We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Applebutter Inn Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Braeside Lodging(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shire Woodstock(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge(Quechee)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
506 On The River Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 White River Junction(White River Junction)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White River Inn and Suites(White River Junction)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
208
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple butterking davidb bnew englandperfect hostssconescovered bridgewoodstock arearoyal galaeach afternoonmy husband and ibaked goodslook forwardking arthur flourhome away from homefew minutes drivegas fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Attention to detail is amazing if there was anything missing that would have made the weekend more relaxing or enjoyable I have no idea what it would have been. Location, location, location the Inn is very easy to find yet off of the main route so it is quiet. There is an excellent well stocked country store a 2 minute walk from the Inn. Across the way is a spectacular view of a covered bridge. The rooms have A/C which came in handy during an unusually warm/hot September. There is plenty of open areas for the guests to relax in either inside or out so you are not confined to your room or sitting on steps somewhere. The breakfast was amazing! Several well timed made to order courses that were unique and delicious. A positive/negative was no cell service in the area but there is a guest phone in the common area to overcome that challenge. Overall a great place to escape to and leave the worries of the world back at home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rowdrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Thanks to Tripadvisor we found this B & B for our visit to the southern part of Vermont and the Green Mountains. And what a wonderful accomodation this is. We were greeted by Michael, who runs the Apple Butter Inn together with his wife Barbara. Upon entering the house we were immediately given the grand tour, which made us instantly feel at home.
We stayed in one of the biggest rooms of the house, having a private bathroom with a (small) bath. Some rooms have their own private bathroom, others share one.
Every morning Barbara and Michael provide the most luxurious and delicious breakfast you could ever imagine, starting with fresh fruit, and followed by a warm entree. The breakfast changes every day, so you will not have the same breakfast twice (unless you stay for four months ofcourse!).

I have been to B & B's in both the USA and Scotland and I have never experienced such loving, kind and interested owners, who also happen to make the most fantastic breakfast.

The Inn is located just outside the village of Woodstock (8 min. drive). From there you can go to many different and interesting places such as the Quechee Gorge, the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller State Park, the Vermont Institute for Natural Sciences (birds of prey!) and much more.

The prices of the Apple Butter Inn might seem a bit above average, but it is way more than value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JazzMatazz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Winning the jackpot without the money, that's the best way to describe staying at the Applebutter Inn. From the moment we walked through the door, til our very last minute was an absolute delight. The rooms are gorgeous, the house delightful and let's not forget the breakfasts and tea treats. These people put their heart and soul into their B&B and it shows in every way and you can even taste it in the food. This is the way B&B's should be! Warm, personal, like staying with good friends.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

This B&B just outside of Woodstock, VT is a real treat for any traveler. My husband & I decided to take our honeymoon in New England, never having been to the area. We carefully searched Trip Advisor, Frommers, and other sites to reserve the very best rooms. We were so pleased that The Applebutter lived up to all of our expectations!

We staying in the King David room, overlooking the side gardens. The room is just as pictured on their website, with a fireplace, easy chair, queen bed, attached bathroom, and a wonderful screened in patio. We left the door open the first night to catch the wonderful breeze only to be freezing cold in the morning!

Barbara & Michael, the innkeepers, were very welcoming and even left us a special treat in honor of our marriage. They were very warm and went out of their way to help us make dinner arrangements. We enjoyed speaking to them and learning about their lives prior to the Applebutter.

Breakfast was amazing! My husband, who rarely eats more than a breakfast bar in the morning, was eager to try all of the special dishes. Barbara hand picked the berries and explained all of the special Vermont touches within each dish. They even prepared special foods due to a dietary restriction and we overheard other guests compliment them on their vegetarian dishes, as well.

We look forward to spending even more time in this beautiful, historic home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LDCIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2007

My husband and I spent our anniversary at the Applebutter Inn and had an amazingly relaxing and peaceful weekend. From the decor of the rooms and house to the super yummy breakfasts to the kind and welcoming innkeepers, Michael and Barbara, we had a fantastic weekend!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank essandzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews