We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Applebutter Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Braeside Lodging(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shire Woodstock(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge(Quechee)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
506 On The River Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 White River Junction(White River Junction)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White River Inn and Suites(White River Junction)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
208
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple butterking davidb bnew englandperfect hostssconescovered bridgewoodstock arearoyal galaeach afternoonmy husband and ibaked goodslook forwardking arthur flourhome away from homefew minutes drivegas fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We toured New England for 2 weeks in October 2007 and booked the Applebutter Inn for one night after reading the Tripadvisors reviews. Our stay at the Applebutter Inn turned out to be the highlight of our trip! The house itself is stunning, a historical, typical New England farmhouse. The hosts were genuinely kind, and really seemed to enjoy welcoming guests in their home. Our room (King David) was extremely comfortable and beautiful decorated. The complimentary bottle of champage waiting for us in the room after I had mentioned in my booking that it was our wedding anniversary was a delightful unexpected touch! The 2 courses gourmet breakfast was quite simply the most amazing we have had anytime, anywhere, and we are well seasoned travellers. I would highly recommend the Applebutter to anyone travelling to the Woodstock area, you cannot fail to be impressed!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mightymunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Sadly, due to two family emergencies ( the unexpected death of my brother and an emergency surgery of my mother-in-law) we were unable to make our long awaited trip to New England. Unfortunately we can't comment on the accommodations although I have no doubt they are excellent. We called to cancel and explain our circumstances just a week away from our stay. Barbara was so kind and gracious. She refunded our money without explaining that we were within some sort of cancellation period or that she would have to fill the room prior to any refund. She simply extended her sympathies and mailed us a refund check. It is a very sad and stressful time for our family and her attitude was definitely comforting. I had carefully researched where we wanted to stay and I know that the Applebutter Inn was the right choice. We are hoping we can make the trip same time next year and the Applebutter Inn will be the first reservation we make.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank loveineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

The Applebutter Inn is an amazing, bucolic respite from our hectic, southern California lives. Barbara and Michael are wonderful hosts, warm and friendly, offering excellent tips on how to spend our days based on our personal preferences. The Inn is clean, comfortable and beautiful and our room was great, with amazing linens and a very comfortable bed. I love to cook and bake, but I have never made anything to rival the exquisite food served by Barbara and Michael: delicate, fluffy scones, amazing apple cake and baked apples, beautiful egg strata, and delicious puffed pancake, just to mention a few of the delights. We spent 3 nights and it was worth the long trip from L.A. We will be back, and next time plan to spend a longer period. If you are a runner, or walker, you will absolutely love the River Road run. I run at the beach every day, yet, I have never had a more beautiful run. If you need rest, rejuvenation, and relaxation, go to the Applebutter Inn and see for yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HBTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Attention to detail is amazing if there was anything missing that would have made the weekend more relaxing or enjoyable I have no idea what it would have been. Location, location, location the Inn is very easy to find yet off of the main route so it is quiet. There is an excellent well stocked country store a 2 minute walk from the Inn. Across the way is a spectacular view of a covered bridge. The rooms have A/C which came in handy during an unusually warm/hot September. There is plenty of open areas for the guests to relax in either inside or out so you are not confined to your room or sitting on steps somewhere. The breakfast was amazing! Several well timed made to order courses that were unique and delicious. A positive/negative was no cell service in the area but there is a guest phone in the common area to overcome that challenge. Overall a great place to escape to and leave the worries of the world back at home.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rowdrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Thanks to Tripadvisor we found this B & B for our visit to the southern part of Vermont and the Green Mountains. And what a wonderful accomodation this is. We were greeted by Michael, who runs the Apple Butter Inn together with his wife Barbara. Upon entering the house we were immediately given the grand tour, which made us instantly feel at home.
We stayed in one of the biggest rooms of the house, having a private bathroom with a (small) bath. Some rooms have their own private bathroom, others share one.
Every morning Barbara and Michael provide the most luxurious and delicious breakfast you could ever imagine, starting with fresh fruit, and followed by a warm entree. The breakfast changes every day, so you will not have the same breakfast twice (unless you stay for four months ofcourse!).

I have been to B & B's in both the USA and Scotland and I have never experienced such loving, kind and interested owners, who also happen to make the most fantastic breakfast.

The Inn is located just outside the village of Woodstock (8 min. drive). From there you can go to many different and interesting places such as the Quechee Gorge, the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller State Park, the Vermont Institute for Natural Sciences (birds of prey!) and much more.

The prices of the Apple Butter Inn might seem a bit above average, but it is way more than value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JazzMatazz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews