and chairs, and comfortable sofa and love seat in sitting area. The sitting area had a fireplace with gas logs. Very cozy. Heating was delivered through baseboard units. Our tour company provided a shuttle to take us to breakfast at Mulligan's where we had a decent meal. All things considered, we would stay there again. I imagine that it is a wonderful place during ski season.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank txtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratton Mountain
0.0 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 3 in Stratton Mountain
160 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
8.7 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Long Trail House
Long Trail House
#1 of 4 in Stratton Mountain
35 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grand Summit Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stratton Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton Mountain Resort

Property: Stratton Mountain Resort
Address: 5 Village Lodge Rd, Stratton Mountain, VT 05155-9600
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stratton Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stratton Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in southern Vermont less than three hours from Boston and four from New York City, Stratton means a big mountain resort experience that's close to home. Stratton offers skiing and snowboarding, a variety of lodging options, slopeside Village for shopping and dining, full Sports Center, 27 hole golf course, world class Stratton Golf University. Choose from a selection of lodging options: Inn at Stratton Mountain has 122 guest rooms; Stratton Condominiums range from studio apartments to four bedroom units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stratton Mountain Hotel Stratton Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing