We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, Old-Fashion, Lake-side Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basin Harbor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basin Harbor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, Old-Fashion, Lake-side Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We recently stayed at this delightful old resort with another couple. Our rooms were in the original lodge reminding us of mountain resorts from our youth (in the 50s) - plain decor - smallish rooms - window air conditioners - a bit dated.

We enjoyed dinner in the main dining room. Although we were told that men must wear jackets (ties optional), a significant number of men were without jackets. Not a big deal, since I feel one can never be overdressed. The meal was fine with old-fashioned service. Breakfast buffet was extensive.

Our rooms gave out onto the bay with views across the lake to the New York side. Our big disappointment was the fall foliage boat tour was cancelled due to windy conditions.

The bulk of the rooms are in smallish, lake-front cabins (dog friendly). Next time, I think I"d prefer a cabin.

Staff was helpful, especially in booking the room. BTW, we got a better price direct than with hotels.com.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ReubenJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your enthusiastic response to BHC! Remember that you will always get the best price for a room by booking directly with us rather than from a third-party site.

We're sorry it was too windy for the cruise. The cottages are a good deal larger than rooms in the Lodge so why not try a two-bedroom, two-bath cottage next time you and your friends want to visit?

Thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    114
    38
    29
    13
See reviews for
128
146
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Travel Department tour of New England in the Fall. Initially it was a bit of a shock to the system - my friend and I were put in a 2 bedroomed cottage - Sunrise. But we quickly got used to our cabin in the woods and loved the whole Basin Harbour Club experience. We ate both nights in the Red Mill Tavern and enjoyed the food. Breakfast was amazing - the best of our entire holidays - lots of lovely choices and a killer view to boot. Some small critiscisms that I would have - very few directions to the cottages, no paths to speak of, so it can be quite slippy underfoot. Also the gift shop closes around midday and there is nowhere else to buy water etc on the property. The hot apple cider and cookies in the main lodge during the afternoon is a lovely touch though.

Room Tip: If you're travelling on your own, make sure you get a room in the main lodge. I was so glad I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K1Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We're thrilled to know that these guests enjoyed their recent stay, and thank them for their enthusiastic critique. Thank you!

We're unlike most places that motor coach tours visit so guests expecting to stay in one large building together may be surprised by our cottages. But as these guests pointed out, they truly liked the property. We're so grateful for their comments.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Basin Harbor Club is located on Lake Champlain in Vergennes, VT.

We've been there many times to attend the Fraser Management Contrary Opinion Forum which is held in early October every year.

The food was okay, but, not as good as in past years. I saw one reviewer who complained the units were not clean. That is not our experience. The rooms do not have TV and radio reception is poor in that area. Wi-Fi leaves a lot to be desired. It's slow and sometimes intermittent.

There is very little beach.

The golf course looks great. There is a grass landing strip next to the first hole and those with a few bucks fly in for a quick round, a bite to eat at the Red Mill and fly off.

The property needs some outside maintenance.

Overall, it's fine for the purpose of the meeting I attend there. Otherwise, there are better choices elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirstycamel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
It's hard to get the true flavor of a property when one's visit is largely spent in a meeting room. We're grateful that this guest choose to stay with us and sorry he didn't care for the food. Other attendees at this same event told us it had never been better. The event manager selects all the meals for the group and tastes vary as we all know.

This year marked the 40th year the group has met here!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wake up people! What are you all talking about? This is an OLD hotel. We paid almost $600 for one night and for what?! Old, dirty cabin! My wife is a great dirt detector. If there's a real smelly, dusty and dirty interior - she can hardly breath in it - and here she felt this after a few minutes inside our room/cabin. We had a roach in. We had hair. The cabin stinks and is in such an old condition. I am not sure what people like about this place. I understand the lake front but no one should be allowed to operate an hotel in such a bad condition. The water faucet in the bathroom was making a very loud noise, and no, we didn't report it - who cares when you come for one night and all you want to do is just get the hell out of there in the morning!!! There was no TV in the room. The almost $600 through hotels.com didn't even include breakfast.
We have local family in Burlington and they said the same... so I urge people not to stay at this lousy hotel and, no, it is not personal and it is not emotional. It is just a very bad hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eefrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Basin Harbor isn't for everyone and we're sorry these guests didn't choose to let us know of their dissatisfaction until after they departed. We hope they enjoyed the balance of their visit to Vermont.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

I called on a Saturday Columbus Day Weekend for a Saturday night reservation during fall foliage! Not the brightest move. However, I was pleasantly surprised to be able to get a 2 BDRM cottage for my family and I. It is really off the "main road"...more like a cottage/camping type community but beautiful right on the banks of Lake Champlain at the south basin. We got there at twilight and by the time we got the key for our cottage it was darker and made for finding the cottage a challenge. You can be in the right vicinity but the cottages are just not as well lit as they should be so being my first time we tried three properties before we got to our property. The 2 BDRM was very nice...no TV's so make sure the kids know ahead of time (I thought mine were going to have the shakes), but we had a quiet evening. The condition of the property was nice, not overly immaculate and it seemed like all of the lights needed to be plugged in as they weren't which made it even darker in the room. There is a very small kitchenette area but no microwave. Overall, we were grateful to have the room/cottage and the staff had a Halloween theme going and EVERYONE including front desk staff were in full costume (MADE IT FUN).

Room Tip: If you plan on using the fireplace make sure the staff has provided enough wood for the evening as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We're glad this family had fun at Harborween, Basin Harbor's annual Halloween celebration.

Night lighting is on the list for improvement so these guests will see a nice difference for their next visit.

Thank you for joining us over Columbus Day weekend.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beaach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Don't come expecting sleek and contemporary decor. Basin Harbor is a historic property in a gorgeous location on Lake Champlain. The property is extensive, with cottages of various sizes along the lake and dotted around the acreage.
My husband and I have been coming to a fall financial conference here for almost 40 years. We prefer to stay in the Lodge, because it is centrally located. Many of the cottages are a long walk from the dining room, which can be inconvenient and unpleasant in bad weather.
The first floor of the Lodge includes the dining room, a meeting room, sitting areas, a bar, a gift shop, and a TV room. There are no guest rooms on the first floor. They are on the second and third floor, and the stairs up are narrow and rather steep, so not suitable for mobility challenged guests.
Basin Harbor has been very accommodating about giving us the same room each year, Lodge 128. My husband likes it because the bathroom is large enough to double as an office.
The room is nicely furnished with twin beds, a bureau, a desk & chair, and a wicker chair in the window alcove. I like the floral wallpaper. Amenities include an ironing board & iron, a coffee maker, a hair dryer, wi fi, plenty of fluffy white towels, extra pillows and blankets, a window air conditioner, baseboard heating, and a ceiling fan. I assume most rooms are similar.
One thing is a little disconcerting. There is no venting fan in the bathroom, so a hot shower can set off the smoke detector. Open the window!
There is no TV in the rooms, although there are TVs in the bar, the conference room, and the TV room in the Lodge.
There are two computers in the TV room for the use of guests, and if you print anything, it shows up on the printer at the concierge's desk.
As conference guests, we had a special menu. The food is tasty and the soups and desserts are especially good.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinxie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Many of Basin Harbor's guests have been coming for years as this couple's review indicates. We're thrilled that they enjoy our simple, comfortable resort and all it has to offer.

Thank you for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Gardner,NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in the lodge and upon enterering the room the first thing I noticed was multiple dark stains all over the beige carpeting. Disgusting. The windows were dirty and very difficult to open with an outdate airconditioner in one of the windows blocking the "harbor" view. I spoke to a person staying in one of the cabins and she said it smelled of mold. The location is beautiful but the accomodations are average at best. Also the golf course was very disappointing. The back nine was in terrible shape and just a very bland layout. We cancelled our second round and went to Kwiniaska golf course which was AWESOME. Overall ,the weather and location made our weekend great but the accomodations were very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apb329, Owner at Basin Harbor, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We're sorry for the condition in which these guests found their room. We regret the carpet stains, which we have been unable to get out (what do people do to cause this sort of stain???), so the offending carpet is slated to be replaced for the 2014 season.

The golf course is recovering, albeit slowly, from extreme rains and heat earlier in the season. The countryside is rolling here so the course is relatively flat. We're glad the couple enjoyed the Kwiniaska course nearby.

Our thanks to these guests for staying with us, and for choosing Vermont for a fall getaway.

Sincerely,

Pennie Beach
Fourth Generation Host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vergennes
20.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
20.2 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burli...
#4 of 13 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
21.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
20.8 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basin Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basin Harbor

Property: Basin Harbor
Address: 4800 Basin Harbor Rd, Vergennes, VT 05491-8521 (Formerly Basin Harbor Resort & Boat Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Vergennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vergennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basin Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basin Harbor is a 700 acre resort on the shores of Lake Champlain. Owned and operated by 4th generation innkeepers, we have over 130 years of exceptional guest service. Open for three seasons, Basin Harbor offers a peaceful retreat for anyone who enjoys the outdoors, unparalleled service and a dedication to excellent food, integrating Addison County's over 200 farmers and producers. Basin Harbor's diverse offerings accommodate family vacations, destination weddings, golf outings and corporate retreats. Our recreational menu include an 18 hole golf course with practice facilities, tennis courts, badminton, croquet, water skiing, boat rentals, kayaks, sailboats, power boat rentals and over 40 slips for overnight docking. Our renowned Kids Camp offers comprehensive programming for ages 3-17. Visit Vermont's finest lakeside resort and boat club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Basin Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basin Harbor Club Hotel Vergennes
Basin Harbor Hotel
Basin Harbor Resort
Basin Harbor Vermont/Vergennes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing